Case Law Analysis

Clause IX Fire Insurance Policy | Bursting of Molasses Tank Due to Operational Pressure Covered as 'Peril' : NCDRC

The NCDRC has ruled that the sudden bursting of a molasses storage tank caused by internal operational pressure qualifies as a covered peril under Clause IX of a fire insurance policy, entitling the insured to indemnity even when the insurer claims wear and tear. This sets a critical precedent for industrial policyholders facing non-fire-related tank failures, clarifying that 'perils' extend beyond flames to sudden, unintended structural failures from operational stress.

Cassie News NetworkCassie News Network
May 31, 2026, 12:29 PM(Updated: Nov 3, 2026)
•7 min read
Be the first to share in your circle
Clause IX Fire Insurance Policy | Bursting of Molasses Tank Due to Operational Pressure Covered as 'Peril' : NCDRC

The National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission has clarified that the bursting of a molasses storage tank due to internal pressure generated during normal operations constitutes an insured peril under Clause IX of a standard fire and special perils policy, even when the insurer claims the loss stems from wear and tear. This ruling reinforces the principle that insurance contracts must be interpreted in light of their intended purpose and the nature of the insured property.

Background & Facts

The Dispute

The Bhogpur Co-operative Sugar Mills Ltd. (complainant) held a fire and special perils insurance policy with United India Insurance Company Ltd. (appellant) for the period 31.01.2015 to 30.01.2016, covering stock of molasses stored in steel tanks up to an assured amount of Rs. 220 lakhs. On 08.04.2015, one of the molasses storage tanks burst vertically along its welded joints approximately two meters from the bottom, causing a massive spill and extensive financial loss. The complainant immediately intimated the insurer on 09.04.2015. The insurer appointed Shri V.K. Mehta, Insurance Surveyor and Loss Assessor, who submitted a report dated 17.08.2015 attributing the failure to "normal wear and tear" of the welding joints. The insurer repudiated the claim on 12.07.2016 on this basis.

Key Facts

  • The insurance policy (No. 111041114P109310325) covered "stock of molasses stored in steel tanks" under a standard fire and special perils policy with clauses I to XII.
  • Prior to the incident, on 15.11.2014, the complainant engaged M/s K.D. Safety Consultants, Panchkula, to inspect the storage tanks. Their report described the condition of the tanks and fittings as "O.K."
  • A second inspection by the same consultants on 15.04.2015 (after the incident) noted no significant change in tank sheet thickness over the prior 4-5 months.
  • The FIR lodged on 10.04.2015 with the local police recorded that the tank burst "suddenly" due to failure of the welding sheet, causing molasses leakage.
  • The surveyor’s report acknowledged that fermentation within the molasses tank could have produced carbon dioxide, raising internal pressure and contributing to the burst.
  • The insurer’s repudiation letter cited "normal wear and tear" as the sole reason for denial, despite the absence of any prior maintenance complaints or evidence of neglect by the complainant.
  • The complainant issued a legal notice on 25.03.2016, following which the claim was formally rejected.

Procedural History

  • 08.04.2015: Tank burst, molasses spill occurred
  • 09.04.2015: Complainant intimated insurer of loss
  • 15.08.2015: Surveyor’s loss assessment report submitted
  • 12.07.2016: Insurer repudiated claim
  • 25.03.2016: Legal notice issued by complainant
  • 18.02.2017: Complaint filed before State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, Punjab (Complaint No. 180/2017)
  • 22.12.2017: State Commission allowed complaint, ordered payment of Rs. 36,12,225.95 + Rs. 1,00,000 for mental agony + Rs. 25,000 litigation costs
  • 05.02.2018: First Appeal No. 553/2018 filed before NCDRC by insurer
  • 29.05.2026: NCDRC delivered judgment

Relief Sought

The complainant sought: (1) payment of Rs. 36,12,225.95 as assessed by the surveyor, (2) Rs. 1,00,000 as compensation for mental agony and harassment, and (3) Rs. 25,000 as litigation expenses. The insurer sought to set aside the State Commission’s order, arguing the loss was excluded under the policy.

The central question was whether the bursting of a molasses storage tank due to internal pressure from fermentation, resulting in failure of welding joints, constitutes an insured peril under Clause IX of a fire and special perils policy, which covers "bursting and/or overflowing of water tanks, apparatus and pipes," or whether it falls under the excluded category of "normal wear and tear."

Arguments Presented

For the Appellant

The insurer contended that Clause IX of the policy explicitly refers to "water tanks" and therefore cannot be extended to molasses storage tanks. It argued that the failure of the welding joint was due to metal fatigue and normal wear and tear, which are expressly excluded under the policy terms. It relied on Sikka Paper Mills v. National Insurance Company Ltd. to assert that deterioration from normal use is not covered. The insurer further challenged the reliability of the complainant’s safety inspection report, noting it did not evaluate welding quality, and emphasized that the surveyor’s report, which concluded wear and tear, should prevail.

For the Respondent

The complainant argued that the policy’s risk coverage was explicitly on "stock of molasses stored in steel tanks," and the bursting of such tanks, regardless of contents, must be interpreted in context. It relied on the pre-loss inspection report showing the tanks were in "O.K." condition and the police FIR noting a sudden burst. It contended that internal pressure from fermentation is an inherent operational hazard of molasses storage, not negligence, and that Clause IX must be construed purposively to cover the very risk insured - tank failure leading to loss of stored product.

The Court's Analysis

The NCDRC began by affirming the settled principle that insurance contracts must be strictly construed according to their terms, as held in Oriental Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Soni Cheriyan and United India Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Harchand Rai Chandan Lal. However, the Court emphasized that strict construction does not mean literal or narrow interpretation when the context and purpose of the policy are clear.

"The endeavour of the court must always be to interpret the words in which the contract is expressed by the parties. The court while construing the terms of policy is not expected to venture into extra liberalism that may result in re-writing the contract or substituting the terms which were not intended by the parties."

The Court rejected the insurer’s argument that Clause IX applies only to water tanks. It noted that the policy’s subject matter was molasses stored in steel tanks, and excluding coverage for tank bursting would render the policy meaningless for its intended purpose. The Court held that the phrase "water tanks, apparatus and pipes" in Clause IX must be read in light of the policy’s overall objective - to cover loss arising from bursting of storage vessels - and not confined to literal water content.

The Court further held that the surveyor’s report, while relevant, is not binding. Citing Khatema Fibres Limited v. New India Assurance Company Limited, it affirmed that insurers may reject or modify surveyor recommendations, but not arbitrarily. The absence of prior maintenance issues, the pre-loss inspection report, and the police FIR collectively undermined the insurer’s claim of wear and tear.

The Court observed: "The bursting of tank at the welding joints on account of undue building of pressure which is a normal operational process and hazard during the storage of molasses cannot be ruled out."

It concluded that the loss was not due to negligence or deterioration, but an insured peril under Clause IX. However, the Court set aside the Rs. 1,00,000 award for mental agony, citing Sikka Paper Mills, which held that such compensation is not recoverable by corporate entities.

The Verdict

The appellant’s appeal was partially allowed. The NCDRC modified the State Commission’s order to direct payment of Rs. 36,12,225 by the insurer, with interest at 6% per annum from six months after the date of claim lodgment (i.e., from 08.10.2015) until realization. If payment is not made within six weeks of the judgment, interest shall increase to 8% per annum on the outstanding balance. The award of Rs. 1,00,000 for mental agony was set aside. Litigation costs of Rs. 25,000 were upheld. The insurer was directed to pay within six weeks.

What This Means For Similar Cases

Policy Language Must Reflect Intended Risk

  • Practitioners must argue that insurance policies covering "stock in storage tanks" must be interpreted to include tank failure as an insured peril, even if the policy uses generic terms like "water tanks."
  • Literal interpretations that exclude coverage for the very object insured (e.g., molasses in tanks) will be rejected if they defeat the policy’s commercial purpose.

Surveyor Reports Are Not Final

  • Insurers cannot rely solely on surveyor reports to deny claims without independent justification.
  • Where pre-loss inspections show no defects and operational hazards are inherent, surveyor conclusions of wear and tear may be rebutted.

Corporate Entities Cannot Claim Mental Agony Damages

  • Claims for mental agony or harassment under the Consumer Protection Act are barred for corporate complainants, as confirmed by Sikka Paper Mills.
  • Practitioners should avoid pleading such damages in commercial insurance disputes involving companies.

Burden of Proof on Insurer for Exclusions

  • When an insurer invokes an exclusion (e.g., wear and tear), it bears the burden of proving the loss arose from negligence or deterioration, not an insured peril.
  • Absent evidence of poor maintenance, internal pressure from normal operations qualifies as an insured risk.

Case Details

United India Insurance Company Ltd. v. The Bhogpur Co-Operative Sugar Mills Ltd.

Judgment
Court
National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission
Date
29 May 2026
Case Number
First Appeal No. 553 of 2018
Bench
AVM J. Rajendra, AVSM VSM (Retd.), Justice Anoop Kumar Mendiratta
Counsel
Pet: Mr. Abhishek Gola
Res: Ms. S. Janani

Frequently Asked Questions

Yes. The NCDRC held that Clause IX, which covers 'bursting and/or overflowing of water tanks, apparatus and pipes,' must be interpreted in context of the policy’s subject matter. When the policy insures stock stored in steel tanks, bursting of those tanks due to operational hazards qualifies as an insured peril, regardless of the substance contained.
No. The NCDRC held that surveyor reports are not sacrosanct. Insurers may reject or modify them, but only if the rejection is not arbitrary. Where pre-loss inspections show no defects and operational hazards are inherent, a surveyor’s conclusion of wear and tear may be rebutted by other evidence.
No. The NCDRC reaffirmed that compensation for mental agony and harassment under the Consumer Protection Act is not available to corporate complainants, as established in Sikka Paper Mills v. National Insurance Company Ltd.
0

Disclaimer

This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. The views expressed are based on the judgment analysis and should not be taken as professional counsel. Please consult with a qualified attorney for advice specific to your situation.