
The Delhi State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission has reinforced that insurers cannot indefinitely delay claim settlement on vague grounds of incomplete documentation. The judgment clarifies that the burden lies squarely on the insurer to prove it communicated specific deficiencies, granted meaningful opportunities for compliance, and acted in good faith - failure to do so constitutes deficiency in service under the Consumer Protection Act.
Background & Facts
The Dispute
The dispute arose from the refusal of United India Insurance Co. Ltd. to settle a reimbursement claim filed by Mr. Rahul Saini under his mediclaim insurance policy for the hospitalization of his wife, Mrs. Taruna, at M/s Ekansh Nursing Home. The claim, submitted for Rs. 81,793, remained unresolved despite timely intimation of hospitalization and submission of initial documents.
Key Facts
- The insured, Mr. Rahul Saini, held a mediclaim policy bearing No. 040200/48/12/06/00001166 with United India Insurance Co. Ltd., valid from 01.07.2012 to 30.06.2013
- Mrs. Taruna was admitted to M/s Ekansh Nursing Home on 02.04.2013 and discharged on 10.04.2013
- Intimation of hospitalization was sent to the Third Party Administrator (TPA), VIPUL MEDCORP TPA Pvt. Ltd., on 03.04.2013
- A claim for Rs. 81,793 was submitted by the insured for reimbursement of medical expenses
- The insurer, through its TPA, did not settle the claim nor formally reject it within a reasonable time
- The insurer alleged that documents such as leave records, investigation reports, medical certificates, and detailed medicine bills were missing
- The insured submitted all documents he possessed and responded to queries from the TPA
- No written communication from the insurer to the insured detailing specific deficiencies was produced on record
- No investigation, inquiry, or FIR was initiated by the insurer despite alleging fraudulent claims
- The hospital was not blacklisted or formally contacted for non-cooperation
Procedural History
- 02.04.2013: Hospitalization of Mrs. Taruna at M/s Ekansh Nursing Home
- 03.04.2013: Intimation of hospitalization sent to TPA
- 2013 - 2014: Claim submitted; no settlement or formal rejection
- 2014: Complaint Case No. CC-431/2014 filed before Consumer Disputes Redressal Forum (Central), Kashmere Gate, Delhi
- 23.01.2016: District Forum held insurer guilty of deficiency in service and directed payment of Rs. 81,793 with 10% p.a. interest if delayed beyond 30 days
- 06.05.2016: First Appeal No. FA-257/2016 filed by United India Insurance Co. Ltd. before Delhi State Consumer Commission
- 27.09.2019: Delay in filing appeal condoned by the Commission
- 13.05.2026: Judgment delivered by the Delhi State Consumer Commission
The Parties' Positions
For the Appellant (United India Insurance Co. Ltd.)
The insurer contended that the claim was still under process due to pending clarifications required from the insured, including leave records, investigation reports, medical certificates, and detailed medicine bills. It argued that the insured failed to provide these documents, thereby preventing final assessment. It further alleged that the claim was suspicious and that the hospital was non-cooperative, but admitted no investigation was conducted.
For the Respondent (Rahul Saini)
The respondent did not file any reply or vakalatnama. However, the District Forum found that the insured had responded to all TPA queries and submitted all documents in his possession. The Commission accepted this position by default due to non-appearance and non-filing.
Relief Sought
The appellant sought setting aside of the District Forum’s order dated 23.01.2016, which directed payment of Rs. 81,793 with 10% interest per annum for delay. The respondent sought enforcement of the District Forum’s order.
The Legal Issue
The central question was whether an insurance company can withhold settlement of a claim indefinitely on unsubstantiated allegations of missing documents, and whether such conduct constitutes deficiency in service under the Consumer Protection Act in the absence of proof of communication, opportunity, and deliberate non-compliance by the insured.
Arguments Presented
For the Appellant
The insurer argued that the claim was not rejected but remained pending due to incomplete documentation. It claimed that the TPA had requested leave records, medical certificates, and investigation reports, which the insured failed to provide. It contended that without these, the claim could not be verified under policy terms. It further asserted that the insured rushed to file the complaint before the claim process concluded, thereby bypassing contractual procedures.
For the Respondent
The respondents did not file any written reply or appear consistently before the Commission. However, the District Forum’s findings, which were accepted by the State Commission, held that the insured had cooperated fully and that the insurer failed to produce any evidence of communication or denial on valid grounds.
The Court's Analysis
The Commission emphasized that the insurer’s obligation under a mediclaim policy is not merely administrative but contractual and fiduciary. The burden of proving that a claim was legitimately delayed due to the insured’s non-cooperation rests entirely on the insurer.
"No sufficient material has been placed on record to establish that the claim was formally repudiated on legally sustainable grounds after proper consideration of the available documents."
The Commission noted that the insurer made generalized allegations of missing documents but produced no letters, emails, or notices sent to the insured specifying what was missing, when it was requested, or how much time was granted for compliance. The absence of such documentation was fatal to the insurer’s defence.
The Commission further held that mere suspicion of fraud, without any investigation, expert opinion, or report, cannot justify non-settlement. The insurer had the means and duty to verify claims through its TPA or by appointing investigators, yet it took no action against the hospital or the insured.
"Mere pendency of internal verification or vague allegations regarding incomplete documents cannot relieve the Insurance Company of its contractual and legal obligations towards the insured."
The Commission reaffirmed the principle that delay in settling a legitimate claim, without due process, amounts to deficiency in service. The District Forum’s findings were found to be well-reasoned, based on the evidence on record, and not perverse.
The Verdict
The appeal was dismissed. The Delhi State Consumer Commission upheld the District Forum’s order dated 23.01.2016. The insurer is directed to pay Rs. 81,793 to the complainant within 30 days of the judgment. If payment is delayed, interest at 10% per annum shall accrue from the date of the District Forum’s order until actual payment. No costs were awarded.
What This Means For Similar Cases
Insurers Must Document Communication of Deficiencies
- Practitioners must insist that insurers produce written communication detailing specific missing documents and timelines granted for submission
- Vague claims of "pending clarifications" without documentary proof will not suffice to justify delay
- Failure to issue formal notices or reminders renders the insurer liable for deficiency in service
Suspicion Alone Cannot Justify Claim Denial
- Insurers cannot rely on subjective suspicions of fraud to withhold payment
- If a claim appears questionable, the insurer must initiate a formal investigation, obtain expert opinions, or report to authorities
- Absence of such steps converts mere delay into actionable deficiency under the Consumer Protection Act
Timeliness Is a Core Obligation
- Insurance claims must be processed and decided within a reasonable time
- Indefinite pendency without communication or rejection is legally untenable
- Consumers may file complaints immediately if no decision is rendered within 30 - 45 days of submission, absent valid reasons






