Case Law Analysis

Employee's Compensation Act | Contractual Workers Entitled to Compensation if Employment Nexus Proven, Even Without Formal Appointment Docs: Bombay HC

The Bombay High Court affirmed that contractual workers killed in work-related accidents are entitled to compensation under the Employee's Compensation Act, even in the absence of formal appointment letters or salary records, if the employment nexus is established through circumstantial evidence. This ruling expands employer liability and protects vulnerable informal workers by prioritizing factual employment over documentary formalities.

Cassie News NetworkCassie News Network
Mar 27, 2026, 11:54 PM(Updated: Nov 3, 2026)
•7 min read
0:000:00
Be the first to share in your circle
Employee's Compensation Act | Contractual Workers Entitled to Compensation if Employment Nexus Proven, Even Without Formal Appointment Docs: Bombay HC

The Bombay High Court has affirmed that contractual workers engaged in essential operations for an employer are entitled to compensation under the Employee's Compensation Act, 1923, even in the absence of a formal employment contract, provided the nexus between the work performed and the accident is established. This ruling reinforces the Act’s protective intent and rejects technical defenses raised by employers who fail to participate in proceedings.

Background & Facts

The Dispute

The dispute arose from the death of Kandu Bibhishan Kate, son of respondents Bibhishan Tukaram Kate and another, who sustained fatal injuries while transporting sugarcane for the appellant, Sant Shiromani Maruti Maharaj Shetkari Sahakari Sakhar Karkhana Ltd. (the sugar factory). The respondents filed a claim petition under the Employee’s Compensation Act, 1923, seeking compensation for the death of their son, which occurred on 25.06.2012, following an accident on 04.11.2011.

Key Facts

  • The deceased, Kandu Bibhishan Kate, was engaged for the 2011-2012 sugarcane season to cut and transport sugarcane by bullock cart to the appellant’s factory.
  • He was paid wages at the rate of Rs. 190 per tonne of sugarcane transported.
  • On 04.11.2011 at approximately 7:00 PM, while transporting sugarcane from Hipparga, Taluka Ausa, District Latur, the bullock cart overturned near Mahadev Mandir, burying the deceased under the load.
  • He sustained severe spinal injuries and was admitted to Apex Hospital, Latur, and later transferred to Sancheti Hospital, Pune, where he remained hospitalized for over seven months.
  • He died on 25.06.2012 due to complications from the injuries.
  • The respondents submitted multiple documents as evidence, including post-mortem report, discharge summaries, medical bills, police inquest panchanama, spot panchanama, and witness statements recorded by police.
  • The appellant, despite being served notice and appearing through counsel, did not file a written statement, examine any witnesses, or produce any documentary evidence to rebut the claim.
  • The appellant claimed the deceased was employed by a contractor, Kishan Shinde, with whom an agreement was allegedly executed on 25.06.2011, but failed to produce this agreement before the Commissioner.
  • The appellant’s establishment was closed between 2012 and 2018, which it cited as the reason for non-participation in proceedings.

Procedural History

  • 04.11.2011: Accident occurred during sugarcane transport.
  • 25.06.2012: Death of Kandu Bibhishan Kate.
  • 2014: Application (WC) No. 31/2014 filed before the Commissioner for Employees’ Compensation, Latur.
  • 22.09.2015: Commissioner issued notice to appellant; no written statement filed.
  • 21.06.2018: Commissioner passed ex parte award directing compensation.
  • 23.03.2026: First Appeal No. 414 of 2026 heard before the Bombay High Court, Aurangabad Bench.

The Parties' Positions

Appellant (Employer): Argued that the deceased was not an employee but a contractual worker of a third-party contractor, Kishan Shinde. Claimed non-participation was due to closure of the factory from 2012 to 2018. Asserted lack of documentary proof of employment and causal link between accident and death.

Respondents (Claimants): Contended that the deceased was directly engaged by the appellant for sugarcane transport, paid per tonne, and performed work integral to the appellant’s business. Submitted comprehensive medical and police records proving the accident occurred during employment.

Relief Sought

The respondents sought compensation under the Employee’s Compensation Act, 1923, including:

  • Lump sum compensation of Rs. 8,96,000
  • Statutory interest at 12% per annum from the date of accident (04.11.2011) until realization
  • Medical expenses of Rs. 2,50,000
  • Funeral expenses of Rs. 5,000
  • Penalty of Rs. 44,800 for delayed payment

The appellant sought quashing of the award and remand for fresh trial.

The central question was whether a worker engaged on a contractual or piece-rate basis for essential operations of an employer is entitled to compensation under the Employee’s Compensation Act, 1923, and whether failure to file a written statement or participate in proceedings bars the claimant’s right to relief.

Arguments Presented

For the Appellant

The appellant’s counsel argued that the deceased was not an employee but a worker of a contractor, Kishan Shinde, and thus the employer-employee relationship under Section 2(1)(ee) of the Employee’s Compensation Act was absent. Relied on the absence of appointment letters, salary records, or service documents to challenge the nexus. Asserted that the ex parte award was invalid due to lack of opportunity to defend, especially since the factory was closed. Invoked principles of natural justice and claimed the award was based on insufficient evidence.

For the Respondent

The respondents’ counsel countered that the nature of engagement - payment per tonne, direct involvement in the appellant’s core business of sugarcane processing, and the fact that the work was performed on the appellant’s premises - established an employment relationship under the Act. Cited the extensive documentary evidence submitted, including medical records and police reports, which were unchallenged due to the appellant’s default. Emphasized that the Act is a welfare legislation and should be interpreted liberally to protect vulnerable workers.

The Court's Analysis

The Court examined the nature of the deceased’s engagement and the procedural posture of the case. It noted that the appellant had appeared before the Commissioner through counsel but deliberately chose not to file a written statement or examine any witnesses. The Court observed that the appellant’s claim of factory closure from 2012 to 2018 did not excuse its failure to respond to a claim filed in 2014, nor did it provide any documentary proof of the alleged contractor arrangement.

"The appellant, despite being served notice and appearing through counsel, failed to file a written statement, examine any witness or produce any document to rebut the claim. This deliberate non-participation cannot now be turned into a ground to challenge the award."

The Court held that the Employee’s Compensation Act does not require a formal contract of service. The test under Section 2(1)(ee) is whether the deceased was engaged in any work incidental to or in the course of the employer’s business. The deceased was engaged in transporting sugarcane, a core activity of the appellant’s sugar factory, and was paid directly based on output. This satisfied the statutory definition of "employee."

The Court further held that the medical and police records submitted by the respondents established a clear causal link between the accident on 04.11.2011 and the death on 25.06.2012. The delay in death was attributable to the severity of the injuries, not an intervening cause. The absence of a written contract or salary slips is not fatal under the Act, particularly when other corroborative evidence exists.

The Court rejected the appellant’s plea of non-participation due to closure, noting that the factory’s operational status did not absolve it of legal obligations arising from past employment. The failure to participate in proceedings amounted to a waiver of the right to contest the claim.

The Verdict

The appeal was dismissed. The Court upheld the Commissioner’s award dated 21.06.2018 in full: lump sum compensation of Rs. 8,96,000, statutory interest at 12% per annum from 04.11.2011 until realization, medical expenses of Rs. 2,50,000, funeral expenses of Rs. 5,000, and penalty of Rs. 44,800. The amount already deposited by the appellant was ordered to be disbursed to the respondents immediately. The request for a one-month stay on disbursement was rejected.

What This Means For Similar Cases

Contractual Workers Are Covered Under the Act

  • Practitioners must argue that piece-rate, seasonal, or contract-based workers performing integral tasks for an employer are protected under the Employee’s Compensation Act, regardless of formal employment documents.
  • The absence of appointment letters or payslips is not decisive; the nature of work, control, and integration into the business are key.

Defaulting Employers Cannot Later Challenge Awards

  • Failure to file a written statement or appear in proceedings constitutes a waiver of defense.
  • Courts will not entertain belated challenges based on procedural lapses caused by the employer’s own inaction.

Medical Evidence Must Be Evaluated Holistically

  • Delayed death following an accident does not break the chain of causation if medical records show continuous treatment for injuries sustained at work.
  • Post-mortem reports, hospital records, and police inquests are sufficient to establish work-related death under the Act.

Employer’s Operational Status Is Irrelevant to Past Liability

  • Closure or suspension of business does not extinguish liability for accidents occurring during active operations.
  • Employers must respond to claims even if operations are temporarily halted.

Case Details

Sant Shiromani Maruti Maharaj Shetkari Sahakari Sakhar Karkhana Ltd. v. Bibhishan Tukaram Kate and Anr.

2026:BHC-AUG:12641
Judgment
Court
High Court of Judicature at Bombay, Aurangabad Bench
Date
23 March 2026
Case Number
First Appeal No. 414 of 2026
Bench
Y.G. KHOBRAGADE
Counsel
Pet: Mr. Kadam Kailas A.
Res: Mr. Ganesh L. Kedar

Frequently Asked Questions

No. The Act protects workers engaged in any work incidental to the employer’s business, regardless of formal contracts. Payment on a piece-rate or seasonal basis, and direct integration into the employer’s operations, suffice to establish employment under Section 2(1)(ee).
Only if the employer proves the existence and terms of the contractor agreement. Failure to produce such evidence before the tribunal, especially after defaulting on participation, renders the claim unchallenged and the award valid.
No. If medical records establish that the death resulted from injuries sustained during employment, even a prolonged period between accident and death does not break the causal link under the Act.
0

Disclaimer

This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. The views expressed are based on the judgment analysis and should not be taken as professional counsel. Please consult with a qualified attorney for advice specific to your situation.