Case Law Analysis

Consumer Protection Act | Maturity Payment Does Not Extinguish Pending Disability Benefit Claims: NCDRC

The NCDRC has ruled that insurers cannot deny disability benefits merely because the policyholder received a maturity payout, affirming that these are separate contractual entitlements. This sets a critical precedent for policyholders with long-term disability claims, ensuring procedural fairness and preventing insurers from using settlement payments as a loophole to avoid liability.

Cassie News NetworkCassie News Network
May 13, 2026, 7:06 PM(Updated: Nov 3, 2026)
•7 min read
Be the first to share in your circle
Consumer Protection Act | Maturity Payment Does Not Extinguish Pending Disability Benefit Claims: NCDRC

The National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission has clarified that the payment of policy maturity amounts during the pendency of a consumer appeal cannot be grounds to dismiss a substantive claim for disability benefits. This ruling reinforces the principle that procedural dismissals must not override substantive rights in consumer litigation.

Background & Facts

The Dispute

Dr. Thomas V. Thomas, an American citizen residing in Philadelphia, USA, held three life insurance policies with the Life Insurance Corporation of India (LIC). He applied for permanent disability benefits under these policies following a fall on 23.11.2007, alleging total and permanent disability resulting from the accident. LIC repudiated the claim on 29.07.2010, asserting that his disability was not solely due to the accident, but pre-existing cervical conditions, and that the disability arose more than 180 days after the accident - both conditions specified in the policy terms.

Key Facts

  • Dr. Thomas suffered a fall on 23.11.2007, resulting in neck and lumbar pain, contusions, and lumbar sprain, but no fractures
  • He had undergone C2-C7 laminectomy with fusion in 2000, prior to purchasing the policies
  • LIC’s repudiation letter dated 29.07.2010 cited suppression of pre-existing medical history in the proposal form
  • The Social Security Administration (USA) recognized him as disabled from 28.05.2008, over 180 days after the accident
  • The policy conditions required disability to be "solely and independently" caused by accident and to arise within 180 days
  • Dr. Thomas filed Consumer Complaint No. CC/37/2011 before the State Commission, Kerala

Procedural History

  • 29.07.2010: LIC repudiated disability claim via formal letter
  • 2011: Complaint filed before State Consumer Commission, Kerala (CC/37/2011)
  • 23.10.2013: State Commission dismissed complaint, holding suppression of material facts and insufficient proof of total permanent disability
  • 2014: Appeal filed before National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission (NC/FA/283/2014)
  • 06.04.2022: LIC filed IA/3031/2022 stating maturity amounts of all three policies had been paid on:
    • 28.07.2014 (Policy No. 761387575)
    • 26.04.2016 (Policy No. 392675764)
    • 19.11.2018 (Policy No. 393046237)
  • 22.08.2024: Appeal dismissed by NCDRC in absence of appellant’s counsel, on grounds that no reply was filed to IA/3031/2022 and maturity amounts were paid
  • 21.01.2025: Review Application RA/13/2025 filed by appellant’s counsel, citing connectivity issues preventing appearance on 22.08.2024
  • 17.02.2025: NCDRC issued notice to LIC, noting prima facie error in dismissing appeal on maturity payment
  • 12.09.2025: NCDRC directed filing of better affidavit due to defects in supporting documents
  • 16.03.2026: Appellant filed digitally signed affidavit in Philadelphia, notarized in Chandigarh
  • 24.04.2026: LIC counsel accepted affidavit without filing reply
  • 07.05.2026: Review application heard and decided

Relief Sought

The appellant sought:

  • Recall of the order dated 22.08.2024 dismissing the appeal
  • Restoration of NC/FA/283/2014 for fresh hearing on merits
  • Adjudication of the disability benefit claim under the policy terms

The central question was whether the payment of policy maturity amounts during the pendency of a consumer appeal can justify dismissal of the appeal on merits, when the appeal challenges the repudiation of a distinct and independent claim for disability benefits.

Arguments Presented

For the Appellant

The appellant’s counsel argued that:

  • The appeal was dismissed without addressing the substantive issue of disability benefit repudiation
  • The payment of maturity amounts is a separate contractual obligation unrelated to the disability claim
  • The dismissal order failed to distinguish between maturity benefits and disability benefits, both governed by different policy clauses
  • The absence of counsel was due to genuine technical connectivity issues, not negligence
  • The review application was filed within a reasonable time after learning of the order, and the delay was adequately explained
  • The digitally signed affidavit from the USA, notarized in India, was sufficient under the summary nature of consumer proceedings

For the Respondent

LIC contended that:

  • The appeal was rightly dismissed because no reply was filed to IA/3031/2022, which disclosed full discharge of liability
  • The maturity payments extinguished any pending financial liability under the policies
  • The review application was belated, filed over five months after the order
  • The affidavit was defective as it was not sworn before an Indian diplomatic officer in the USA
  • The appellant’s disability claim was already rejected by lower forums on grounds of suppression and non-compliance with policy terms

The Court's Analysis

The Commission undertook a detailed examination of the nature of the two claims - maturity payment and disability benefit - and found them legally distinct. The order dated 22.08.2024 conflated the two, treating the payment of maturity amounts as a conclusive bar to the disability claim.

"The mere payment of the maturity amount of the policies during the pendency of the appeal does not in any way dilute or eclipse or efface the challenge raised to the impugned order of the State Commission, which was with regard to a substantive claim of disability benefit."

The Court emphasized that maturity payments arise from the policy’s endowment or savings component, while disability benefits are triggered by a specific event (accident-induced disability) under separate policy conditions. The two are not mutually exclusive; one does not negate the other.

The Commission further held that the dismissal of the appeal on the ground of non-filing of a reply to IA/3031/2022, coupled with the observation that maturity amounts were paid, amounted to an error apparent on the face of the record. The order did not engage with the merits of the disability claim, nor did it consider the findings of the State Commission or the evidence on record.

The Court relied on Section 22(2) of the Consumer Protection Act, 1986 and Section 60 of the Consumer Protection Act, 2019, both of which empower the Commission to review its own orders where an error is apparent on the face of the record. The Commission noted that the error was not merely procedural but substantive - failure to adjudicate the core issue.

Regarding the affidavit, the Commission adopted a liberal approach, recognizing the appellant’s physical disability and foreign residence. It held that the digitally signed affidavit, verified by a notary in Chandigarh and accepted by the respondent’s counsel, was sufficient in the context of a summary jurisdiction. The technical objection regarding diplomatic notarization was rejected as disproportionate to the facts.

The Court also condoned the delay in filing the review application, citing the Supreme Court’s jurisprudence in State of Uttar Pradesh v. Satish Chand Shivhare (2022), Sheo Raj Singh v. Union of India (2023), and Mool Chandra v. Union of India (2024), which mandate a liberal interpretation of "sufficient cause" when substantive rights are at stake.

"When consideration of an appeal on merits is pitted against the rejection of a meritorious claim on the technical ground of the bar of limitation, the Courts lean towards consideration on merits by adopting a liberal approach towards 'sufficient cause' to condone the delay."

The Verdict

The review application succeeded. The NCDRC set aside its order dated 22.08.2024, restored the appeal NC/FA/283/2014, and directed that the appeal be listed for fresh hearing on merits on 29.07.2026. The Commission held that the disability benefit claim must be adjudicated on its own merits, independent of the maturity payments already made. No monetary relief was granted at this stage, as the matter was remanded for full hearing.

What This Means For Similar Cases

Payment of Maturity Does Not Bar Disability Claims

  • Practitioners must argue that maturity payments and disability benefits are governed by separate policy clauses and legal obligations
  • Insurers cannot use maturity settlements as a procedural shield to avoid adjudication of substantive claims
  • Consumer forums must distinguish between discharge of one obligation and extinguishment of another

Review Jurisdiction Is a Safeguard Against Procedural Injustice

  • Orders dismissing appeals on technical grounds without addressing merits are reviewable under Section 60 of the Consumer Protection Act, 2019
  • Delay in filing review applications will be condoned if the underlying claim has prima facie merit and the explanation for delay is plausible
  • Courts must avoid letting technicalities override substantive justice in consumer disputes

Affidavits from Abroad Are Acceptable in Summary Proceedings

  • Digital affidavits notarized in India by foreign residents are admissible in consumer forums, especially where the complainant is disabled or overseas

  • Strict compliance with diplomatic notarization is not mandatory in summary jurisdictions

  • The focus must be on authenticity and bonafides, not procedural formalities

  • Always verify whether the claim being challenged is distinct from any settlement or payment made during litigation

  • File review applications promptly upon learning of dismissal, with detailed explanations for delay

  • Submit affidavits from abroad with digital signatures and local notarization to ensure admissibility

Case Details

Dr. Thomas V. Thomas v. Life Insurance Corporation of India & 2 Anr.

Judgment
Court
National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission
Date
11 May 2026
Case Number
NC/RA/13/2025 in NC/FA/283/2014 with NC/IA/9767/2025, NC/IA/11239/2025, NC/IA/3221/2026
Bench
A. P. Sahi, Bharatkumar Pandya
Counsel
Pet: Ms. Mary Gills, Mr. Lakshmanan T. J.
Res: Ms. Jaya Tomar

Frequently Asked Questions

No. The NCDRC held that maturity payments and disability benefits are governed by separate policy provisions. Payment of maturity amounts does not extinguish a pending claim for disability benefits, which must be adjudicated independently on its merits.
An error apparent on the face of the record occurs when a tribunal fails to address the core issue in dispute and disposes of the matter on an unrelated ground. Here, dismissing a disability claim on the basis of maturity payment, without examining the evidence or policy terms on disability, qualifies as such an error.
Yes. The NCDRC held that in summary jurisdictions like consumer forums, and especially where the complainant is disabled and overseas, digitally signed affidavits verified by a local notary in India are sufficient. Strict diplomatic notarization is not mandatory.
0

Disclaimer

This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. The views expressed are based on the judgment analysis and should not be taken as professional counsel. Please consult with a qualified attorney for advice specific to your situation.