
A landmark ruling by the West Bengal State Consumer Commission has clarified that insurers cannot evade liability by relying on policy exclusions when they fail to respond to claim intimation or provide basic procedural guidance to consumers. The judgment reinforces the duty of care owed by service providers in insurance, particularly where consumers are left without recourse due to institutional inaction.
Background & Facts
The Dispute
The dispute arose from a marine cargo insurance policy issued by National Insurance Co. Ltd. to Gargi Rakshit, the complainant and respondent no. 1. The policy covered household goods being transported from Mumbai to Kolkata by Patel Packers & Movers, respondent no. 2. Upon delivery, a significant portion of the consignment was reported missing or damaged. Despite notifying both the carrier and the insurer, no damage certificate was issued by the carrier, and the insurer took no steps to assist in filing a claim.
Key Facts
- Insurance policy issued with sum insured of Rs. 1,00,000 under Clause-B coverage
- Goods handed over to Patel Packers & Movers for transport from Mumbai to Kolkata
- On arrival in Kolkata (date not specified, but claim intimation made on 23.05.2013), complainant discovered 10 out of 84 packages missing or damaged
- Complainant sent a speed post letter with acknowledgment due to National Insurance Co. Ltd. on 23.05.2013, requesting issuance of claim form and appointment of surveyor
- Insurance company received the letter but did not respond
- No damage certificate issued by Patel Packers & Movers
- No FIR or General Diary Entry (GDE) filed by complainant
- No claim form provided by insurer
- No surveyor appointed or loss assessment conducted by insurer
- Complainant filed complaint before District Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission on 07.11.2013 (Case No. CC/619/2013)
Procedural History
- 07.11.2013: Complaint filed before District Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, Kolkata-I (CC/619/2013)
- 22.08.2017: District Commission held insurer liable for deficiency in service; ordered payment of Rs. 1,00,000 (sum insured) + Rs. 20,000 compensation, with 10% p.a. interest if unpaid within 30 days
- 07.11.2017: National Insurance Co. Ltd. filed First Appeal (A/1137/2017) before State Consumer Commission
- 14.05.2025: First hearing before State Commission; respondent no. 1 appeared, respondent no. 2 did not accept notice
- 03.12.2025: Second hearing; appellant appeared, respondents absent
- 08.05.2026: Final hearing; appellant represented by Advocate Debajit Dutta; respondents remained absent
- 24.06.2026: Judgment delivered by State Commission
The Parties' Positions
For the Appellant (National Insurance Co. Ltd.)
- Argued that the policy terms are binding and limit liability strictly to covered risks
- Contended that absence of damage certificate from carrier invalidates claim
- Asserted that no proof of loss (weighment certificates, CR sheets, sale receipts) was produced
- Relied on R.K.G. International Ltd. v. Bajaj Allianz General Insurance Co. Ltd. (2022) and Oriental Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Sony Cherian (AIR 1999 SC 3252) to argue that insured must strictly comply with policy conditions
- Claimed complainant failed to establish loss quantification and did not follow procedural requirements
For the Respondent (Gargi Rakshit)
- Did not appear before the State Commission after initial filing
- Relied on the District Commission’s findings that insurer failed to act despite being notified
- No formal written submission filed before State Commission
Relief Sought
- Appellant sought setting aside of District Commission’s order dated 22.08.2017
- Appellant sought dismissal of complaint on grounds of non-compliance with policy terms and lack of documentary proof
- Respondent sought enforcement of District Commission’s order for Rs. 1,00,000 + Rs. 20,000 compensation
The Legal Issue
The central question was whether an insurer’s failure to respond to a claim intimation, provide a claim form, or appoint a surveyor constitutes deficiency in service under the Consumer Protection Act, 1986, even in the absence of a damage certificate or formal proof of loss.
Arguments Presented
For the Appellant
The appellant relied on two key precedents. In R.K.G. International Ltd. v. Bajaj Allianz General Insurance Co. Ltd., the National Commission held that without signed weighment certificates or proof of sale price reduction, the quantum of loss could not be established. In Oriental Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Sony Cherian, the Supreme Court emphasized strict construction of insurance contracts and held that insureds cannot claim beyond policy terms. The appellant argued that the complainant’s failure to produce a damage certificate from the carrier and absence of any official documentation rendered the claim unenforceable. It further contended that the District Commission erred in imposing liability without proof of actual loss.
For the Respondent
The respondent did not appear before the State Commission and filed no written submissions. However, the Commission took into account the complainant’s original complaint and the letter dated 23.05.2013 sent via speed post with acknowledgment, which the insurer received but ignored.
The Court's Analysis
The State Commission conducted a detailed review of the insurer’s conduct and found that its inaction amounted to a clear deficiency in service. The Court noted that while policy terms are binding, they cannot be weaponized to deny redressal when the insurer itself fails to fulfill its basic obligations.
"This is not the case where the claim was repudiated by the insurance company on some valid grounds but this is a case where the insurer in spite of being informed that some goods were missing and some goods were damaged did not take appropriate steps to guide the complainant for submitting claim form."
The Court emphasized that the insurer’s contradictory stance - denying coverage while simultaneously invoking policy clauses - was legally untenable. It observed that the insurer had received a formal request for a claim form and surveyor on 23.05.2013, yet remained silent. No surveyor was appointed, no loss assessment conducted, and no guidance provided to the consumer.
The Commission distinguished R.K.G. International on the ground that in that case, the insurer had actively engaged surveyors and requested documentation, which the complainant failed to provide. Here, the insurer took no action at all. Similarly, Oriental Insurance was distinguished because it involved a violation of statutory transport permits, which was not the case here.
The Court held that the Consumer Protection Act is designed to protect the weaker party in a transaction. A consumer who files a complaint in 2013 and waits over a decade for resolution, while the insurer remains passive, cannot be penalized for the insurer’s procedural neglect. The absence of a damage certificate does not absolve the insurer of its duty to initiate inquiry.
The Verdict
The appeal was dismissed on merit. The order dated 22.08.2017 of the District Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission was affirmed. National Insurance Co. Ltd. is directed to pay Rs. 1,00,000 as sum insured and Rs. 20,000 as compensation within 30 days of the judgment, failing which interest at 10% per annum shall accrue from the date of the District Commission’s order. The stay on execution granted on 19.06.2018 is vacated. The Commission directed that a copy of this order be provided free of cost to the parties and uploaded on its website.
What This Means For Similar Cases
Insurer Inaction Constitutes Deficiency in Service
- Practitioners must now argue that failure to issue claim forms, appoint surveyors, or respond to claim intimation - even without formal proof of loss - is itself a deficiency under the Consumer Protection Act
- Insurers cannot rely on technicalities like missing damage certificates if they have not initiated any inquiry
- The burden shifts to insurers to demonstrate proactive engagement, not passive denial
Policy Terms Are Not a Shield Against Procedural Negligence
-
Insurance policies must be interpreted in light of the insurer’s conduct
-
Invoking policy exclusions without first fulfilling procedural obligations (e.g., guiding the consumer) renders such defenses invalid
-
Courts will prioritize consumer protection over strict contractual interpretation where the insurer has failed in its duty of care
-
Always document claim intimation via registered post or email
-
If no response received within 15 days, file complaint before District Commission
-
Do not wait for damage certificates if insurer refuses to act - failure to assist is actionable
-
Cite this judgment to counter insurer arguments based on lack of documentation when no inquiry was conducted






