Case Law Analysis

Non-Disclosure of Pre-Existing Illness | Proximate Cause Must Link to Death for Policy Voidance : Rajasthan HC

Rajasthan High Court rules that non-disclosure of a pre-existing illness does not automatically void a life insurance policy unless the illness is the proximate cause of death. The court upheld a partial claim of Rs. 2.5 lakh, emphasizing that insurers must prove a direct causal link between the non-disclosure and the death to deny benefits.

Cassie News NetworkCassie News Network
Apr 3, 2026, 12:03 AM(Updated: Nov 3, 2026)
•6 min read
Be the first to share in your circle
Non-Disclosure of Pre-Existing Illness | Proximate Cause Must Link to Death for Policy Voidance : Rajasthan HC

The Rajasthan High Court has clarified that non-disclosure of a pre-existing medical condition at the time of purchasing a life insurance policy does not automatically invalidate a claim, particularly when the undisclosed ailment is not the proximate cause of death. This ruling reinforces the principle that insurers must prove causal connection between concealment and demise to deny benefits.

Background & Facts

The Dispute

The dispute arose from a life insurance policy issued by Kotak Mahindra Life Insurance Co. Ltd. to the deceased, Shri Lunaram, under Policy No. GA000232 dated 28.06.2018. The policyholder died on an unspecified date prior to the filing of the claim. His legal heirs, Prakash Bhatt and Nemichand, sons of the deceased, filed a claim for the full sum assured under the policy. The insurer, Kotak Mahindra, denied the claim on grounds of material non-disclosure, alleging that the deceased had concealed chronic liver and kidney disease caused by alcohol consumption.

Key Facts

  • The deceased obtained the insurance policy on 28.06.2018.
  • The policy sum assured was Rs. 4,16,667 (60% of which equals Rs. 2,50,000).
  • The insurer alleged that the deceased failed to disclose pre-existing liver and kidney disease in the proposal form.
  • The claimants submitted the death certificate and other documents to the insurer.
  • The insurer rejected the claim on 15.05.2020, citing non-disclosure.
  • The claimants approached the Permanent Lok Adalat, Jodhpur, under the Legal Services Authorities Act, 1987.
  • The Permanent Lok Adalat, after conciliation proceedings, passed an award on 17.07.2025 directing the insurer to pay Rs. 2,50,000 (60% of sum assured) with interest.
  • The insurer did not challenge the award before any appellate forum under the Legal Services Authorities Act.

Procedural History

  • 28.06.2018: Insurance policy issued to deceased under Policy No. GA000232.
  • Date of death: Not specified in judgment, but occurred after policy issuance.
  • 15.05.2020: Insurer denied claim citing non-disclosure of pre-existing illness.
  • 2020: Claimants filed Public Utility Service Case No. 128/2020 before Permanent Lok Adalat, Jodhpur.
  • 17.07.2025: Permanent Lok Adalat passed award directing payment of Rs. 2,50,000 with interest.
  • 01.01.2026: Writ Petition No. 64/2026 filed before Rajasthan High Court seeking quashing of the award.
  • 01.04.2026: Judgment delivered by Justice Kuldeep Mathur.

The Parties' Positions

Petitioners (Insurer): Argued that the deceased concealed material facts regarding chronic liver and kidney disease, which, if disclosed, would have led to policy rejection or higher premium. Contended that non-disclosure vitiates the contract under Section 17 of the Insurance Act, 1938 and common law principles of uberrimae fidei.

Respondents (Claimants): Maintained that the cause of death was unrelated to the alleged liver/kidney disease, and that the Permanent Lok Adalat had correctly balanced equity and contractual obligations by awarding partial compensation.

Relief Sought

The petitioner sought quashing of the Permanent Lok Adalat’s award dated 17.07.2025 and a declaration that the claim was void due to non-disclosure. No alternative relief was prayed for.

The central question was whether non-disclosure of a pre-existing illness at the time of purchasing a life insurance policy automatically disentitles the beneficiaries to a claim, even when the undisclosed illness is not established as the proximate cause of death.

Arguments Presented

For the Appellant/Petitioner

Counsel for the insurer relied on the doctrine of uberrimae fidei (utmost good faith) and Section 17 of the Insurance Act, 1938, arguing that material concealment renders the contract voidable at the insurer’s option. They contended that liver/kidney disease, linked to alcoholism, was a significant risk factor and its non-disclosure was intentional. They further argued that the Permanent Lok Adalat erred in not requiring proof of causation, and that partial payment was unjustified.

For the Respondent/State

The claimants’ counsel did not file a written reply, but the Permanent Lok Adalat’s award, which was not appealed under Section 22B of the Legal Services Authorities Act, stood as a final order. The respondents implicitly argued that the insurer had failed to prove the undisclosed condition caused death, and that denying the claim entirely would deprive innocent family members of financial protection.

The Court's Analysis

The Court examined the nature of life insurance contracts and the obligations of insurers under the principle of uberrimae fidei. It noted that while non-disclosure of material facts can justify avoidance of a policy, the insurer must demonstrate that the undisclosed fact materially affected the risk and was causally connected to the event triggering the claim.

"Insurance policies are essentially taken to provide financial security and protection to the family against unforeseen risks such as death or medical emergencies. After the death of the insured, the reasons for alleged non-disclosure of pre-existing ailments cannot be explained by the deceased. It would be unjust to deny the benefit of the insurance policy to the family members solely on the ground of non-disclosure of pre-existing ailments, particularly when the insurance company has failed to establish that such ailments were the cause of death."

The Court emphasized that the insurer had not produced any medical evidence linking the deceased’s alleged liver/kidney disease to the actual cause of death. The insurer’s reliance on non-disclosure alone, without proving proximate causation, was held to be legally insufficient. The Court also noted that the Permanent Lok Adalat had exercised its equitable jurisdiction by awarding only 60% of the sum assured - a balanced outcome that acknowledged the insurer’s concern without penalizing the beneficiaries for the deceased’s omission.

The Court further observed that the insurer had not challenged the award under Section 22B of the Legal Services Authorities Act, which provides the exclusive appellate mechanism. By bypassing this statutory remedy and directly approaching the High Court under Article 226, the petitioner had attempted to circumvent the legislative framework.

The Verdict

The writ petition was dismissed. The Court upheld the Permanent Lok Adalat’s award dated 17.07.2025, directing Kotak Mahindra Life Insurance Co. Ltd. to pay Rs. 2,50,000 (60% of the sum assured) to the claimants, along with interest at the rate of 6% per annum from the date of claim denial (15.05.2020) until actual payment. The stay petition and all pending applications were disposed of.

What This Means For Similar Cases

Non-Disclosure Alone Is Not Sufficient to Deny Claims

  • Insurers must prove that the undisclosed condition was both material and the proximate cause of death.
  • Mere failure to disclose a pre-existing illness, without causal linkage, cannot justify total claim rejection.
  • Courts will favor equitable outcomes where beneficiaries are innocent of the concealment.

Permanent Lok Adalat Awards Are Binding Unless Set Aside Statutorily

  • Awards under the Legal Services Authorities Act are final unless challenged under Section 22B.
  • Writ petitions under Article 226 cannot be used to circumvent statutory appellate remedies.
  • Practitioners must exhaust statutory remedies before approaching High Courts.

Partial Claims Are Legally Recognized in Insurance Disputes

  • Courts may uphold partial payments as a fair compromise when partial non-disclosure is established.
  • The 60% award in this case reflects judicial recognition of shared fault - not full denial, but not full payment either.
  • This approach may become a template in future cases involving disputed disclosures.

Case Details

Kotak Mahindra Life Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Prakash Bhatt & Ors.

2026:RJ-JD:14711
Judgment
Court
High Court of Judicature for Rajasthan at Jodhpur
Date
01 April 2026
Case Number
Civil Writ Petition No. 64/2026
Bench
Kuldeep Mathur
Counsel
Pet: Sanjay Nahar, Prateek Kasliwal
Res:

Frequently Asked Questions

No. As held by the Court, non-disclosure alone is insufficient. The insurer must prove that the undisclosed illness was the proximate cause of death. Without such proof, denial of the claim is unjustified.
A Permanent Lok Adalat award under the Legal Services Authorities Act is final and binding unless challenged within the statutory appeal period under Section 22B. A writ petition under Article 226 cannot be used to bypass this exclusive remedy.
Yes. The Court recognized that partial payment - here, 60% of the sum assured - is a legally permissible equitable remedy when the insurer proves material non-disclosure but fails to establish causation for death.
0

Disclaimer

This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. The views expressed are based on the judgment analysis and should not be taken as professional counsel. Please consult with a qualified attorney for advice specific to your situation.