Case Law Analysis

Section 45 Insurance Act | Insurer Barred from Repudiating Life Claim After Three Years from Policy Issuance, Even for Material Suppression : NCDRC

The NCDRC has ruled that under Section 45 of the Insurance Act, an insurer cannot deny a life insurance claim after three years from the date of policy issuance, regardless of alleged misrepresentation or suppression of material facts. This reinforces the statutory protection for policyholders and ensures finality in claims, benefiting millions of Indian life insurance beneficiaries.

Cassie News NetworkCassie News Network
Jul 2, 2026, 5:15 PM(Updated: Nov 3, 2026)
•7 min read
Be the first to share in your circle
Section 45 Insurance Act | Insurer Barred from Repudiating Life Claim After Three Years from Policy Issuance, Even for Material Suppression : NCDRC

The National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission has reaffirmed that insurers cannot repudiate life insurance claims after the statutory three-year period under Section 45 of the Insurance Act, 1938, even where allegations of material suppression exist. This judgment reinforces the statutory shield afforded to policyholders and clarifies the insurer’s heavy burden of proof in such cases.

Background & Facts

The Dispute

The dispute arose from the repudiation of a life insurance claim by HDFC Standard Life Insurance Co. Ltd. (the Appellant/Insurer) following the death of Mr. Sourabh Jain, the policyholder, on 22.11.2016. His wife, Ms. Neha Jain, the nominee and complainant, sought payment of the sum assured of ₹75,00,000 under Policy No. 16414002. The insurer denied the claim on grounds of alleged non-disclosure of prior alcoholism and a rejected insurance proposal, invoking Section 45 of the Insurance Act, 1938.

Key Facts

  • The proposal form was submitted by Mr. Sourabh Jain on 17.10.2013.
  • The initial premium of ₹15,612 was paid on the same date.
  • The policy was issued on 18.11.2013, with a sum assured of ₹75,00,000.
  • Ms. Neha Jain was nominated as the beneficiary under the policy.
  • The policyholder underwent a medical examination by the insurer’s authorised diagnostic centre prior to issuance.
  • The DLA expired on 22.11.2016 at the Institute of Liver & Biliary Sciences, Delhi, due to cardiac arrest.
  • A Death Certificate was issued by the South Delhi Municipal Corporation.
  • The claim was filed by the nominee on 24.02.2017.
  • The insurer repudiated the claim via letter dated 28.07.2017, alleging suppression of material facts.
  • Hospital records from October-November 2016 revealed diagnosis of progressive liver failure, but no medical records from 2013 were produced to establish the DLA’s condition at the time of proposal.
  • The insurer did not produce evidence that the DLA was aware of liver disease or alcoholism on 17.10.2013, or that he deliberately concealed it.

Procedural History

  • 17.10.2013: Proposal form submitted by DLA.
  • 18.11.2013: Policy issued by HDFC Standard Life.
  • 22.11.2016: Death of policyholder.
  • 24.02.2017: Death claim filed by nominee.
  • 28.07.2017: Claim repudiated by insurer.
  • 2018: Complaint filed before Uttar Pradesh State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission (CC No. 22/2018).
  • 09.02.2021: State Commission partly allowed complaint, directing payment of ₹75 lakh with 10% interest, ₹1 lakh compensation for mental agony, and ₹20,000 litigation costs.
  • 242 of 2021: First Appeal filed by insurer before NCDRC on 09.03.2021.
  • 25.07.2024, 01.07.2025, 16.01.2026, 09.06.2026: Respondent failed to appear; proceedings proceeded ex parte.
  • 09.06.2026: Judgment reserved.
  • 01.07.2026: Judgment pronounced.

Relief Sought

The Appellant sought setting aside of the State Commission’s order dated 09.02.2021 and dismissal of the complaint. The Respondent sought enforcement of the award of ₹75,00,000, 10% simple interest from the date of complaint, ₹1,00,000 compensation for mental agony, ₹20,000 litigation costs, and 15% interest after 30 days of non-payment.

The central question was whether an insurer can repudiate a life insurance claim after the three-year statutory period under Section 45 of the Insurance Act, 1938, even if material suppression or fraud is alleged, and whether the burden of proving fraudulent intent lies with the insurer.

Arguments Presented

For the Appellant

The insurer contended that the DLA had deliberately concealed his history of chronic alcoholism and prior hospitalization for liver disease, as evidenced by medical records from October-November 2016. It argued that the DLA’s negative responses to medical questions in the proposal form constituted fraudulent misrepresentation under Section 45(2) and Explanation I, rendering the policy voidable. It relied on Reliance Life Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Rekhaben Nareshbhai Rathod (2019) and other precedents to assert that suppression of material facts justifies repudiation. It further argued that the State Commission erred in relying solely on the cause of death (cardiac arrest) without examining the underlying liver pathology.

For the Respondent

The Respondent did not appear after multiple notices and was proceeded ex parte. However, the State Commission’s order, which was upheld, held that the insurer failed to establish that the DLA was aware of his condition on the date of proposal (17.10.2013) or that he acted with fraudulent intent. The Commission emphasized that the insurer had already conducted a medical examination and issued the policy, thereby waiving the right to later challenge the disclosures.

The Court's Analysis

The NCDRC undertook a rigorous analysis of Section 45 of the Insurance Act, 1938, particularly sub-sections (2), (4), and their explanations. The Court held that the insurer’s right to repudiate a policy is strictly time-bound: no policy may be called in question after three years from the date of issuance, regardless of the nature of the alleged misrepresentation.

"Once the statutory period of three years expired, the insurer is precluded from calling the policy into question."

The Court emphasized that even if fraud is alleged, the insurer must prove not only the existence of a material fact but also that it was deliberately concealed with intent to deceive. The insurer failed to produce any medical records, diagnostic reports, or admissions from the DLA dated prior to or contemporaneous with the proposal on 17.10.2013. The hospital records from 2016, while indicating liver failure, could not retroactively establish the DLA’s knowledge or intent at the time of application.

The Court further held that the insurer’s own conduct - conducting a medical examination and issuing the policy - constituted an acceptance of the risk as disclosed. The burden under Section 45(4) and Explanation II lies squarely on the insurer to prove that had the alleged facts been disclosed, the policy would not have been issued. This burden was not discharged.

The Commission also relied on Texco Marketing Pvt. Ltd. v. Tata AIG General Insurance Co. Ltd. (2023) and United India Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Hyundai Engineering & Construction Co. Ltd. (2024), which reinforce that exclusion clauses are to be strictly construed against the insurer, and ambiguity must benefit the insured.

The Court rejected the insurer’s reliance on Reliance Life Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Rekhaben Nareshbhai Rathod (2019), noting that case involved repudiation within the three-year window, whereas here, the claim was made after the statutory period had lapsed.

The Verdict

The First Appeal was dismissed. The NCDRC affirmed the State Commission’s order dated 09.02.2021. The insurer is directed to pay ₹75,00,000 as the sum assured, with 10% simple interest per annum from the date of filing the complaint (2018), ₹1,00,000 as compensation for mental agony, and ₹20,000 as litigation costs. If payment is not made within 30 days of the judgment, interest shall increase to 15% per annum until actual payment. No costs were awarded. All pending applications stand disposed of.

What This Means For Similar Cases

The Three-Year Shield Is Absolute

  • Practitioners must argue that Section 45(1) operates as a statutory bar - no repudiation is permissible after three years, even for fraud.
  • Insurers cannot circumvent this by recharacterizing suppression as fraud; the time limit is absolute.
  • Claims filed after three years must be paid unless the insurer can prove the policy was void ab initio (e.g., forged documents), which is not a defence under Section 45.

Burden of Proof Remains on the Insurer

  • Insurers must produce contemporaneous evidence of material non-disclosure at the time of proposal.
  • Post-event medical records alone are insufficient to prove intent or knowledge at the time of application.
  • Medical examinations conducted by the insurer prior to issuance constitute an acceptance of risk and waive the right to later challenge disclosures.

Strategic Implications for Claimants

  • Nominees should insist on payment after three years, citing Section 45(1) as a conclusive bar.
  • Legal notices should cite this judgment to deter insurers from delaying or denying claims beyond the statutory period.
  • In litigation, focus on the insurer’s failure to discharge the burden under Section 45(4) and Explanation II.

Case Details

HDFC Standard Life Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Neha Jain

Judgment
Court
National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission
Date
01 July 2026
Case Number
First Appeal No. 242 of 2021
Bench
AVM Jonnalagadda Rajendra, AVSM, VSM (Retd), Mr. Justice Anoop Kumar Mendiratta
Counsel
Pet: Mr. Praveen Mahajan, Mr. Utkarsh
Res:

Frequently Asked Questions

No. Under Section 45(1) of the Insurance Act, 1938, no life insurance policy may be called in question on any ground whatsoever after the expiry of three years from the date of issuance, regardless of whether the misrepresentation is alleged to be fraudulent or material.
The insurer must prove that the suppressed or misstated fact was material, had a direct bearing on the risk, and that had it been disclosed, the policy would not have been issued. Mere suspicion or post-event medical records are insufficient.
Yes. If the insurer conducts a medical examination and issues the policy based on the results, it is deemed to have accepted the risk as disclosed. Subsequent repudiation based on the same facts is legally unsustainable.
0

Disclaimer

This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. The views expressed are based on the judgment analysis and should not be taken as professional counsel. Please consult with a qualified attorney for advice specific to your situation.