Case Law Analysis

Delay in intimation cannot repudiate genuine insurance claim | Consumer Protection Act claim : Uttarakhand SCDRC

The Uttarakhand State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission set aside the District Commission’s rejection of a motor insurance claim based on delayed intimation, awarding ₹6,49,500 with 7% interest from 26 February 2021. The ruling clarifies that prompt intimation by the insured defeats an insurer’s attempt to repudiate a genuine claim, reinforcing consumer rights in insurance disputes.

Cassie News NetworkCassie News Network
Sep 11, 2026, 10:39 PM(Updated: Nov 3, 2026)
•7 min read
Be the first to share in your circle
Delay in intimation cannot repudiate genuine insurance claim | Consumer Protection Act claim : Uttarakhand SCDRC

The State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, Uttarakhand allowed an appeal by the insured, setting aside the District Commission’s order that had repudiated a genuine motor insurance claim on the ground of delayed intimation. Relying on Supreme Court precedents, the Commission held that delay in giving notice cannot defeat a legitimate claim when the delay is explained and the loss is genuine, awarding compensation of Rs. 6,49,500 with interest.

Background & Facts

The Dispute

The appellant, Sh. Jaipal Singh Chauhan, owned a Mahindra XUV 300 W4 PET MT WP vehicle (registration UK16-C-3489) insured with Go Digit General Insurance Limited from 07.04.2019 to 06.03.2020 at an IDV of Rs. 7,50,500. On the evening of 02.03.2020 the vehicle met with an accident at Village Kachta, Gangro, Jaindo Motor Road, Tehsil Kalsi, District Dehradun, resulting in total loss. The appellant intimated the accident to the insurer on 05.03.2020 and submitted a claim. The insurer appointed an investigator who demanded documents, which were provided via letter dated 01.06.2020. Despite this, the insurer repudiated the claim on grounds of delayed intimation, misrepresentation, violation of driver’s clause and over-seating.

Key Facts

  • Insurance policy period: 07.04.2019 to 06.03.2020, IDV Rs. 7,50,500
  • Accident date: 02.03.2020 (evening)
  • Intimation to insurer: 05.03.2020 (three days after accident)
  • Investigator’s document demand: letter dated 01.06.2020
  • Complainant’s compliance: documents provided through letter dated 01.06.2020
  • First repudiation letter: 02.09.2020 (citing delay, misrepresentation, driver clause, over-seating)
  • Subsequent repudiation after non-response: 30.06.2020
  • Surveyor’s motor survey report: 25.06.2020 assessing loss at Rs. 6,59,723 (repair basis)
  • Lok Adalat compromise order: 13.05.2023 (papers 26-27)
  • Consumer complaint filed: 26.02.2021 (bearing No. DC/49/CC/393/2021)
  • Date of admission before District Commission: 11.03.2026
  • Date of final hearing: 08.09.2026
  • Date of impugned judgment (District Commission): 23.01.2026
  • Date of pronouncement of present appeal: 10.09.2026

Procedural History

  • 02.03.2020: Accident occurs
  • 05.03.2020: Intimation given to insurer
  • 01.06.2020: Complainant provides demanded documents
  • 02.09.2020: Insurer repudiates claim (first letter)
  • 30.06.2020: Insurer repudiates claim after non-response (second letter)
  • 26.02.2021: Consumer complaint filed before District Commission, Dehradun (No. DC/49/CC/393/2021)
  • 11.03.2026: Complaint admitted
  • 08.09.2026: Final hearing
  • 23.01.2026: District Commission dismisses complaint (impugned judgment)
  • 10.09.2026: State Commission pronounces judgment allowing appeal

Relief Sought

The appellant sought:

  • Setting aside of the District Commission’s order dated 23.01.2026
  • Allowance of the consumer complaint
  • Payment of compensation equivalent to the IDV less salvage and excess, assessed at Rs. 6,49,500
  • Interest @7% per annum from the date of filing the complaint (26.02.2021) until payment
  • Litigation expenses of Rs. 10,000
  • Costs of the appeal

The central question was whether a delay in intimating an accident to the insurer, standing alone, could constitute a valid ground for repudiation of a genuine insurance claim under the Consumer Protection Act, 1986, or whether the insurer must first establish that the claim is not genuine or that the delay is unexplained and unreasonable.

Arguments Presented

For the Appellant/Petitioner

Reliance was placed on Om Prakash v. Reliance General Insurance (2017) 0 Supreme (SC) 977 and Gurshinder Singh v. Shriram General Insurance (2020) 0 Supreme (SC) 70 to argue that the condition of immediate intimation is not absolute and cannot defeat a genuine claim when the delay is explained. It was contended that the surveyor’s report confirmed the loss as genuine and total, that the insurer had not raised any doubt about the claim’s genuineness, and that the repudiation on technical grounds amounted to deficiency in service. The appellant further argued that the Lok Adalat compromise affirmed the genuineness of the claim.

For the Respondent/State

The insurer maintained that the intimation was delayed by three days, violating the policy condition requiring immediate notice. It asserted that the driver at the time of accident was not the insured but his brother, whose licence was not produced, constituting misrepresentation and violation of the driver’s clause. The insurer also pleaded over-seating (six persons in a five-seater vehicle) and contended that the complainant’s failure to respond to queries justified repudiation. It relied on the policy terms to argue that the claim was liable to be rejected.

The Court's Analysis

The Commission began by noting that the policy covered the vehicle and the accident occurred during the subsistence of the insurance. It then turned to the Supreme Court’s observations in Om Prakash (para 11) and Gurshinder Singh (para 18), which were reproduced in the judgment:

"It is true that the owner has to intimate the insurer immediately after the theft of the vehicle. However, this condition should not bar settlement of genuine claims particularly when the delay in intimation or submission of documents is due to unavoidable circumstances. The decision of the insurer to reject the claim has to be based on valid grounds. Rejection of the claims on purely technical grounds in a mechanical manner will result in loss of confidence of policy-holders in the insurance industry. If the reason for delay in making a claim is satisfactorily explained, such a claim cannot be rejected on the ground of delay."

"We concur with the view taken in the case of Om Prakash (supra), that in such a situation if the claimant is denied the claim merely on the ground that there is some delay in intimating the insurance company about the occurrence of the theft, it would be taking a hyper technical view. We find, that this Court in Om Prakash (supra) has rightly held that it would not be fair and reasonable to reject genuine claims which had already been verified and found to be correct by the investigator."

The Commission held that the same principles apply to accidental claims. It found that the insurer had not disputed the genuineness of the claim; the surveyor’s report confirmed the loss as genuine and total (exceeding 75% of IDV). The delay in intimation was three days, which the appellant explained by the need to first ascertain the vehicle’s condition and arrange documents. The insurer’s reliance on the driver’s clause and over-seating was rendered irrelevant after the Lok Adalat compromise, wherein the parties had settled the dispute on the basis of the true facts. Consequently, the repudiation amounted to a clear-cut deficiency in service on the part of the insurer. The Commission further observed that the Consumer Protection Act aims at providing better protection to consumers and deserves liberal construction.

On quantum, the Commission accepted the surveyor’s assessment of loss at Rs. 6,59,723 on repair basis. Since this exceeded 75% of the IDV (Rs. 7,50,500), the loss was treated as a total loss. Assuming a salvage value of Rs. 1,00,000 and an excess of Rs. 1,000, the total deduction was Rs. 1,01,000, leaving a balance of Rs. 6,49,500 as the amount due. Interest was awarded @7% per annum from the date of filing the complaint (26.02.2021) until payment, together with Rs. 10,000 towards litigation expenses.

The Verdict

The appellant succeeded. The State Commission set aside the impugned judgment and order dated 23.01.2026 passed by the District Commission, allowed the consumer complaint bearing No. DC/49/CC/393/2021, and directed the respondent - Go Digit General Insurance Limited - to pay compensation of Rs. 6,49,500 to the appellant together with interest @7% per annum from 26.02.2021 until payment and Rs. 10,000 towards litigation expenses.

What This Means For Similar Cases

Delay in Intimation Is Not an Absolute Bar

Practitioners must now argue that a mere delay in giving notice, without proof that the claim is fraudulent or the delay unreasonable, cannot defeat a genuine insurance claim. The burden shifts to the insurer to show that the claim is not genuine or that the delay is unexplained and unjustified.

Genuineness of Claim Prevails Over Technical Defects

Where a surveyor or investigator has verified the loss as genuine, technical objections such as alleged violation of driver’s clause or over-seating lose force. Insurers must substantiate repudiation with valid grounds related to the claim’s authenticity, not rely on hyper-technical policy conditions.

Liberal Construction of the Consumer Protection Act

The judgment reinforces that the Consumer Protection Act, 1986 is a beneficent statute requiring liberal interpretation in favour of consumers. Insurers cannot escape liability by invoking strict policy conditions when the underlying claim is bona fide and the loss is proven.

Insurer Must Provide Valid Grounds for Repudiation

Any repudiation must be based on valid, substantiated grounds. Mechanical rejection on procedural defaults without examining the merits of the claim constitutes deficiency in service, attracting liability for compensation, interest and litigation costs.

Case Details

JAIPAL SINGH CHAUHAN S/o. Sultan Singh Chauhan vs GO DIGIT GEN. INSURANCE CO.LTD Through its Authorized Signatory & GO DIGIT GENERAL INSURANCE COMPANY LTD Through its aUTHORIZED sIGNATORY & GO DIGIT GENERAL INSURANCE COMPANY LTD Through its AUTHROIZED sIGNATORY

PDF
Court
State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission
Date
2026-09-10
Case Number
SC/5/FA/20/2026
Bench
Ms. Kumkum Rani, Mr. B.S. Manral
Counsel
Pet: SURESH GAUTAM
Res: Smt. Anjali Gusain

Frequently Asked Questions

The insurer must show that the delay is unexplained and unreasonable and that the claim is not genuine; mere delay alone cannot defeat a genuine claim when the loss is verified and the delay is satisfactorily explained.
No. Where the loss has been verified as genuine and total, technical objections like alleged violation of driver’s clause or over-seating cannot justify repudiation; the insurer must base rejection on valid grounds related to the claim’s authenticity.
Interest at 7% per annum is payable from the date of filing the consumer complaint, i.e., 26.02.2021, until the date of payment.
0

Disclaimer

This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. The views expressed are based on the judgment analysis and should not be taken as professional counsel. Please consult with a qualified attorney for advice specific to your situation.