
The Punjab and Haryana High Court has affirmed that an insurer cannot mechanically repudiate a life insurance claim merely because the insured died after the premium grace period expired, if the default was due to sudden and severe illness. This ruling reinforces the principle that insurance contracts must be interpreted fairly, especially when the policyholder has maintained a decades-long record of punctual payments.
Background & Facts
The Dispute
The dispute arose from the repudiation of a life insurance claim by the Life Insurance Corporation of India (LIC) following the death of Mr. Raj Kumar Maheshwari, the policyholder of Policy No. 160783827. The policy, issued on 15.07.1995, carried a sum insured of Rs.1,50,000 with a quarterly premium of Rs.463. The insured paid premiums regularly from 1995 until April 2018, spanning 23 years. The quarterly premium due on 15.07.2018 remained unpaid. The insured was diagnosed with cancer on 14.06.2018, was hospitalized from 06.08.2018 to 14.08.2018, and was readmitted on 17.08.2018, where he passed away on 24.08.2018. LIC repudiated the claim on the ground that the premium was not paid within the grace period ending 14.08.2018.
Key Facts
- Policy issued on: 15.07.1995
- Sum insured: Rs.1,50,000
- Quarterly premium: Rs.463
- Last paid premium: April 2018 (covering quarter ending 14.07.2018)
- Premium due date: 15.07.2018
- Grace period: Until 14.08.2018
- Cancer diagnosed: 14.06.2018
- First hospitalization: 06.08.2018 to 14.08.2018
- Second hospitalization: 17.08.2018 to 24.08.2018
- Date of death: 24.08.2018
- No reminder or notice for premium payment was issued by LIC
- Premiums paid consistently for 23 years without default
Procedural History
- 24.08.2018: Death of insured
- 2019-2023: Claim filed and repudiated by LIC
- 2024: Application filed by widow under Section 22C of the Legal Services Authorities Act, 1987 before Permanent Lok Adalat (PLA), Bathinda
- 17.10.2025: PLA awarded Rs.1,50,000 with 6% simple interest from 21.02.2024
- 17.04.2026: Writ petition filed before Punjab and Haryana High Court challenging the PLA award
Relief Sought
The petitioner (LIC) sought setting aside of the PLA award dated 17.10.2025. The respondents (widow and legal heirs) sought enforcement of the award, including payment of Rs.1,50,000 as sum assured and 6% simple interest from 21.02.2024 until realization.
The Legal Issue
The central question was whether an insurer can deny a life insurance claim solely on the ground that the insured died after the grace period for premium payment, when the default was due to terminal illness and the policyholder had maintained a 23-year record of punctual payments.
Arguments Presented
For the Petitioner
LIC contended that the policy lapsed on 14.08.2018, as the premium was not paid within the grace period, and death occurring thereafter extinguished any claim. It relied on the express terms of the policy, which state that failure to pay within the grace period results in lapse without paid-up value. It argued that the PLA erred in overriding contractual terms and that equitable considerations cannot override clear policy conditions.
For the Respondent
The respondents argued that the default was neither willful nor intentional, but caused by sudden and severe illness. They cited judicial precedents, including Life Insurance Corporation of India v. Asha Goyal and Vaishnu Devi v. Union of India, which mandate fair interpretation of insurance contracts and discourage technical repudiation. They emphasized the insurer’s failure to issue any reminder and the insured’s long-standing compliance.
The Court's Analysis
The Court examined the PLA’s reasoning and the factual matrix with particular attention to the insurer’s conduct and the insured’s circumstances. It noted that the insured had paid premiums for 23 years without default, and that the failure to pay the final premium coincided with a terminal illness and prolonged hospitalization. The Court observed that LIC, despite having the means and obligation to communicate, issued no reminder or notice regarding the overdue premium.
"The Insurance Companies are accepting premium even beyond the grace period, however, subject to small charges. In the present case, amount of quarterly premium was Rs.463/-... It could not be expected that he will deposit premium."
The Court distinguished mechanical application of policy terms from equitable justice. It referenced Life Insurance Corporation of India v. Asha Goyal (2001) 2 SCC 16, where the Supreme Court held that insurers must not exploit technicalities to deny genuine claims. It also relied on Vaishnu Devi v. Union of India, which directed sympathetic consideration when death occurs shortly after the grace period due to unforeseen medical emergency.
The Court rejected LIC’s argument that lapse is absolute, emphasizing that the doctrine of uberrimae fidei (utmost good faith) imposes reciprocal obligations. The insurer’s silence, coupled with the insured’s consistent conduct, created an implied understanding that the relationship was not to be terminated on a technicality during a medical crisis.
The Verdict
The petition was dismissed. The Court upheld the PLA award dated 17.10.2025, directing LIC to pay the sum assured of Rs.1,50,000 with simple interest at 6% per annum from 21.02.2024 until actual payment. The Court held that the insurer’s conduct was unreasonable and that the claim, though technically outside the grace period, was substantively valid under principles of equity and fair dealing.
What This Means For Similar Cases
Non-Willful Default Cannot Justify Automatic Repudiation
- Practitioners must argue that insurers cannot rely on lapse clauses when default is due to medical emergency, especially with a long history of compliance
- Evidence of hospitalization, medical records, and absence of reminders are critical to rebut claims of willful default
Insurer’s Duty to Communicate Is Implied
- Failure to send premium reminders, even if not contractually mandated, may be viewed as a breach of the duty of good faith
- Courts may infer waiver or estoppel where insurers remain silent despite knowledge of the insured’s vulnerability
PLA Awards Are Subject to Limited Judicial Review
- Permanent Lok Adalats are empowered to apply equitable principles under Section 22C of the Legal Services Authorities Act
- High Courts will not interfere unless the award is perverse, illegal, or violates statutory provisions
- This judgment reinforces PLA’s role as a forum for justice-oriented dispute resolution in consumer-insurance matters






