Case Law Analysis

Section 34 Arbitration Act | Unilateral Policy Amendments Cannot Defeat Insured's Reasonable Expectations: Bombay HC Upholds Arbitral Award

Bombay HC reinforces that insurance coverage must align with the issued policy and the insured's reasonable expectations, invalidating post-contract unilateral amendments by insurers. The ruling affirms arbitral awards where insurers attempt to alter terms retroactively to deny claims, setting a precedent for contract interpretation in commercial disputes.

Cassie News NetworkCassie News Network
May 8, 2026, 2:56 PM(Updated: Nov 3, 2026)
•7 min read
Be the first to share in your circle
Section 34 Arbitration Act | Unilateral Policy Amendments Cannot Defeat Insured's Reasonable Expectations: Bombay HC Upholds Arbitral Award

The Bombay High Court has reaffirmed that arbitral awards cannot be set aside under Section 34 of the Arbitration and Conciliation Act merely because a court might interpret policy terms differently. In this case, the Court upheld an arbitral award granting coverage for stock stored in open areas, emphasizing that unilateral alterations to policy documents, not consented to by the insured, cannot override the clear terms of the issued policy and the reasonable expectations of the insured.

Background & Facts

The Dispute

The respondent, Coromandel International Ltd., a manufacturer of specialty chemicals and crop protection products, procured a fire insurance policy from the petitioner, National Insurance Company Limited, to cover its stock stored at Plot No. 4503, Sarigam, Gujarat. The policy was initially issued for a sum insured of Rs. 1 crore, covering goods stored in a godown. Subsequently, the sum insured was enhanced to Rs. 2 crores upon payment of additional premium, with no change in policy terms communicated to the respondent.

Key Facts

  • The fire incident occurred on 04.02.2012, destroying stock stored both inside the godown and in the open area of the plot.
  • The respondent reported the loss immediately and submitted all required documentation.
  • The petitioner appointed SIB & Associates as surveyors, who issued a Preliminary Report on 15.02.2012 and a Final Survey Report on 22.11.2012.
  • The surveyor initially assessed the total loss at Rs. 2,80,42,619/-, covering both covered and open-area stock.
  • The petitioner later attempted to restrict coverage to stock inside the godown only, by unilaterally inserting handwritten words into Endorsement No. 198 of the policy document.
  • The respondent was not informed of or consulted on these alterations.
  • The respondent’s initial claim was Rs. 3.38 crores, but it later restricted its claim to the surveyor’s assessed amount of Rs. 2,80,42,619/-.
  • The petitioner admitted liability for the loss inside the godown and issued an interim award of Rs. 60,14,802/- on 11.12.2014.

Procedural History

  • 04.02.2012: Fire incident at insured premises.
  • 15.02.2012: Preliminary survey report issued.
  • 22.11.2012: Final survey report issued, assessing total loss at Rs. 2,80,42,619/-.
  • 07.07.2014: Arbitral proceedings commenced.
  • 11.12.2014: Interim award issued for Rs. 60,14,802/- (admitted loss inside godown).
  • 28.03.2019: Final arbitral award issued, granting Rs. 1,54,65,031/- as 75% of the remaining loss (Rs. 2,06,18,709/-) for open-area stock, plus interest.
  • 28.03.2023: Petition under Section 34 filed before Bombay High Court seeking to set aside the award.
  • 07.05.2026: Judgment pronounced.

The Parties' Positions

Petitioner (Insurer): Argued that the policy covered only stock inside the godown, and that the handwritten additions in Endorsement No. 198 limiting coverage were valid. Contended that the award exceeded contractual limits and constituted patent illegality.

Respondent (Insured): Maintained that the policy document, as issued, covered the entire plot described therein, including open areas. Argued that unilateral alterations were invalid, and that the surveyor’s assessment was accepted by the insurer, making the award valid.

Relief Sought

The petitioner sought to set aside the arbitral award dated 28.03.2019 in its entirety, or at least the portion granting Rs. 1,54,65,031/- for open-area stock. The respondent sought dismissal of the petition and enforcement of the award.

The central question was whether an arbitral award granting insurance coverage for stock stored in open areas, based on the unaltered policy document and the reasonable expectations of the insured, can be set aside under Section 34 of the Arbitration and Conciliation Act merely because the insurer later unilaterally added restrictive terms to the policy without consent.

Arguments Presented

For the Appellant/Petitioner

Counsel for the petitioner relied on Polymat India (P) Ltd. v. National Insurance Co. Ltd. and Bajaj Allianz General Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Mukul Aggarwal to argue that insurance contracts must be construed strictly, and that coverage cannot extend beyond the express terms. They contended that Endorsement No. 198, even if handwritten, formed part of the policy and restricted coverage to the godown only. The award, they argued, was patently illegal as it granted compensation for risks not covered under the contract.

For the Respondent/State

Counsel for the respondent argued that the policy document, as issued and accepted, described the insured premises as the entire plot, without restriction. The handwritten additions in Endorsement No. 198 were not communicated to or consented to by the insured, and therefore were void. They relied on Associate Builders v. Delhi Development Authority and Canara Bank v. United India Insurance Co. Ltd. to assert that ambiguous terms must be construed in favor of the insured, and that the arbitrator’s factual findings, based on evidence and reasonable interpretation, are final under Section 34.

The Court's Analysis

The Court emphasized that Section 34 petitions are not appeals and cannot be used to reappreciate evidence or substitute judicial opinion for that of the arbitrator. The arbitrator had meticulously examined the policy document, the correspondence between the parties, and the conduct of the insurer. The policy described the insured premises as the entire plot, and the insurer had accepted the premium based on this description. The handwritten additions in Endorsement No. 198 were found to be unilateral, undisclosed, and unconsented to.

"The learned Arbitrator has accepted the policy document at Exhibit D to the written statement of the insurance company as the legally valid document."

The Court noted that the insurer had not disputed the surveyor’s assessment of loss, and had even made an interim payment, indicating acceptance of the quantum of loss. The arbitrator’s decision to award 75% of the open-area loss was a reasonable compromise, grounded in the evidence and the insurer’s conduct. The Court held that the arbitrator’s view was plausible and not perverse.

The Court distinguished Polymat India, where the policy explicitly limited coverage to covered structures, whereas here, the policy described the entire plot. The Court also rejected the petitioner’s reliance on Bajaj Allianz, noting that while insurance contracts are interpreted strictly, they must also reflect the reasonable expectations of the insured, particularly where ambiguity exists.

"The mandate under Section 34 is to respect the finality of the arbitral award and the party autonomy to get their dispute adjudicated by an alternative forum as provided under the law."

The Court concluded that no patent illegality, perversity, or violation of public policy was established. The arbitrator’s interpretation of the policy, based on the document as issued and the conduct of the parties, was legally sound and within the bounds of permissible discretion.

The Verdict

The petition was dismissed. The arbitral award dated 28.03.2019 stands confirmed. The respondent is entitled to receive Rs. 1,54,65,031/- as awarded, with simple interest at 7.5% per annum from 07.07.2014 until payment, and further interest at 9.5% per annum from the date of the award if unpaid within 60 days. The Court imposed no costs.

What This Means For Similar Cases

  • Practitioners must challenge any post-issuance alterations to insurance policies that were not communicated to or accepted by the insured.
  • Courts and arbitrators will disregard handwritten or unendorsed modifications that contradict the issued policy document.
  • The burden lies on the insurer to prove that any restrictive clause was brought to the insured’s attention and consented to.

Reasonable Expectation of the Insured Governs Coverage Interpretation

  • Insurance policies must be interpreted to reflect the reasonable expectations of the insured, especially where the policy description is broad (e.g., "entire plot").
  • Ambiguities in coverage terms will be resolved in favor of the insured, per Canara Bank v. United India Insurance Co. Ltd.
  • Insurers cannot rely on internal notes or emails to override the terms of the issued policy.

Section 34 Is Not a Platform for Reappreciation of Evidence

  • Courts must not interfere with arbitral awards merely because a different interpretation of policy terms is possible.
  • An award based on a plausible view of the evidence, even if debatable, cannot be set aside under Section 34.
  • The arbitrator is the final arbiter of facts and documentary interpretation unless the award is perverse or based on no evidence.

Case Details

National Insurance Company Limited v. Coromandel International Ltd.

PDF
Court
High Court of Judicature at Bombay
Date
07 May 2026
Case Number
Commercial Arbitration Petition No. 201 of 2023
Bench
Gauri Godse
Counsel
Pet: Rushabh Vidyarthi, Mohit Turathia, Asim Vidyarthi
Res: Rohaan Cama, Rahul Jain, Khushboo Rupani, Sharan Shetty

Frequently Asked Questions

No. The Court held that any alteration to the policy document, including handwritten additions, that is not communicated to or consented to by the insured is void and cannot override the terms of the issued policy.
Ambiguous terms must be interpreted in favor of the insured, in line with the principle of contra proferentem, and in accordance with the reasonable expectations of the insured, as established in Canara Bank v. United India Insurance Co. Ltd.
No. Section 34 petitions are not appeals. Courts cannot interfere with an arbitral award merely because a different view of the evidence is possible, unless the award is perverse, based on no evidence, or patently illegal.
0

Disclaimer

This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. The views expressed are based on the judgment analysis and should not be taken as professional counsel. Please consult with a qualified attorney for advice specific to your situation.