Case Law Analysis

Insurance Liability Under Employees' Compensation Act | Scheduled Injury Entitles to Presumptive Disablement : Chhattisgarh High Court

Chhattisgarh High Court holds insurers liable for scheduled injuries under the Employees’ Compensation Act, 1923, even without separate disability certificates or policy terms raised at appeal.

Cassie News NetworkCassie News Network
Feb 7, 2026, 4:50 AM(Updated: Nov 3, 2026)
•5 min read
Be the first to share in your circle
Insurance Liability Under Employees' Compensation Act | Scheduled Injury Entitles to Presumptive Disablement : Chhattisgarh High Court

The Chhattisgarh High Court has clarified that insurers cannot evade liability under the Employees' Compensation Act, 1923, merely because they were not party to the original claim or because policy terms were raised for the first time on appeal. The judgment reinforces the statutory presumption of disablement for scheduled injuries and affirms that procedural irregularities in pleading do not defeat substantive rights of injured workers.

Background & Facts

The Dispute

The claimant, Pradeep Kumar Kosle, was employed as a coal khalasi by respondents No. 1, 2, and 4. On 19 September 2011, while performing his duties, he suffered a severe accident resulting in the amputation of his right thumb and two adjacent fingers. He was treated at Dr. Bhimrao Ambedkar Hospital, Raipur, and subsequently filed a claim petition under the Employees’ Compensation Act, 1923, seeking compensation for permanent disability. The claimant alleged that his employer had insured him against accidental injury with the appellant, Oriental Insurance Company Limited.

Procedural History

  • 2012: Claim petition filed before the Commissioner (Workmen’s Compensation), Raipur
  • 2023: Commissioner awarded compensation of Rs. 3,27,705/-, holding the injury as a scheduled disablement under Part II of Schedule I
  • 2023: Appellant Insurance Company filed appeal before the High Court challenging the quantum and liability

Relief Sought

The claimant sought compensation for permanent partial disablement based on statutory schedules. The insurer sought dismissal on grounds of non-coverage and procedural non-compliance, including the late invocation of policy terms.

The central question was whether an insurer can deny liability under the Employees’ Compensation Act, 1923, by raising policy-specific objections for the first time in appeal, and whether a separate disability certificate is mandatory to establish permanent disablement for scheduled injuries.

Arguments Presented

For the Appellant

The insurer contended that the Nagrik Suraksha Policy did not cover the claimant’s injury as per its terms, and that the claimant had not pleaded or produced the policy in the proceedings below. It argued that the Commissioner erred in holding the insurer liable without explicit contractual proof of coverage. It further submitted that the 50% disablement assessment was arbitrary without a certified medical opinion.

For the Respondents

The claimant and other respondents argued that the insurer was statutorily liable as the employer’s insurer under Section 3(2) of the Employees’ Compensation Act, 1923. They emphasized that the injury - amputation of thumb and two fingers - was explicitly listed in Part II of Schedule I, triggering a statutory presumption of 50% permanent disablement. They further noted that the insurer had admitted to issuing the policy and that the employer’s liability was indisputable.

The Court's Analysis

The Court examined the statutory framework under the Employees’ Compensation Act, 1923, particularly Schedule I and Section 3(2). It held that once an injury is classified as a scheduled injury under Part II of Schedule I, the degree of disablement is presumed by law and no separate medical certificate is required. The Court cited State of Punjab v. Lachhman Singh to affirm that statutory schedules override subjective medical opinions.

"The legislature has prescribed the extent of disablement for specific injuries. To demand a separate certificate in such cases is to impose an additional burden not contemplated by the statute."

The Court further held that the insurer, having issued the policy to the employer, became liable under Section 3(2) as soon as the employer’s liability was established. The insurer’s attempt to introduce policy exclusions for the first time on appeal was rejected as a procedural irregularity that could not defeat the claimant’s statutory rights. The Court emphasized that the insurer had ample opportunity to contest coverage during the original proceedings and could not be permitted to raise new grounds at the appellate stage.

The Court also noted that the claimant’s employment, accident, and injury were corroborated by medical records, photographs, and even the testimony of a witness from the employer’s side. The Commissioner’s findings were therefore well-supported and not perverse.

The Verdict

The appellant’s appeal was dismissed. The Court held that the insurer is liable for compensation under the Employees’ Compensation Act, 1923, when the employer’s liability is established, and that scheduled injuries attract a statutory presumption of disablement without requiring a separate medical certificate.

What This Means For Similar Cases

Statutory Disablement Presumptions Are Binding

  • Practitioners must treat injuries listed in Schedule I of the Employees’ Compensation Act as conclusive for disablement percentage
  • Medical certificates are unnecessary for scheduled injuries; opposing parties must challenge the classification, not the assessment
  • Any attempt to introduce subjective medical opinions to override statutory schedules will be rejected

Insurers Cannot Raise New Defences on Appeal

  • Insurers who fail to contest coverage or policy terms before the Commissioner cannot raise them for the first time in appeal
  • The doctrine of waiver applies: failure to plead a defence at the earliest opportunity forfeits the right to raise it later
  • Practitioners must ensure all policy-based objections are raised in written statements before the Commissioner

Employer’s Liability Automatically Extends to Insurer

  • Once the employer’s liability is proven, the insurer’s liability under Section 3(2) is automatic
  • The insurer’s contractual terms with the employer cannot override statutory obligations to the worker
  • Claimants need not prove the insurer’s direct contractual relationship with them - only that the employer was insured

Case Details

The Oriental Insurance Company Limited v. Pradeep Kumar Kosle

2026:CGHC:6449
PDF
Court
High Court of Chhattisgarh at Bilaspur
Date
05 February 2026
Case Number
MAC No. 2061 of 2023
Bench
Bibhu Datta Guru
Counsel
Pet: Mr. Anil Gulati
Res: Mr. Aamir Khan

Frequently Asked Questions

No. The Court held that for injuries listed in Schedule I, the degree of permanent disablement is presumed by statute. A separate medical certificate is not mandatory, as the legislature has already fixed the percentage of disablement for each scheduled injury.
No. The Court ruled that insurers cannot raise new policy-based defences for the first time on appeal. Such objections must be raised in the written statement before the Commissioner; failure to do so constitutes waiver.
Yes. Once the employer’s liability is established, the insurer becomes directly liable to pay compensation under Section 3(2), regardless of whether the worker is a direct party to the insurance contract.
0

Disclaimer

This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. The views expressed are based on the judgment analysis and should not be taken as professional counsel. Please consult with a qualified attorney for advice specific to your situation.