
The Bombay High Court has reaffirmed that familial ties between an employer and worker do not invalidate the existence of an employer-employee relationship under the Employee’s Compensation Act, 1923. Where the employer admits the employment and the worker provides credible oral testimony supported by documentary corroboration, claims for compensation must be upheld, even in the absence of formal contracts or wage slips.
Background & Facts
The Dispute
The dispute arose from a fatal workplace accident involving Dineshkumar J. Dubey, who was driving a motor vehicle owned by his father, Jeelajeet B. Dubey. On 13th August, 2002, Dineshkumar sustained severe injuries while operating the vehicle on a highway near the Times of India signal in Mumbai. He was admitted to Bhagwati Hospital on the same day and discharged on 3rd September, 2002. The injuries rendered him permanently unfit to continue as a driver, resulting in total loss of earning capacity.
Key Facts
- The vehicle involved bore registration number MH-02-QA-5370 and was owned by Jeelajeet B. Dubey.
- Dineshkumar J. Dubey, the applicant, was the son of the vehicle owner.
- Dineshkumar was engaged as a driver from 2001 onwards and received monthly wages of Rs. 4,000/-.
- No written employment contract existed between father and son.
- No bank statements, salary receipts, or Form 16 were produced to substantiate wage payments.
- The applicant produced a Wage Certificate issued by the owner, stating monthly wages of Rs. 4,000/- (Exh. U-4, Sr. No. 9).
- The applicant also submitted medical records, police statement, driving license, tax certificate, and Workmen’s Compensation Claim Form.
- The insurance company, New India Assurance Co. Ltd., denied the claim on grounds of alleged collusion and lack of documentary proof.
Procedural History
- 13.08.2002: Accident occurred during course of employment.
- 2003: Application No. A(WCA) 644/C-226/2003 filed before Commissioner for Workmen’s Compensation.
- 28.02.2007: Commissioner allowed the application, holding employer-employee relationship established and awarding compensation of Rs. 5,20,584/- with 12% interest from date of order.
- 18.02.2010: First Appeal No. 1760 of 2009 admitted by Bombay High Court on three substantial questions of law.
- 15.04.2026: Judgment pronounced by Division Bench of Bombay High Court.
The Parties' Positions
Appellant (New India Assurance Co. Ltd.):
- Contended that no employer-employee relationship existed.
- Argued that the relationship between father and son rendered the claim collusive.
- Asserted absence of documentary evidence (pay slips, bank records, appointment letters).
- Relied on Manjusha & Others v. United India Assurance Co. Ltd. to argue that mere pleadings without proof are insufficient.
Respondent (Dineshkumar J. Dubey):
- Maintained that employment was established through oral testimony and admission by the employer.
- Cited multiple precedents affirming that family members can be employees.
- Highlighted that the owner admitted employment in his Written Statement.
- Emphasized that the Wage Certificate issued by the employer corroborated wage payment.
Relief Sought
The applicant sought compensation of Rs. 5,20,584/- with interest at 12% per annum from the date of the Commissioner’s order (28.02.2007) until realization, and costs. The Commissioner granted this relief. The insurer appealed to set it aside.
The Legal Issue
The central question was whether an employer-employee relationship under the Employee’s Compensation Act, 1923 can be established solely through oral testimony and admission by the employer, even when the parties are related by blood and no formal documentation exists.
Arguments Presented
For the Appellant
Mr. S. M. Dange, counsel for the insurer, argued that the Commissioner erred in accepting the applicant’s testimony without corroborative documentary evidence. He emphasized that the applicant was the son of the employer, making the claim inherently suspect. He contended that the absence of wage slips, bank records, or employment records indicated a fabricated claim designed to defraud the insurance company. He relied on Manjusha & Others v. United India Assurance Co. Ltd. to assert that pleadings unsupported by valid evidence cannot sustain a claim.
For the Respondent
Mr. T. J. Mendon, counsel for the applicant, countered that the existence of an employer-employee relationship is a question of fact, not law, and that the Commissioner’s findings were based on credible oral evidence and the employer’s admission. He cited T. S. Shylaja v. Oriental Insurance Co. Ltd., Chitrarekha Chandrarao Chaudhari v. C. R. Chaudhari, and Bajaj Allianz v. Smt. Gulab Devi to establish that courts have consistently held that familial relationships do not negate employment. He stressed that the employer’s written admission and the Wage Certificate constituted sufficient proof under the Act’s welfare-oriented framework.
The Court's Analysis
The Court rejected the insurer’s contention that the familial relationship rendered the claim collusive. It emphasized that the Employee’s Compensation Act is a welfare statute designed to provide swift relief to injured workers, and rigid evidentiary standards should not defeat legitimate claims.
"The Commissioner had, in this regard, observed: '...even though the deceased was his younger brother he was working as a driver under him, and has admitted that he was paying salary to him.'"
The Court relied heavily on the admission made by the employer in his Written Statement (Exh. C-3), wherein he unequivocally acknowledged employing the applicant as a driver and paying Rs. 4,000/- per month. The Court held that such an admission, coupled with the applicant’s sworn testimony and the Wage Certificate, constituted prima facie proof of employment.
The Court distinguished Manjusha & Others on the ground that in that case, there was no admission by the employer and no corroborative document. Here, the employer not only pleaded but also produced evidence. The Court noted:
"The fact of payment of wages and quantum of wages is admitted in between the employee-employer. Therefore though Insurance Company has disputed it will not make much difference."
The insurer, despite having the burden to disprove the claim, led no evidence whatsoever. The Court held that the absence of documentary proof is not fatal where the employer admits the relationship and the worker’s testimony is consistent and unchallenged on material points.
The Court also affirmed that in family-run transport businesses, it is common practice not to maintain formal wage records. The absence of such records cannot be equated with absence of employment.
The Verdict
The First Appeal was dismissed. The Court upheld the Commissioner’s order dated 28th February, 2007, directing the employer and insurer to jointly and severally pay compensation of Rs. 5,20,584/- with interest at 12% per annum from the date of the order (28.02.2007) until realization. No costs were awarded.
What This Means For Similar Cases
Oral Evidence and Employer Admission Are Sufficient
- Practitioners must argue that under the Employee’s Compensation Act, formal documentation is not mandatory to establish employment.
- Where the employer admits employment in writing, and the worker’s testimony is consistent, claims should be upheld even without pay slips or bank records.
Family Relationships Are Not Disqualifying
- Claims involving relatives of employers are not inherently suspect.
- Courts must evaluate the substance of evidence, not the nature of the relationship.
- Precedents like T. S. Shylaja and Chitrarekha Chandrarao now form binding guidance for tribunals and lower courts.
Burden of Disproof Lies with the Insurer
- Insurers cannot merely deny claims; they must lead positive evidence to prove collusion or fabrication.
- Mere suspicion based on familial ties is insufficient to rebut a prima facie case.
- Failure to adduce evidence renders the insurer’s denial legally ineffective.
Welfare Statute Requires Liberal Interpretation
- The Act’s remedial purpose demands a liberal construction of evidence.
- Technicalities such as absence of written contracts must not override substantive justice.
- Tribunals must prioritize the worker’s injury and loss of earning capacity over procedural formalities.






