Case Law Analysis

Employees' Compensation Act | Insurer Liable for Cleaner/Driver Death Despite Lack of Formal Contract if Premium Paid : Delhi HC

Delhi High Court rules that an insurer remains liable under the Employees' Compensation Act if an additional premium was paid for cleaner/driver coverage, even without a formal employment contract. The court held that the employer’s admission of the deceased’s role and premium payment triggered the insurer’s indemnity obligation, ensuring compensation for workplace fatalities.

Cassie News NetworkCassie News Network
May 19, 2026, 12:23 PM(Updated: Nov 3, 2026)
•6 min read
Be the first to share in your circle
Employees' Compensation Act | Insurer Liable for Cleaner/Driver Death Despite Lack of Formal Contract if Premium Paid : Delhi HC

The Delhi High Court has clarified that an insurance company cannot evade liability under the Employees’ Compensation Act, 1923 merely because the claimant lacks a formal employment contract, provided the policy explicitly covers legal liability for employees such as cleaners or drivers through an additional premium. This ruling reinforces the welfare-oriented intent of the Act and places a clear obligation on insurers when coverage is paid for.

Background & Facts

The Dispute

The appellant, Smt. Nagma and others, filed a claim under the Employees’ Compensation Act, 1923 for compensation arising from the death of Jaid Abbas, who was employed as a helper/cleaner on a truck owned by respondent no.1, M/s Brahmputra Cargo Carriers (P) Ltd. The deceased died on 27.05.2017 in a road accident near Parik Hotel, Bhatputti, P.S. Maynaguri, District Jalpaiguri, West Bengal, while travelling in the truck from Assam to Delhi under the employer’s instructions. The driver, Sh. Babu Khan, lost control and collided with a stationary vehicle, resulting in fatal injuries.

Key Facts

  • The deceased was employed as a helper/cleaner on truck bearing registration no. NL-01-K-6373
  • He received a monthly salary of Rs. 8,000/-
  • The accident occurred on 27.05.2017 during the course of employment
  • FIR No. 198/2017 was registered under Sections 279 and 304A IPC at P.S. Maynaguri
  • Respondent no.1 admitted the employer-employee relationship in its written statement before the Commissioner
  • Respondent no.1 bore the expenses for the deceased’s last rites and intimated the insurer on the date of the accident
  • The driver’s valid driving licence, vehicle registration certificate, and insurance policy were seized during investigation
  • The insurance policy was issued on 19.07.2016 and valid until 18.07.2017, covering the date of accident
  • An additional premium of Rs. 150/- was paid under the policy for legal liability coverage of driver/conductor/cleaner, as confirmed by RTI reply

Procedural History

  • 27.05.2017: Accident resulting in death of Jaid Abbas
  • 27.05.2017: Intimation of accident sent to insurer (respondent no.2)
  • 12.12.2018: Commissioner under EC Act passed award directing respondent no.1 to pay compensation; exonerated respondent no.2 (insurer) on grounds of lack of documentary proof of employment
  • 15.04.2025: Delhi High Court issued interim order noting admission of employer-employee relationship and valid insurance
  • 21.05.2025: Delhi High Court noted production of insurance policy and RTI reply confirming additional premium
  • 16.05.2026: Judgment delivered by Justice Manoj Kumar Ohri

Relief Sought

The appellant sought modification of the Commissioner’s award to hold respondent no.2 (insurance company) jointly and severally liable for payment of compensation, arguing that the policy explicitly covered liability for cleaners and an additional premium had been paid for such coverage.

The central question was whether an insurance company can be held liable to pay compensation under the Employees’ Compensation Act, 1923 when the employer admits the employment relationship, the accident occurred during the course of employment, and the insurance policy includes an additional premium specifically covering legal liability for employees such as cleaners or drivers.

Arguments Presented

For the Appellant

Counsel argued that since respondent no.1 admitted the employer-employee relationship and the vehicle was insured with respondent no.2, and since an additional premium of Rs. 150/- was paid for coverage of legal liability of cleaners, the insurer was contractually and statutorily bound to indemnify the employer. Reliance was placed on Mahendra Rai v. United Insurance Co. Ltd. to assert that the Commissioner has jurisdiction to direct the insurer to pay compensation directly when coverage exists.

For the Respondent

Respondent no.2 contended that no documentary evidence of employment was placed on record by the claimants, and therefore, the Commissioner was correct in excluding the insurer from liability. It was argued that the insurer’s liability arises only if the employer’s liability is first established by the claimant, and that the RTI reply was not a legally admissible document.

The Court's Analysis

The Court emphasized that the Employees’ Compensation Act is a welfare legislation designed to provide swift relief to workers and their dependents. It noted that in the Indian context, especially in the transport sector, formal written employment contracts are rare. The Court relied on its own precedent in Reliance General Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Ashok Kumar & Anr., holding that once an employee is found driving or working on an employer’s vehicle, the relationship of employer and employee is presumed unless rebutted.

The Court observed that respondent no.1 had unequivocally admitted the employment relationship, the accident occurred during the course of employment, and the vehicle was insured. Crucially, the insurer had received an additional premium of Rs. 150/- specifically for covering legal liability of cleaners and drivers, as confirmed by an RTI reply placed on record.

"We are of the view that after such observations already made the remand of the case will be futile. In fact, we find no error in the order passed by the Commissioner under the Workman Compensation Act, 1923."

The Court held that the Commissioner’s award was legally sound and that the insurer’s liability was triggered by the payment of the additional premium. The insurer could not evade liability by relying on technicalities regarding documentary proof of employment, especially when the employer itself had admitted the relationship.

The Court further clarified that under Section 30 of the EC Act, appellate jurisdiction is limited to substantial questions of law, and the Commissioner’s factual findings are final. Since the facts were admitted and the premium was paid for the specific risk, the insurer’s exoneration was legally untenable.

The Verdict

The appeal was partly allowed. The impugned award dated 12.12.2018 was modified to direct respondent no.2, the insurance company, to pay the compensation awarded by the Commissioner. The insurer is liable to discharge the entire compensation amount, with interest at 6% per annum from the date of the award (12.12.2018) until actual payment. The order is to be complied with within six weeks from the date of judgment.

What This Means For Similar Cases

Insurer Liability Is Triggered by Premium, Not Just Policy

  • Practitioners must now argue that payment of an additional premium for employee liability under a motor insurance policy creates a direct statutory obligation under the EC Act
  • The mere existence of a policy is insufficient; the specific coverage for workers must be evidenced by premium payment records
  • RTI replies confirming premium allocation are admissible as corroborative evidence

Employer Admission Satisfies Burden of Proof

  • In cases involving informal employment (e.g., drivers, cleaners, helpers), admission by the employer suffices to establish employment relationship
  • Formal contracts are not required under the EC Act’s welfare framework
  • Courts will not permit insurers to exploit procedural gaps when the risk was knowingly covered

Commissioner’s Findings Are Final on Facts

  • Appeals under Section 30 EC Act are restricted to substantial questions of law
  • Appellate courts must uphold factual findings where admitted or supported by evidence
  • Insurers cannot re-litigate facts already accepted by the Commissioner

Case Details

Sohbat Sohbat Hussain v. M/s Brahmputra Cargo Carriers (P) Ltd. & Anr.

PDF
Court
High Court of Delhi
Date
16 May 2026
Case Number
FAO 264/2021
Bench
Manoj Kumar Ohri
Counsel
Pet: S.N. Parasher, Ritik Singh
Res: Sumant Kumar, Awantika Manohar, Parul D.

Frequently Asked Questions

Yes. The Court held that in the Indian context, especially for transport sector workers like cleaners and drivers, formal contracts are not required. Admission of employment by the employer, coupled with proof that the insurance policy covered such employees through an additional premium, is sufficient to establish liability.
Yes. The Court ruled that when an insurer receives an additional premium specifically for covering legal liability of employees such as cleaners or drivers, it assumes a direct obligation to indemnify the employer under the EC Act, and can be directed to pay compensation directly.
Yes. The Court accepted the RTI reply confirming the payment of Rs. 150/- as additional premium for cleaner/driver liability as valid corroborative evidence, especially when the insurer had no contrary documentation to rebut it.
0

Disclaimer

This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. The views expressed are based on the judgment analysis and should not be taken as professional counsel. Please consult with a qualified attorney for advice specific to your situation.