Case Law Analysis

Employer-Employee Relationship | Admission Alone Suffices Without Documentary Proof : Kerala High Court

Kerala High Court holds that admission by employer in EC Act claims, coupled with circumstantial evidence, establishes employer-employee relationship even without payslips or muster rolls.

Cassie News NetworkCassie News Network
Feb 19, 2026, 11:18 PM(Updated: Nov 3, 2026)
•5 min read
Be the first to share in your circle
Employer-Employee Relationship | Admission Alone Suffices Without Documentary Proof : Kerala High Court

The Kerala High Court has clarified that in claims under the Employees Compensation Act, an employer’s admission in written statement, supported by circumstantial evidence, is sufficient to establish an employer-employee relationship - even in the absence of formal documentation. This ruling reinforces the practical realities of informal employment in India’s transport and logistics sector and sets a critical precedent for compensation adjudication.

Background & Facts

The Dispute

The dispute arose from a workplace accident involving Shajahan, a lorry helper, who fell from a loaded rice bag while tarpaulining a vehicle owned by Hashim. He sustained serious injuries and claimed permanent total disablement under the Employees Compensation Act, 1923. The insurer, Bajaj Allianz General Insurance Company Limited, contested both the existence of an employer-employee relationship and the extent of disability.

Procedural History

  • July 17, 2019: Shajahan injured while working on Hashim’s lorry at FCI godown, Karunagappally
  • 2021: Claim petition filed before Employees Compensation Commissioner, Thiruvananthapuram
  • December 29, 2023: Commissioner held employer-employee relationship existed; awarded compensation based on 50% loss of earning capacity
  • 2024: Both parties appealed to Kerala High Court - insurer challenging jurisdictional basis, claimant challenging compensation amount

Relief Sought

Shajahan sought enhancement of compensation on grounds of permanent total disablement. The insurer sought dismissal of the claim, arguing no employer-employee relationship existed and that the Commissioner erred in relying solely on admission without documentary proof.

The central question was whether employer-employee relationship under the Employees Compensation Act, 1923, can be established solely on the basis of an admission by the alleged employer in written statement, in the absence of payslips, muster rolls, or formal contracts.

Arguments Presented

For the Appellant (Insurer)

Bajaj Allianz contended that the Commissioner’s finding on employer-employee relationship was legally unsustainable because it relied exclusively on Hashim’s admission in his written statement, without corroborating documentary evidence. It argued that such admissions are not binding in jurisdictional matters and that the Commissioner erred in rejecting applications to summon records from the Kerala Headload Workers Welfare Board and to produce muster rolls. It cited State of Punjab v. Baldev Singh to argue that jurisdictional facts must be proven by independent evidence.

For the Respondent (Claimant)

Shajahan’s counsel argued that in informal employment sectors like goods transport, formal records are rarely maintained. She relied on Indra Bai v. Oriental Insurance Company Ltd. to assert that the nature of employment must be understood in context. She emphasized that the admission by the employer, combined with the accident occurring during work on the employer’s vehicle and the union membership card (Ext.A11), formed a coherent factual matrix sufficient to establish the relationship.

The Court's Analysis

The Court examined the nature of jurisdictional facts under the Employees Compensation Act and the evidentiary standards applicable in such claims. It held that while formal documentation is ideal, its absence cannot be fatal where other indicia of employment exist.

"Findings on facts by the Commissioner are not liable to be disturbed in an appeal under Section 30 of the Employee's Compensation Act unless they are without any supporting evidence or are perverse."

The Court noted that the insurer’s own admission by Hashim - that Shajahan was employed by him - was a judicial admission under Section 58 of the Indian Evidence Act, which carries evidentiary weight unless retracted or disproved. The Commissioner’s reliance on Ext.A11, the union membership card issued by the Kollam District Goods Transport Workers Union, further corroborated the claimant’s status as a transport worker under Hashim’s control.

The Court distinguished Indra Bai not as a precedent on employment status, but on the standard for assessing disability. It held that the Commissioner correctly applied the principle that functional disability, not physical injury, is the decisive criterion under Section 2(1)(fc) of the Act. However, the Court found a procedural flaw: Ext.A6, the medical certificate stating 50% loss of earning capacity, was issued by a single doctor, not a medical board as required under settled jurisprudence.

The Court declined to substitute its own assessment of disability, recognizing the Commissioner’s expertise in evaluating such claims. Instead, it remanded the matter for a fresh medical evaluation by a competent government medical board to determine functional capacity.

The Verdict

The insurer’s appeal was dismissed. The claimant’s appeal was partially allowed. The Court upheld the finding of employer-employee relationship but remanded the issue of compensation for reassessment based on a medical board’s evaluation of functional disability.

What This Means For Similar Cases

Admission in Pleadings Is Binding in EC Claims

  • Practitioners must treat admissions by employers in written statements as conclusive unless rebutted by credible evidence
  • Insurers cannot evade liability by merely denying employment without challenging the admission’s validity
  • Union membership cards, witness testimony, and accident context can collectively establish employment in informal sectors

Functional Disability Overrides Physical Injury Metrics

  • Compensation must be calculated based on loss of earning capacity, not anatomical impairment
  • Medical certificates from single doctors are insufficient; claims must be referred to a government medical board
  • Courts will not substitute their own medical opinion but will remand for proper evaluation

Documentary Absence Does Not Invalidate Claims

  • Lack of payslips, muster rolls, or contracts is not fatal in transport, construction, or daily wage sectors
  • The Act’s remedial nature requires a liberal interpretation favoring workmen
  • Tribunals must consider the socio-economic reality of informal employment when evaluating evidence

Case Details

Bajaj Allianz General Insurance Company Limited v. Shajahan

2026:KER:14787
Judgment
Court
High Court of Kerala at Ernakulam
Date
18 February 2026
Case Number
M.F.A.(ECC)Nos.22 & 80 of 2024
Bench
S. Manu
Counsel
Pet: Smt. Steffy V.J.
Res: Sri. Thomas M. Jacob, Smt. V. Mangala Venketaraman

Frequently Asked Questions

Yes. The Court held that an admission by the alleged employer in a written statement, under Section 58 of the Indian Evidence Act, constitutes a judicial admission sufficient to establish employer-employee relationship, especially when corroborated by circumstantial evidence such as union membership or the nature of the accident.
No. The Court reaffirmed that functional disability-the inability to perform work previously done-is the sole criterion for determining compensation under Section 2(1)(fc) and Section 4(1)(b) of the Act, not the extent of physical injury or anatomical impairment.
No. The Court held that for claims involving permanent disablement, the claimant must be examined by a competent medical board constituted under government hospital protocols. Single-doctor certificates, like Ext.A6, are prima facie evidence but insufficient for final determination.
0

Disclaimer

This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. The views expressed are based on the judgment analysis and should not be taken as professional counsel. Please consult with a qualified attorney for advice specific to your situation.