
The Bombay High Court has reaffirmed that altering the location of insured property without the insurer’s prior consent invalidates coverage under standard fire insurance policies, even when the insured party claims to have notified the bank as intermediary. This ruling underscores the non-negotiable nature of policy conditions governing risk location.
Background & Facts
The Dispute
The petitioner, Kent Car Lounge Private Limited, a business engaged in automobile goods, availed a cash credit facility of Rs. 40 lakhs and a term loan of Rs. 10 lakhs from Respondent No. 2, Allahabad Bank Limited, on 31.07.2009. The loan was secured by hypothecation of stock. As a condition of the loan, the Bank arranged a standard fire and special perils insurance policy from Respondent No. 1, Universal Sompo General Insurance Company Limited, with a sum assured of Rs. 50 lakhs. The policy, bearing number 2114/50184589/00/000, covered the period from 31.07.2009 to 30.07.2010. The policy documents were never delivered to the petitioner; the premium was paid from the petitioner’s bank account, and the policy was issued in the Bank’s name.
Key Facts
- The insured premises under the policy was clearly stated as: "Kent Car Lounge India Private Limited, c/o. Bansal Estate, Chandivali Naka, Saki Vihar Road, Andheri (E), Mumbai 72".
- The petitioner’s board resolved on 04.04.2010 to shift its workshop and stock inventory to a new location: "Kent Car Lounge India Private Limited, c/o. Autograph Cars India Private Limited, Mehra Compound, Opposite Saki Naka Telephone Exchange, Andheri-Kurla Road, Saki Naka, Andheri (E), Mumbai 72".
- The petitioner claims to have intimated the Bank of the change via letter dated 12.04.2010.
- The Bank, in turn, sent a letter dated 21.04.2010 to the Insurance Company informing of the change.
- On 23.07.2010, a fire occurred at the new premises (Mehra Compound), causing substantial loss.
- The petitioner received the hard copy of the insurance policy only after the fire incident, on 23.07.2010.
- The surveyor appointed by the Insurance Company, M/s. Cunningham Lindsey International Private Limited, assessed the loss at Rs. 10,05,882 on 16.02.2011.
- The Insurance Company neither accepted nor repudiated the claim within the stipulated period under IRDA regulations.
- The petitioner filed a consumer complaint (CC/206/2011) before the State Commission on 23.07.2011.
Procedural History
- 06.01.2015: State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, Mumbai, dismissed the complaint.
- 30.07.2024: National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, New Delhi, dismissed the first appeal (FA No. 137/2015), confirming the State Commission’s order.
- 07.04.2026: Writ Petition No. 1748 of 2025 filed before the Bombay High Court challenging the National Commission’s order.
The Parties' Positions
For the Petitioner
- Argued that the change of location was communicated to the Bank, which in turn informed the Insurance Company.
- Relied on Clause A(iii) of the Agreed Bank Clause, which states that communications to the Bank are deemed communicated to the insurer.
- Contended that the surveyor’s report confirmed the loss amount, entitling them to partial claim.
- Claimed ignorance of the policy terms, asserting they did not sign the proposal and received the policy only after the fire.
For the Respondents
- Contended that Clause 13 of the General Exclusions explicitly excludes coverage for property moved to any location other than the insured premises.
- Denied receipt of the Bank’s letter dated 21.04.2010; no proof of delivery or acknowledgment was produced.
- Asserted that the petitioner was not a party to the insurance contract and had no standing to claim.
- Highlighted that the premium was paid from the petitioner’s account, indicating awareness of the policy.
- Cited Clause 5 of the sanction letter, which obligated the petitioner to insure the hypothecated stock at its own risk.
Relief Sought
The petitioner sought: (1) quashing of the National Commission’s order dated 30.07.2024; (2) direction to the Insurance Company to pay Rs. 10,05,882 as claim amount; (3) interest at 12% per annum from the date of loss; and (4) costs.
The Legal Issue
The central question was whether Clause 13 of the insurance policy, which excludes coverage for property moved to a location other than the insured premises, is enforceable when the insured claims to have notified the bank, which in turn allegedly notified the insurer, but no proof of actual communication to the insurer exists.
Arguments Presented
For the Petitioner
The petitioner relied on the Agreed Bank Clause (Clause A(iii)), arguing that any notice given to the Bank is deemed given to the insurer. It contended that the letter dated 21.04.2010 from the Bank constituted sufficient intimation under the policy. It further argued that the surveyor’s assessment of loss validated the claim’s merit and that the insurer’s delay in replying triggered liability under IRDA regulations. The petitioner also claimed lack of awareness of policy terms, asserting non-signature of the proposal.
For the Respondent
The Insurance Company countered that Clause 13 is unambiguous and mandatory. It emphasized that Clause A(iii) applies only to notices required under the policy, not to material changes in risk location requiring prior consent. It argued that the Bank’s letter lacked proof of delivery and was never acknowledged. The insurer further contended that the petitioner, having paid the premium from its account, was deemed to have knowledge of the policy. The Bank’s role was as a secured creditor, not as an agent for the insured.
The Court's Analysis
The Court conducted a meticulous textual analysis of the insurance policy, particularly Clause 13 of the General Exclusions and Clause A(iii) of the Agreed Bank Clause. It held that Clause 13 operates as a strict condition precedent: coverage is void if the insured property is relocated without prior consent, regardless of intent or notice.
"Loss or damage to property insured if removed to any building or place other than in which it is herein stated to be insured, except machinery and equipment temporarily removed for repairs, cleaning, renovation or other similar purposes for a period not exceeding 60 days."
The Court observed that the petitioner’s relocation was permanent and not temporary, and thus fell squarely within the exclusion. The Court rejected the petitioner’s reliance on Clause A(iii), noting that it pertains to procedural notices (e.g., renewal, claim intimation), not substantive alterations to risk exposure. The clause does not convert the Bank into an agent for modifying policy terms.
The Court further held that the absence of any acknowledgment or proof of delivery of the Bank’s letter dated 21.04.2010 rendered the petitioner’s claim of compliance legally insufficient. Mere internal communication between the petitioner and the Bank does not satisfy the policy’s requirement for insurer consent.
The Court also dismissed the petitioner’s claim of ignorance, noting that the premium was paid from its bank account, and the policy was delivered via courier on 14.08.2009. The sanction letter’s Clause 5 explicitly obligated the petitioner to maintain insurance, indicating awareness of the arrangement.
The Court emphasized that concurrent findings by two consumer commissions, based on documentary evidence, cannot be disturbed in writ jurisdiction absent perversity or illegality - none of which were demonstrated.
The Verdict
The writ petition was dismissed. The Court upheld the orders of the State and National Consumer Commissions, holding that the petitioner’s relocation of insured property without prior consent from the insurer voided coverage under Clause 13 of the policy. No claim for Rs. 10,05,882 or any interest is payable. The petitioner’s arguments regarding notice to the Bank and lack of policy awareness were rejected. No costs were awarded.
What This Means For Similar Cases
Policy Conditions Are Strictly Enforceable
- Practitioners must advise clients that relocation of insured assets without written insurer consent automatically voids coverage, even if the bank is involved.
- Oral or informal intimation to intermediaries (e.g., banks) is insufficient; written acknowledgment from the insurer is mandatory.
Agreed Bank Clauses Do Not Override Exclusionary Terms
- Agreed Bank Clauses facilitate communication but do not empower banks to amend policy terms or waive exclusions.
- Insurers are not bound by bank-to-insurer communications unless the policy explicitly permits such delegation.
Burden of Proof Lies with the Insured
- Claimants must produce documentary proof of consent or notice - mere assertions or unacknowledged letters will not suffice.
- Payment of premium from the insured’s account creates a rebuttable presumption of knowledge of policy terms.
When to Challenge in Writ Jurisdiction
- Writ petitions against consumer commissions are not a substitute for appeals.
- Interference is warranted only if findings are perverse, illegal, or based on no evidence - none of which were present here.






