Case Law Analysis

Non-standard insurance settlement upheld; interest limited to date of untrace report acceptance | Sec 41 CPA 2019 - Insurance Claim : Punjab SCDRC

The Punjab SCDRC upheld a non-standard settlement of an insurance claim and limited the claimant’s interest to the date the insurer accepted the untrace report. The ruling interprets Section 41 CPA 2019, narrowing interest entitlement for policyholders and confirming insurers’ right to settle on a non-standard basis.

Cassie News NetworkCassie News Network
Aug 22, 2026, 4:47 PM(Updated: Nov 3, 2026)
•6 min read
Be the first to share in your circle
Non-standard insurance settlement upheld; interest limited to date of untrace report acceptance | Sec 41 CPA 2019 - Insurance Claim : Punjab SCDRC

The Punjab State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission affirmed that an insurer may settle a theft claim on a non-standard basis under established guidelines and that interest on the settled amount is calculated only from the date the untrace report was accepted, not from the date of loss. The decision delineates the evidentiary burden on claimants and reinforces the deference owed to the National Consumer Commission’s guidelines.

Background & Facts

The Dispute

The appellant, Harbans Singh, a 70-year-old resident of Jakhal, Haryana, insured his truck (registration No. PB-13-AL-6579) with United India Insurance Company Limited (the respondent). The vehicle was stolen near Gurdaspur on 10 January 2019. The insurer settled the claim on a non-standard basis for Rs.11,88,500, deducting Rs.2,11,500 from the Insured Declared Value (IDV) of Rs.14,00,000.

Key Facts

  • 10 January 2019: Truck snatched near URO Kid School, Kalanour Road, Gurdaspur.
  • 12 February 2019: First Information Report (DDR No. 64) lodged with Gurdaspur Police.
  • 22 February 2020: Insurer’s investigator submitted verification report confirming theft.
  • 01 October 2019: Illaqa Magistrate, Gurdaspur, accepted the untrace report (Exhibit).
  • 24 December 2020: Insurer paid Rs.11,88,500 as settlement (85 % of IDV).
  • 21 October 2024: District Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, Sangrur, partially allowed the complaint, directing the insurer to pay interest at 7 % p.a. on the settled amount from 01 Oct 2019 to 24 Dec 2020 and to pay Rs.10,000 compensation plus Rs.22,000 litigation expenses.
  • 29 January 2025: First Appeal No. 76 of 2025 filed under Section 41 of the Consumer Protection Act, 2019, challenging the District Commission’s order.
  • 05 August 2026: Appeal reserved for hearing.
  • 20 August 2026: Decision delivered by the State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, Punjab, Chandigarh.

Procedural History

  • 10 Jan 2019 - Theft of the insured truck.
  • 12 Feb 2019 - DDR lodged with police.
  • 22 Feb 2020 - Insurer’s investigator report submitted.
  • 01 Oct 2019 - Untrace report accepted by Illaqa Magistrate, Gurdaspur.
  • 24 Dec 2020 - Insurer settled claim for Rs.11,88,500 (85 % of IDV).
  • 21 Oct 2024 - District Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission partially allowed the complaint; ordered interest at 7 % on settled amount from 01 Oct 2019 to 24 Dec 2020, Rs.10,000 compensation, Rs.22,000 litigation expenses.
  • 29 Jan 2025 - Appeal filed before State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission under Section 41 of the Consumer Protection Act, 2019.
  • 05 Aug 2026 - Appeal reserved.
  • 20 Aug 2026 - Judgment delivered.

The Parties' Positions

  • Appellant/Complainant (Harbans Singh) argued that the insurer illegally deducted Rs.2,11,500 from the IDV, failed to pay the settled amount within a reasonable time, and that interest should accrue from the date of loss (10 Jan 2019) at 18 % per annum. He also sought Rs.1,00,000 compensation for harassment and mental agony.
  • Respondent/Opposite Party (United India Insurance Co.) contended that the settlement was made on a non-standard basis in accordance with the National Consumer Commission’s guidelines, that the driver’s negligence (leaving the ignition key in the truck) justified a 15 % deduction, and that the delay in intimation was due to the claimant’s own lapse.

Relief Sought

  • Appellant: Full payment of the remaining IDV amount of Rs.2,11,500, interest at 18 % from 10 Jan 2019 to realization, compensation of Rs.1,00,000, and litigation expenses of Rs.22,000.
  • Respondent: Dismissal of the appeal, upholding the District Commission’s order.

What is the correct quantum of interest payable on a non-standard insurance settlement under the Consumer Protection Act, 2019, and does the insurer’s deduction of a portion of the IDV comply with the guidelines issued by the National Consumer Commission?

Arguments Presented

For the Appellant

  • The appellant relied on Amalendu Sahoo v. Oriental Insurance Co. Ltd. and Amirali A. Mukadam v. United India Insurance Co. Ltd. to argue that interest should be calculated from the date of loss and that any deduction without clear justification is unlawful.
  • He asserted that the consent obtained for the settlement was under coercion, rendering the settlement void.

For the Respondent

  • The respondent cited the National Consumer Commission’s guidelines on non-standard settlements, emphasizing that a deduction of up to 25 % is permissible where the driver’s negligence is established.
  • It argued that the appellant failed to prove any coercion or fraud and that the interest period prescribed by the District Commission was appropriate, starting from the acceptance of the untrace report.

The Court's Analysis

The bench examined the statutory framework of Section 41 of the Consumer Protection Act, 2019, which empowers the State Commission to entertain appeals against orders of the District Commission. It first addressed whether the insurer’s deduction of Rs.2,11,500 was permissible. Referring to the National Consumer Commission’s guidelines, the Court noted that a non-standard settlement may deduct up to 25 % of the claim where the insured party is negligent. In the present case, the driver left the ignition key in the truck, constituting negligence. Consequently, the 15 % deduction (Rs.2,11,500) fell within the permissible range.

The Court then considered the claimant’s allegation of coercion. The appellant had submitted consent letters, indemnity, and undertaking on non-judicial stamp paper, all of which indicated voluntary acceptance of the settlement. No independent evidence of threat or undue influence was produced. Hence, the Court found no basis to set aside the settlement.

On the quantum of interest, the Court observed that the claimant’s entitlement to interest begins only after the insurer’s liability becomes determinable. The untrace report was accepted by the Illaqa Magistrate on 01 October 2019, establishing the loss. The insurer settled the claim on 24 December 2020. Accordingly, the interest period fixed by the District Commission - from 01 October 2019 to 24 December 2020 at 7 % per annum - was justified. The Court rejected the appellant’s claim for interest from the date of theft (10 January 2019) at 18 % per annum, stating that such a rate and period were not supported by the facts or the statutory scheme.

"Therefore, the impugned order is a well-reasoned order, having no ground to set aside."

The Court also emphasized that the burden of proving any irregularity in the settlement rests on the claimant. Since the appellant failed to pinpoint any procedural flaw or evidence of coercion, the appeal was dismissed, and the District Commission’s order was upheld.

The Verdict

The appeal filed by Harbans Singh is dismissed. The State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission upholds the District Commission’s order dated 21 October 2024, which directs the insurer to pay interest at 7 % per annum on Rs.11,88,500 from 01 October 2019 to 24 December 2020, a compensation of Rs.10,000, and litigation expenses of Rs.22,000. No additional amount or higher interest is awarded.

What This Means For Similar Cases

Non-standard Settlements Are Permissible Within Guidelines

  • Insurers may deduct up to 25 % of the claim where the insured is negligent, provided the deduction is documented.
  • Claimants must produce concrete evidence to overturn such deductions.

Interest Accrues From Acceptance of Untrace Report

  • The commencement date for interest is the date the loss is legally established, not the date of the incident.
  • Courts will likely follow the District Commission’s approach of linking interest to the acceptance of the untrace report.

Burden of Proving Coercion Lies With the Claimant

  • Consent letters and affidavits on stamp paper are strong evidence of voluntary settlement.
  • Absence of independent proof of threat will result in dismissal of claims for additional compensation.

Case Details

HARBANS SINGH S/o. Wazir Singh vs UNITED INDIA INSURANCE COMPANY LIMITED

PDF
Court
State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission
Date
2026-08-20
Case Number
SC/3/FA/76/2025
Bench
Justice Daya Chaudhary, Simarjot Kaur, Vishav Kant Garg
Counsel
Pet: Sh. Sanjeev Goyal
Res: Sh. Nitin Gupta

Frequently Asked Questions

It allows a consumer to file a first appeal before the State Commission against an order of the District Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission.
Interest starts from the date the untrace report is accepted by the competent authority, here 01 October 2019, and not from the date of the loss.
Up to 25 % of the claim may be deducted where the insured’s negligence or breach of policy conditions is established.
Independent corroboration such as witness testimony, forensic evidence, or a clear record of threats; mere consent letters are insufficient.
0

Disclaimer

This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. The views expressed are based on the judgment analysis and should not be taken as professional counsel. Please consult with a qualified attorney for advice specific to your situation.