Case Law Analysis

Accord and Satisfaction | Protested Acceptance of Reduced Insurance Payout Does Not Bar Full Claim Under Section 34 Arbitration Act : Bombay HC

The Bombay High Court ruled that signing a discharge voucher under duress to accept a reduced insurance payout does not constitute valid accord and satisfaction. This clarifies that insured parties retain the right to pursue the full claim through arbitration when acceptance is coerced, reinforcing procedural fairness in insurance disputes and protecting policyholders from coercive settlement tactics.

Cassie News NetworkCassie News Network
Mar 21, 2026, 3:41 AM(Updated: Nov 3, 2026)
•6 min read
Be the first to share in your circle
Accord and Satisfaction | Protested Acceptance of Reduced Insurance Payout Does Not Bar Full Claim Under Section 34 Arbitration Act : Bombay HC

The Bombay High Court has reaffirmed that an insured party’s acceptance of a reduced insurance settlement under protest does not extinguish its right to pursue the full claim through arbitration. This judgment clarifies a critical boundary between commercial compromise and legal entitlement under insurance contracts, offering vital guidance to insurers, policyholders, and arbitrators alike.

Background & Facts

The Dispute

The respondent, Add On Retail Pvt. Ltd., held an insurance policy with the petitioner, Oriental Insurance Company Ltd., covering stock of textiles, garments, and accessories stored at its premises in Malad, Mumbai. On 23rd February 2017, a fire completely destroyed the insured stock. The respondent immediately intimated the loss to the insurer, estimating the damage at approximately Rs. 15 crores.

Key Facts

  • The respondent submitted all required documents, including inventory records, on 10th March 2017.
  • The insurer appointed a surveyor who submitted a final assessment report on 11th November 2017, valuing the loss at Rs. 11,74,57,294.26.
  • Despite this assessment, the insurer delayed payment and, without disclosing valid reasons, appointed a second surveyor.
  • On 16th October 2018, the second surveyor submitted a revised assessment reducing the claim to Rs. 6,15,28,050/-.
  • The respondent, facing severe financial distress due to SARFAESI proceedings initiated by its bank, sent an email on 16th October 2018 requesting release of the reduced amount "with folded hands."
  • On 2nd November 2018, the respondent signed a discharge voucher accepting Rs. 6,15,28,050/- but explicitly marked it "under protest."
  • The respondent initiated arbitration proceedings on 15th December 2018, challenging the reduced assessment.

Procedural History

  • 23.02.2017: Fire occurred at insured premises.
  • 24.02.2017: Loss intimated to insurer.
  • 10.03.2017: Respondent submitted all documents to insurer.
  • 11.11.2017: First surveyor’s final assessment issued (Rs. 11,74,57,294.26).
  • 16.10.2018: Revised assessment issued by second surveyor (Rs. 6,15,28,050/-).
  • 16.10.2018: Respondent emailed insurer requesting release of reduced amount.
  • 02.11.2018: Discharge voucher signed under protest.
  • 15.12.2018: Arbitration initiated by respondent.
  • 02.08.2023: Arbitral award issued granting Rs. 3,04,87,713/- for fabrics and 25% of Rs. 1,49,29,335/- for accessories, plus interest.
  • 30.11.2023: Petition under Section 34 filed before Bombay High Court.
  • 18.03.2026: Judgment pronounced.

Relief Sought

The petitioner sought to set aside the arbitral award dated 2nd August 2023, arguing that the respondent’s acceptance of the reduced amount constituted accord and satisfaction. The respondent sought confirmation of the award, including:

  • Rs. 3,04,87,713/- for loss of fabrics
  • 25% of Rs. 1,49,29,335/- (i.e., Rs. 37,32,333.75) for loss of accessories
  • Interest at 8% p.a. from 27th December 2018 until the date of award
  • Interest at 12% p.a. thereafter until realization
  • Litigation costs

The central question was whether the respondent’s acceptance of a reduced insurance payment under protest, coupled with a prior email requesting release of funds under duress, constitutes accord and satisfaction sufficient to bar further claim under Section 34 of the Arbitration and Conciliation Act, 1996.

Arguments Presented

For the Petitioner

The petitioner contended that the respondent’s email dated 16th October 2018 constituted consent to the revised assessment, and the subsequent signing of the discharge voucher amounted to full and final settlement. Relying on Sri Venkateswara Syndicate v. Oriental Insurance Co. Ltd. (2009) 8 SCC 507, it argued that insurers are entitled to obtain a second surveyor’s opinion and that repeated objections after acceptance cannot be entertained. It further asserted that the respondent’s financial distress rendered its acceptance voluntary and binding, invoking the doctrine of accord and satisfaction.

For the Respondent

The respondent countered that the discharge voucher was explicitly signed under protest, and the email requesting payment was made under compulsion due to SARFAESI proceedings. It relied on IRDA circulars dated 24th September 2015 and 7th June 2016, which prohibit treating vouchers signed under duress as accord and satisfaction. It cited National Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Boghra Polyfab Pvt. Ltd. (2009) 1 SCC 267 and R.L. Kalathia & Co. v. State of Gujarat (2011) 2 SCC 400 to establish that protest notation negates finality. It further argued that the second surveyor’s report was arbitrary, ignored documented stock values, and was commissioned without valid justification, rendering the revised assessment unreliable.

The Court's Analysis

The Court undertook a meticulous review of the arbitral tribunal’s reasoning and the documentary record. It emphasized that the doctrine of accord and satisfaction requires a clear, unambiguous, and voluntary agreement to substitute the original obligation with a new one. The Court found no such agreement here.

"The discharge voucher, clearly recording acceptance of payment under protest, is not treated as the acceptance of payment by way of full and final settlement."

The Court noted that the respondent had raised objections to the initial assessment as early as May 2017 and continued to contest the revised assessment through emails and correspondence. The consent letter dated 16th October 2018 was contextualized as a plea for urgent relief under financial duress, not a waiver of rights. The Court held that the insurer’s delay in payment - over eleven months after the first assessment - and its unilateral appointment of a second surveyor without cogent reasons violated the principles laid down in Sri Venkateswara Syndicate.

The Court further relied on National Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Boghra Polyfab Pvt. Ltd., which clarified that discharge vouchers executed under coercion or compulsion cannot extinguish a claimant’s right to seek higher compensation. The arbitral tribunal’s finding that the second surveyor had undervalued the fabric stock by over Rs. 3.4 crores was supported by cross-examination records and internal admissions by the insurer’s surveyor.

The Court reiterated the narrow scope of judicial review under Section 34 of the Arbitration Act, citing Ssangyong Engineering v. NHAI (2019) 15 SCC 131 and ECGC Ltd. v. Baco Metallic Industries (2025 SCC Online Bom 3959). It held that the tribunal’s conclusion was a possible view of the evidence, not perverse or illegal. Reappreciating the surveyor’s valuation or substituting the tribunal’s factual findings would amount to impermissible appellate intervention.

The Verdict

The petition was dismissed. The arbitral award dated 2nd August 2023 was upheld. The respondent is entitled to:

  • Rs. 3,04,87,713/- for loss of fabrics
  • Rs. 37,32,333.75 for loss of accessories (25% of Rs. 1,49,29,335/-)
  • Interest at 8% per annum on the total awarded amount from 27th December 2018 until the date of the award
  • Interest at 12% per annum on the total awarded amount from the date of the award until realization
  • Litigation costs

The Court directed compliance within 30 days of the judgment.

What This Means For Similar Cases

Protested Acceptance Does Not Constitute Final Settlement

  • Practitioners must now treat any discharge voucher marked "under protest" or accompanied by contemporaneous objections as non-final, regardless of financial pressure on the claimant.
  • Insurers cannot rely on delayed payments or repeated surveyor appointments to force settlements that are later claimed to be binding.

Second Surveyor Appointments Require Justification

  • Insurers must document and communicate cogent reasons for appointing a second surveyor; arbitrary re-assessments will be viewed as bad faith.
  • Arbitrators may now independently assess surveyor reports and correct undervaluations if supported by evidence, even if the insurer’s report was technically "final."

IRDA Circulars Are Binding on Arbitral Tribunals

  • IRDA circulars dated 24.09.2015 and 07.06.2016, which prohibit treating coerced discharges as accord and satisfaction, are now recognized as authoritative guidance in insurance arbitration.

  • Policyholders may cite these circulars to rebut claims of finality in settlement negotiations.

  • Always document objections in writing at every stage of claim negotiation

  • Never sign a discharge voucher without explicitly noting "under protest" and attaching a contemporaneous objection

  • Insurers must avoid delays beyond 90 days after submission of documents without written justification

Case Details

Oriental Insurance Company Ltd. v. Add On Retail Pvt. Ltd.

PDF
Court
High Court of Judicature at Bombay
Date
18 March 2026
Case Number
Commercial Arbitration Petition (L) No. 30675 of 2023
Bench
Gauri Godse
Counsel
Pet: D. S. Joshi
Res: Harsh L. Behany, Saloni Manjrekar

Frequently Asked Questions

Yes, if the voucher is signed under protest and the claimant can demonstrate that acceptance was made under duress, coercion, or financial compulsion, as clarified by IRDA circulars and affirmed by the Supreme Court in National Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Boghra Polyfab Pvt. Ltd.
No. Under Section 64-UM of the Insurance Act and Sri Venkateswara Syndicate v. Oriental Insurance Co. Ltd., insurers must provide cogent reasons for appointing a second surveyor. Arbitrary or repeated surveys without justification do not override the first surveyor’s report if it was prepared in good faith.
Section 34 permits interference only on grounds of patent illegality, perversity, or contravention of law. Courts cannot reappreciate evidence or substitute their view for that of the arbitral tribunal if the award is based on a possible interpretation of the facts and contract.
0

Disclaimer

This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. The views expressed are based on the judgment analysis and should not be taken as professional counsel. Please consult with a qualified attorney for advice specific to your situation.