Case Law Analysis

Consumer Protection Act | Insurance Claim Rejection for Non-Material Disclosure Violates Unfair Trade Practice : Maharashtra SCDRC

Maharashtra State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission rules that rejecting a medical insurance claim and cancelling a policy based on non-disclosure of a non-material fact (speech delay) constitutes deficiency in service and unfair trade practice. The ruling reinforces that insurers cannot arbitrarily void policies for immaterial omissions, protecting policyholders from bad-faith rejections.

Cassie News NetworkCassie News Network
Jul 4, 2026, 7:00 PM(Updated: Nov 3, 2026)
•8 min read
Be the first to share in your circle
Consumer Protection Act | Insurance Claim Rejection for Non-Material Disclosure Violates Unfair Trade Practice : Maharashtra SCDRC

The Maharashtra State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission delivered a significant ruling in a case involving arbitrary rejection of a medical insurance claim and unilateral cancellation of a policy. The Commission held that the insurance company's reliance on a non-material disclosure - childhood speech delay - to repudiate a claim for Burkitt's Lymphoma and fungal infection was legally untenable, constituting deficiency in service and unfair trade practice. The complainant was awarded Rs. 20,00,000 under the policy cap, along with compensation and litigation costs, setting a precedent for the interpretation of material disclosure in insurance contracts.

Background & Facts

The Dispute

The complainant, Dr. Amol Ingule, purchased a medical insurance policy (OPTIMA RESTORE FLOATER, Policy No. 160101/11121/A) from Apollo Munich Health Insurance Co. Ltd. for a sum insured of Rs. 20,00,000, covering the period from 21st February 2017 to 20th February 2018. In April 2017, the complainant's son was diagnosed with Burkitt's Lymphoma (blood cancer) and underwent emergency surgery at Apollo Hospital, Navi Mumbai. The complainant filed a claim for reimbursement of medical expenses, which the insurance company rejected on 27th May 2017, citing non-disclosure of a childhood speech delay as a pre-existing condition. The complainant contested this rejection, arguing that speech delay was not a disease or medical condition and had no correlation with the subsequent cancer diagnosis.

Key Facts

  • 21.02.2017: Complainant purchased the insurance policy for Rs. 20,00,000
  • 17.04.2017: Complainant's son hospitalized for severe stomach ache
  • 18.04.2017: Emergency surgery performed; diagnosis of Burkitt's Lymphoma
  • 27.05.2017: Insurance company rejected the claim via email, citing non-disclosure of speech delay
  • 31.05.2017: Complainant responded, clarifying that speech delay was not a medical condition
  • April-May 2017: Son diagnosed with Burkitt's Lymphoma
  • November-December 2017: Son developed fungal infection post-chemotherapy; underwent brain surgeries at Tata Memorial Hospital
  • 23.12.2017 - 05.02.2018: Son hospitalized at Apollo Hospital, Navi Mumbai; passed away in February 2018
  • Total medical expenditure: Rs. 33,58,794 incurred across Apollo Hospital and Tata Memorial Hospital
  • Policy cancellation: Insurance company unilaterally cancelled the policy and forfeited the premium

Procedural History

  • 2018: Consumer complaint filed before Maharashtra State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission (Complaint No. SC/27/CC/866/2018)
  • 13.10.2021: Opposite Parties failed to file Written Version; "No Written Version" order passed
  • 04.07.2025: Final opportunity granted to Opposite Parties to file written notes on legal points; they failed to comply
  • 17.06.2026: Final hearing conducted; judgment reserved
  • 02.07.2026: Judgment delivered

The Parties' Positions

Complainant

  • Argued that the rejection of the claim and cancellation of the policy were arbitrary and based on a non-material disclosure (speech delay)
  • Contended that speech delay was not a disease or medical condition and had no nexus with the subsequent cancer diagnosis
  • Submitted that the insurance company acted in bad faith to avoid its contractual liability
  • Provided medical records, bills, and evidence of expenditure totaling Rs. 33,58,794

Opposite Parties

  • Failed to file a Written Version or contest the complainant's evidence
  • Did not appear to argue their case despite multiple opportunities

Relief Sought

The complainant sought:

  • Reimbursement of medical expenses up to the policy limit of Rs. 20,00,000
  • Compensation for mental agony, emotional trauma, and financial hardship
  • Costs of litigation
  • Interest on the awarded amount from the date of repudiation

The central questions before the Commission were:

  1. Whether the insurance company's rejection of the claim and unilateral cancellation of the policy based on non-disclosure of a childhood speech delay constituted deficiency in service and unfair trade practice under the Consumer Protection Act, 1986?
  2. Whether the complainant was entitled to reimbursement of medical expenses, and if so, to what extent given the policy's sum insured cap?

Arguments Presented

For the Complainant

  • Relied on the principle of utmost good faith in insurance contracts, arguing that the disclosure of speech delay was immaterial and irrelevant to the subsequent medical condition
  • Contended that the insurance company's actions were arbitrary, malicious, and designed to defeat genuine claims
  • Submitted that the policy cap of Rs. 20,00,000 should be honored as the contract was illegally terminated
  • Argued that the mental agony and financial hardship endured by the complainant warranted compensation

For the Opposite Parties

The Opposite Parties did not present any arguments or file a Written Version.

The Court's Analysis

The Commission conducted a thorough analysis of the evidence and legal principles governing insurance contracts and consumer protection:

"The grounds on which the Insurance Company repudiated the Complainant's initial claim and unilaterally terminated the medical policy are completely arbitrary, legally untenable, and malicious. The Opposite Parties have placed primary reliance on the non-disclosure of a temporary 'speech delay' in the child's early developmental years to claim a breach of the utmost good faith doctrine. However, a developmental speech delay in a growing child is an ordinary physiological milestone variance; it is neither a chronic disease, a pre-existing medical deformity, nor a material fact that a reasonable person would deem necessary to declare under a standard health proposal form."

The Commission emphasized the lack of nexus between the disclosed speech delay and the subsequent diagnosis of Burkitt's Lymphoma and fungal infection, which were the actual causes of hospitalization and medical expenditure. It held that the insurance company's reliance on such a non-material disclosure to repudiate the claim was unfair and unreasonable.

"More crucially, from a medical and clinical standpoint, there is absolutely zero nexus, correlation, or pathological link between a childhood speech delay and the subsequent, aggressive onset of Burkitt's Lymphoma (blood cancer) or the fatal brain fungal infection that followed. For an insurance company to leverage a minor, outgrown childhood milestone to escape its multi-lakh contractual liability during a family's gravest hour of medical crisis is a textbook example of an unfair trade practice."

The Commission also criticized the unilateral cancellation of the policy and forfeiture of the premium, which deprived the complainant of his financial safety net during a medical emergency. Since the Opposite Parties failed to contest the complainant's evidence, the Commission accepted the complainant's version as unchallenged and conclusive.

Regarding the quantum of reimbursement, the Commission noted that while the complainant had incurred expenses of Rs. 33,58,794, the policy explicitly capped the insurer's liability at Rs. 20,00,000. The Commission held that it could not rewrite the contract to exceed this limit, despite its sympathy for the complainant's plight.

The Verdict

The Commission partly allowed the complaint and passed the following orders:

  1. The Opposite Parties (Apollo Munich Health Insurance Co. Ltd.) were jointly and severally directed to pay Rs. 20,00,000 to the complainant under Policy No. 160101/11121/A, representing the maximum sum insured.
  2. The Opposite Parties were directed to pay interest at 9% per annum on Rs. 20,00,000 from the date of repudiation/termination (27th May 2017) until the date of realization.
  3. The Opposite Parties were directed to pay Rs. 20,000 as compensation for mental agony, emotional trauma, and financial hardship.
  4. The Opposite Parties were directed to pay Rs. 25,000 as litigation costs.
  5. The Opposite Parties were ordered to comply with the judgment within 30 days of receiving a certified copy, failing which the interest rate would increase to 10% per annum on the principal amount.

What This Means For Similar Cases

Material Disclosure in Insurance Contracts

  • Non-material disclosures cannot justify claim rejection: Insurance companies cannot repudiate claims based on disclosures that are not medically relevant or have no nexus with the subsequent medical condition. Developmental milestones like speech delay, which are temporary and non-pathological, do not qualify as material facts requiring disclosure.
  • Utmost good faith requires reasonableness: The doctrine of uberrimae fidei (utmost good faith) obligates both parties to act reasonably. Insurers must demonstrate a clear and direct link between the disclosed information and the claimed medical condition before rejecting a claim.

Policy Cancellation and Forfeiture of Premium

  • Unilateral cancellation is impermissible: Insurers cannot cancel policies mid-term based on arbitrary or unsustainable grounds. Such actions constitute deficiency in service and unfair trade practice under the Consumer Protection Act, 1986.
  • Forfeiture of premium is illegal: If a policy is cancelled without valid justification, insurers must refund the premium to avoid unjust enrichment. Forfeiture of premium in such cases is legally untenable.

Quantum of Reimbursement and Interest

  • Policy cap is sacrosanct: Courts cannot rewrite insurance contracts to exceed the sum insured agreed upon by the parties. Complainants are entitled to reimbursement only up to the policy limit, even if actual expenses exceed this amount.
  • Interest as a deterrent: Awarding pendente lite and future interest (e.g., 9% per annum) serves as a deterrent against delayed settlements and compensates for financial erosion. Failure to comply with the judgment within the stipulated timeline may result in higher interest rates (e.g., 10% per annum).

Compensation for Mental Agony and Litigation Costs

  • Compensation for emotional trauma: Consumer forums can award compensation for mental agony, emotional trauma, and financial hardship caused by deficient service. This serves as a punitive measure against unfair trade practices.
  • Litigation costs as a deterrent: Awarding litigation costs discourages frivolous defenses and ensures that complainants are not financially burdened by pursuing legitimate claims.

Case Details

Dr. Amol Ingule v. Apollo Munich Health Insurance Co. Ltd. & Anr.

Judgment
Court
State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, Maharashtra, Mumbai
Date
02 July 2026
Case Number
SC/27/CC/866/2018
Bench
Ms. Poonam V. Maharshi, Presiding Member, Dr. Nisha Amol Chavhan, Member
Counsel
Pet: Adv. Ritik Gupta (instructed by Adv. Suvarna Joshi)
Res: Adv. Manoj Badsiwal (no written statement filed)

Frequently Asked Questions

A 'material disclosure' in health insurance contracts refers to information that a reasonable person would consider relevant to the insurer's decision to accept the risk and determine the premium. The Maharashtra SCDRC held that temporary developmental milestones like childhood speech delay, which have no medical correlation with subsequent conditions (e.g., cancer or fungal infections), do not qualify as material disclosures. The insurer must demonstrate a direct and pathological nexus between the disclosed information and the claimed medical condition to justify repudiation.
No. The Maharashtra SCDRC ruled that unilateral cancellation of a policy mid-term based on arbitrary or unsustainable grounds constitutes deficiency in service and unfair trade practice under the Consumer Protection Act, 1986. Insurers must provide valid justification for cancellation and refund the premium if the cancellation is upheld. Forfeiture of premium without justification is illegal.
If an insurance claim is wrongfully rejected, the policyholder can file a complaint before the appropriate Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission under Section 12 of the Consumer Protection Act, 1986. The complainant must prove: - Deficiency in service (e.g., arbitrary rejection, lack of nexus between disclosure and claim) - Unfair trade practice (e.g., malicious intent to avoid liability) - Actual financial loss (e.g., out-of-pocket medical expenses) The Commission can direct reimbursement up to the policy limit, compensation for mental agony, litigation costs, and interest on the awarded amount.
No. The Maharashtra SCDRC clarified that insurers are liable only up to the maximum sum insured specified in the policy, even if the actual medical expenses exceed this amount. Courts cannot rewrite the contract to expand the insurer's liability beyond the agreed terms. However, if the policy is illegally terminated, the policyholder is entitled to the full sum insured as originally agreed.
0

Disclaimer

This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. The views expressed are based on the judgment analysis and should not be taken as professional counsel. Please consult with a qualified attorney for advice specific to your situation.