Case Law Analysis

Arbitration Clause | Partial Payment of Insurance Claim Admits Liability; Dispute Over Balance Is Quantum, Not Arbitrability : Bombay HC

The Bombay High Court has ruled that when an insurer pays part of an insurance claim, it constitutes an admission of liability for the entire claim, and any dispute over the unpaid balance relates only to quantum-not arbitrability. This clarifies that policyholders can compel arbitration for residual amounts even when insurers attempt to sever liability from payment, reinforcing the enforceability of arbitration clauses in commercial insurance disputes.

Cassie News NetworkCassie News Network
Apr 24, 2026, 5:30 AM(Updated: Nov 3, 2026)
•9 min read
Be the first to share in your circle
Arbitration Clause | Partial Payment of Insurance Claim Admits Liability; Dispute Over Balance Is Quantum, Not Arbitrability : Bombay HC

The Bombay High Court has clarified that when an insurer makes partial payment under a policy, it constitutes admission of liability, and any dispute over the unpaid balance is a dispute of quantum - not liability - thereby rendering it arbitrable under the policy’s arbitration clause. This ruling reinforces the principle that insurers cannot artificially bifurcate a single claim to evade arbitration.

Background & Facts

The Dispute

The dispute arose from a claim under an Industrial All Risk Policy issued by United India Insurance Company Limited (Petitioner) to UPL Limited (Respondent), covering its captive power plant in Jhagadia, Gujarat. The policy insured a Gas Turbine Engine (GT Engine) bearing No. 185-195, manufactured by GE Packard Power Inc. The policy contained Clause 12, which permitted arbitration only for disputes relating to the quantum of payment where liability was otherwise admitted, and excluded arbitration where liability was disputed or not accepted.

Key Facts

  • The GT Engine suffered an incident on 16 September 2001, when metal chip detector alarms triggered a trip due to fluctuations in resistance, leading to a breakdown.
  • A borescope inspection by General Electric Energy Plant Operations LLP (GEEPO) revealed a broken 4B bearing cage in the Sump-B section.
  • The Petitioner, acting on recommendations from GEEPO and its US surveyors (McLarens Toplis), advised the Respondent on 5 December 2001 and 18 December 2001 to undertake a complete overhaul of the GT Engine, warning that failure to do so would risk future claims and underwriting issues.
  • The Respondent, relying on this advice, proceeded with overhauling, estimating costs at approximately $3.2 million (Rs. 15 crores).
  • On 27 December 2001 and 25 January 2002, the Petitioner reversed its position, stating that overhauling costs were not payable under the policy and that liability extended only to direct repair costs from the incident.
  • The Respondent submitted a claim bill on 17 February 2002 for Rs. 24,02,15,358/- for material damage (including overhauling) and Rs. 5,27,83,000/- for business interruption.
  • The Petitioner paid Rs. 7,69,69,369/- on 29 December 2003, comprising Rs. 5,01,41,230/- for material damage and Rs. 2,68,28,139/- for business interruption, but did not indicate that the payment was partial or that liability for the balance was denied.
  • The Respondent initiated arbitration on 28 January 2020 after the first arbitral award (14 September 2012) was set aside by this Court on 15 February 2019.

Procedural History

  • 16 September 2001: GT Engine incident and breakdown.
  • 5 December 2001: Petitioner advises Respondent to overhaul GT Engine.
  • 18 December 2001: Petitioner reiterates recommendation for overhaul.
  • 24 December 2001: Respondent informs Petitioner of intent to overhaul and estimates cost.
  • 27 December 2001: Petitioner denies liability for overhauling costs.
  • 25 January 2002: Petitioner reiterates denial of overhauling claim.
  • 17 February 2002: Respondent submits claim bill for material damage and business interruption.
  • 18 December 2003: Petitioner issues Settlement Intimation Voucher (SIV) offering Rs. 7,69,69,369/- as full and final settlement.
  • 29 December 2003: Petitioner pays Rs. 7,69,69,369/-.
  • 28 January 2020: Respondent initiates second arbitration.
  • 5 February 2020: Sole Arbitrator (Justice R.M. Lodha, former CJI) appointed.
  • 8 December 2023: Arbitral Tribunal awards Rs. 41,98,12,970/- for material damage, Rs. 6,23,79,114/- for business interruption, Rs. 2 crores as costs, and 12% p.a. post-award interest.
  • 10 May 2024: Petitioner files Section 34 petition challenging the award.
  • 5 March 2025: Petitioner deposits Rs. 50,14,10,885/- as directed by Court.
  • 22 April 2026: Bombay High Court delivers judgment.

The Parties' Positions

Petitioner (Insurer): Argued that the overhauling claim was distinct from the incident repair claim, and since liability for overhauling was expressly denied in letters dated 27 December 2001 and 25 January 2002, the dispute fell outside the arbitration clause. Relied on judgments like United India Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Hyundai Engineering and Vulcan Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Maharaj Singh to assert that denial of liability renders a claim non-arbitrable.

Respondent (Insured): Contended that the entire claim arose from a single incident and was indivisible. The partial payment of Rs. 7.69 crores constituted admission of liability, making the balance dispute one of quantum. Relied on SBI General Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Krish Spinning and Tagros Chemicals India Pvt. Ltd. v. United India Insurance Co. Ltd. to argue that splitting a claim to avoid arbitration is impermissible.

Relief Sought

The Petitioner sought to set aside the arbitral award dated 8 December 2023 on grounds of non-arbitrability and perversity of findings. The Respondent sought dismissal of the petition and enforcement of the award, including payment of Rs. 41,98,12,970/-, Rs. 2 crores in costs, and 12% p.a. post-award interest.

The central question was whether an insurer’s partial payment of a claim under an insurance policy, coupled with a subsequent denial of the balance amount, constitutes a dispute of ‘liability’ (non-arbitrable) or ‘quantum’ (arbitrable) under a clause that permits arbitration only where liability is admitted.

Arguments Presented

For the Appellant/Petitioner

The Petitioner argued that Clause 12 of the policy required both admission of liability and a dispute on quantum for arbitration to be triggered. It contended that its letters dated 27 December 2001 and 25 January 2002 constituted unequivocal repudiation of liability for overhauling costs, thereby excluding the dispute from arbitration. It relied on United India Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Hyundai Engineering, Oriental Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Narbheram Power, and New Hampshire Insurance Co. v. Strabag Bau AG to assert that denial of liability, even if partial, removes the matter from arbitration. It further argued that the Arbitral Tribunal ignored these letters and improperly relied on earlier advisory letters to infer liability.

For the Respondent/State

The Respondent argued that the claim was singular and indivisible, arising from a single incident. The partial payment of Rs. 7.69 crores constituted admission of liability, making the balance dispute one of quantum. It relied on SBI General Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Krish Spinning, which held that partial payment admits liability and the balance dispute is arbitrable. It also cited Tagros Chemicals India Pvt. Ltd. and Nagarjuna Agrichem Ltd. to show that courts now treat such disputes as quantum, even if the insurer later denies part of the claim. It emphasized that the Petitioner had previously admitted in its affidavit in Arbitration Petition No. 430 of 2013 that the dispute was one of quantum.

The Court's Analysis

The Court undertook a detailed examination of Clause 12 of the policy, which permits arbitration only if liability is admitted and the dispute concerns quantum. The Court held that the Arbitral Tribunal correctly interpreted this clause by treating the claim as a single, indivisible claim arising from the 16 September 2001 incident.

"The Tribunal has rightly questioned as to why Petitioner would give an unsolicited advice to the Respondent if overhauling cost was not to be considered as covered under the policy."

The Court found that the Petitioner’s letters dated 5 and 18 December 2001, urging overhauling and warning of underwriting risks, were inconsistent with a later denial of liability. The Tribunal’s conclusion that these letters implied an acceptance of coverage for overhauling was plausible and not perverse.

The Court further held that the letters dated 27 December 2001 and 25 January 2002, while expressing tentative denial, were issued before the formal claim bill was submitted on 17 February 2002. The Petitioner’s subsequent conduct - paying Rs. 7.69 crores without segregating the claim or indicating denial of liability for the balance - demonstrated an admission of liability for the entire claim.

The Court relied on SBI General Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Krish Spinning, where the Supreme Court held that partial payment under a policy constitutes admission of liability, and any dispute over the unpaid balance is a dispute of quantum, not liability. The Court noted that the Petitioner’s earlier affidavit in the first arbitration proceeding had conceded the dispute was one of quantum, and it could not now take a contrary position.

The Court also upheld the Tribunal’s finding that the accident was the proximate cause of overhauling, rejecting the Petitioner’s reliance on GE reports suggesting pre-existing corrosion. The Tribunal correctly held that the reports reflected post-accident conditions and that the Petitioner failed to lead oral evidence to prove pre-existing damage.

"The moment the claim is sanctioned in part, the dispute relating to denied part becomes dispute relating to the quantum of the raised claim."

The Court emphasized that the Arbitral Tribunal’s reasoning, though concise, was discernible and supported by the record. Citing OPG Power Generations Private Limited v. Enexio Power, the Court held that courts may explain underlying reasons in an award even if they are not elaborately stated, provided the conclusion is not perverse.

The Verdict

The Petitioner’s challenge under Section 34 of the Arbitration and Conciliation Act, 1996 was dismissed. The arbitral award dated 8 December 2023 was upheld. The Court directed the Petitioner to pay the Respondent Rs. 41,98,12,970/- as awarded for material damage, Rs. 6,23,79,114/- for business interruption, Rs. 2 crores as costs of arbitration, and simple interest at 12% per annum on the entire awarded amount from the date of the award. The amount of Rs. 50,14,10,885/- deposited by the Petitioner with the Court shall be paid to the Respondent along with accrued interest within six weeks.

What This Means For Similar Cases

Partial Payment Admits Liability

  • Practitioners must treat any partial payment under an insurance policy as an admission of liability for the entire claim, even if the insurer later disputes the quantum.
  • Insurers cannot later claim non-arbitrability by asserting denial of liability for the unpaid portion if they have already made a payment.

Claim Splitting Is Impermissible

  • Courts will not permit insurers to artificially bifurcate a single claim arising from one incident into ‘incident repair’ and ‘overhauling’ to avoid arbitration.
  • The doctrine of res judicata under Order 2 Rule 2 CPC applies analogously: a single cause of action cannot be split into multiple proceedings.

Arbitration Clauses Are Interpreted Broadly

  • Arbitration clauses in insurance policies are to be interpreted in favor of arbitrability, especially after Krish Spinning.

  • Courts will not invalidate arbitral awards on grounds of inadequate reasoning if the underlying logic is discernible from the award and supported by evidence.

  • Practitioners should advise insurers to clearly state at the time of payment whether a payment is partial and whether liability for the balance is denied.

  • Insured parties should ensure that claim submissions are comprehensive and that any partial payment is not construed as a full and final discharge without explicit terms.

Case Details

United India Insurance Company Limited v. UPL Limited

2026:BHC-OS:10318
Judgment
Court
High Court of Judicature at Bombay
Date
22 April 2026
Case Number
CARBP-10809-2024
Bench
Sanjay V. Marne
Counsel
Pet: Sharan Jagtiani, Surbhi Agarwal, Netra Haldankar
Res: Shiraz Rustomjee, Shreya Parikh, Archit Jayakar, Pooja Yadav, Mihir Kakade, Kshitij Abbhi

Frequently Asked Questions

Yes. As held in SBI General Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Krish Spinning and affirmed by this judgment, partial payment under a policy constitutes admission of liability, and any dispute over the unpaid balance is a dispute of quantum, not liability, making it arbitrable under the policy clause.
No. Once partial payment is made, the insurer cannot later deny liability for the balance to exclude the dispute from arbitration. The Court held that such a tactic is impermissible and amounts to artificial bifurcation of a single claim.
Yes. If the insurer advises the insured to undertake a costly repair or overhaul and the insured acts on that advice, the insurer’s subsequent denial of liability for that cost does not convert the dispute into one of liability. The Court found such conduct inconsistent with a genuine denial of liability.
No. As per OPG Power Generations Private Limited v. Enexio Power, an award need not be elaborately reasoned. If the underlying reasoning is discernible from the award and supported by evidence, the Court will not set it aside on grounds of inadequate reasons.
0

Disclaimer

This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. The views expressed are based on the judgment analysis and should not be taken as professional counsel. Please consult with a qualified attorney for advice specific to your situation.