
The Himachal Pradesh High Court has affirmed that an employer’s liability under the Workmen’s Compensation Act, 1923, arises not merely from formal documentation but from the factual reality of employment, even when the worker is deployed on a contractor’s premises. The judgment clarifies that the bar under the Employees’ State Insurance Act does not automatically extinguish compensation claims unless the deceased was demonstrably covered under that scheme.
Background & Facts
The Dispute
The dispute arose from the death of Satish Kumar, a 25-year-old worker, who suffered a fatal electric shock on 30.06.2007 while engaged in welding work at the premises of Respondent No.2. The petitioners, his widow and children, filed a claim petition under Sections 21 and 22 of the Workmen’s Compensation Act, 1923, seeking compensation for his death, alleging that he was employed by Amit Enterprises (Appellant) and that the accident occurred due to lack of safety equipment.
Key Facts
- Satish Kumar was engaged as a helper by Amit Enterprises (Appellant) to perform electrical work at the premises of Respondent No.2.
- He was paid monthly wages of Rs.5,000/- and was the sole earner for his family.
- On 30.06.2007, while attempting to remove tape from a welding set, he received a fatal electric shock and was declared dead on arrival at the hospital.
- The petitioners alleged that no insulating gloves or safety gear were provided by the Appellant.
- The Appellant denied any employer-employee relationship, claiming Satish Kumar was employed by Respondent No.2.
- Respondent No.2 (contractee) admitted that the electrical work was contracted out to the Appellant and that Satish Kumar was appointed by the Appellant.
- Respondent No.2 further stated that it had supplied equipment, but the accident occurred due to the deceased’s negligence.
- The Appellant was registered under the Employees’ State Insurance Act, 1948, but no evidence was produced to show that Satish Kumar was enrolled as an insured person under the scheme.
Procedural History
- 30.06.2007: Death of Satish Kumar due to electric shock at work.
- 2007: Petitioners made demands for compensation; no payment made.
- 2011: Claim Petition No.9/2 of 2011/07 filed before the Commissioner, Employees’ Compensation, Nalagarh.
- 08.11.2008: Commissioner framed four issues, including employer-employee relationship and applicability of ESI Act.
- 19.11.2011: Commissioner allowed the claim, awarding Rs.2,44,024/- as compensation, 12% interest from 30.07.2007, and Rs.36,504/- as penalty (15% of compensation).
- 28.11.2011: Order confirming the award and penalty.
- 07.04.2026: Appeal heard and dismissed by the High Court.
The Parties' Positions
Appellant (Amit Enterprises):
- Denied any employer-employee relationship with the deceased.
- Argued that the claim petition was barred under Sections 75(2)(b), 75(3), and 53 of the Employees’ State Insurance Act, 1948.
- Claimed that Satish Kumar was not listed in its ESI records and was not insured.
- Contended that the Commissioner lacked jurisdiction and misappreciated evidence.
Respondents (Dependents of Deceased):
- Asserted that Satish Kumar was employed by the Appellant, even if working on a third-party site.
- Relied on testimonial evidence from PW-1 (widow) and RW-3 (Assistant Manager of Respondent No.2) to establish employment.
- Argued that the Appellant failed to prove coverage under ESI Act for the deceased.
Relief Sought
The petitioners sought:
- Compensation of Rs.5,00,000/- (later adjusted to Rs.2,44,024/- by Commissioner).
- 12% interest from 30.07.2007 until payment.
- Penalty of 15% of compensation under Section 4A(3)(b) of the Act.
- Costs of litigation.
The Legal Issue
The central questions were: (1) Whether a relationship of employer and employee existed between the Appellant and the deceased despite absence of formal employment records? (2) Whether the claim under the Workmen’s Compensation Act is barred by the Employees’ State Insurance Act, 1948, when the deceased is not shown to be an insured person under that scheme? (3) Whether the imposition of penalty under Section 4A(3)(b) was justified?
Arguments Presented
For the Appellant
The Appellant, through Senior Advocate Ms. Devyani Sharma, contended that:
- The claim petition was not maintainable under the Workmen’s Compensation Act because the Appellant was registered under the Employees’ State Insurance Act, 1948, and Sections 75(3) and 53 of the ESI Act create an exclusive remedy.
- No documentary evidence (payroll, appointment letter, ESI enrollment) proved the deceased was an employee of the Appellant.
- The testimony of PW-1 was uncorroborated and self-serving.
- The Appellant had no control over the deceased’s work or safety measures, which were allegedly provided by Respondent No.2.
- The penalty under Section 4A(3)(b) was unjustified as there was no deliberate delay in payment, and the Appellant disputed liability altogether.
For the Respondent
The Respondents, through Mr. Kuldeep Singh and Mr. Rahul Mahajan, argued that:
- The deceased was employed by the Appellant, as confirmed by Respondent No.2’s own admission and testimony of RW-3.
- The Appellant failed to produce any ESI enrollment records for Satish Kumar, thereby negating the applicability of the ESI Act’s bar.
- The Workmen’s Compensation Act applies to any workman employed in a hazardous occupation, regardless of formal documentation.
- The Commissioner correctly appreciated the circumstantial evidence and the conduct of the Appellant, including its presence at the hospital after the accident.
- The penalty was rightly imposed due to the Appellant’s failure to pay compensation despite a clear finding of liability.
The Court's Analysis
The Court undertook a detailed review of the evidence and statutory framework. It emphasized that the existence of an employer-employee relationship under the Workmen’s Compensation Act is not contingent upon formal contracts or payroll records. The Court relied on the principle that the Act is a social welfare legislation, intended to provide swift relief to dependents of deceased workmen.
"From the material available on record, it is manifest that respondent No.2 had given the contract of the work of execution of electric work to the appellant and respondent No.2 admitted that Satish Kumar was appointed by respondent No.1 in its premises."
The Court noted that Respondent No.2, through RW-3, explicitly stated that the Appellant was responsible for hiring labourers and supervising the work, and that the liability for compensation rested with the Appellant. The Appellant’s failure to produce any ESI enrollment records for Satish Kumar was decisive. The Court held that the bar under Sections 75(3) and 53 of the ESI Act applies only when the deceased is an insured person under that scheme. Since the Appellant did not prove such coverage, the jurisdiction of the Commissioner under the Workmen’s Compensation Act remained intact.
Regarding the penalty under Section 4A(3)(b), the Court observed that the Appellant did not dispute the quantum of compensation awarded but delayed payment without any lawful justification. The Commissioner’s imposition of a 15% penalty was therefore justified as a deterrent against non-compliance.
The Court further held that the Appellant’s reliance on the absence of documentary proof was misplaced. In cases involving casual or contractual labour, testimonial and circumstantial evidence, especially when corroborated by third parties, are sufficient to establish employment.
The Verdict
The appeal was dismissed. The High Court upheld the Commissioner’s order dated 19.11.2011 and 28.11.2011. The Appellant was directed to pay:
- Compensation of Rs.2,44,024/-,
- Interest at 12% per annum from 30.07.2007 until full payment,
- Penalty of Rs.36,504/- (15% of compensation),
- All costs of the proceedings.
The Appellant was directed to deposit the entire amount within 8 weeks from the date of judgment.
What This Means For Similar Cases
Employer Liability Is Not Dependent on Formal Documentation
- Practitioners must argue that the Workmen’s Compensation Act protects workers based on factual employment, not paper records.
- Testimony from third-party employers or supervisors can establish employer-employee relationships where direct documentation is absent.
- The burden shifts to the employer to prove non-employment or ESI coverage; silence or non-production of records is adverse.
ESI Act Bar Applies Only to Insured Workers
- Employers cannot invoke the ESI Act’s jurisdictional bar unless they prove the deceased was enrolled as an insured person.
- Mere registration of the employer under ESI is insufficient; enrollment of the specific worker is mandatory.
- Claimants should always request ESI enrollment records during discovery; failure to produce them defeats the employer’s jurisdictional defence.
Penalty Is Automatic for Delayed Payment After Liability Is Established
- Once liability is found, failure to pay compensation within a reasonable time triggers the 15% penalty under Section 4A(3)(b).
- Good faith or dispute over liability does not excuse delay once a judicial finding is made.
- Practitioners should advise clients to settle or pay promptly upon adverse findings to avoid penalty exposure.






