Case Law Analysis

Interest on Compensation Begins from Date of Accident | EC Act Section 4A(3) Interpretation : Bombay High Court

Bombay High Court holds that interest under Section 4A(3) of the Employees' Compensation Act begins from the date of accident, not after one month. Key precedent for compensation claims.

Cassie News NetworkCassie News Network
Feb 25, 2026, 1:08 AM(Updated: Nov 3, 2026)
•5 min read
Be the first to share in your circle
Interest on Compensation Begins from Date of Accident | EC Act Section 4A(3) Interpretation : Bombay High Court

The Bombay High Court has clarified a critical procedural point in workers' compensation claims, holding that interest under Section 4A(3) of the Employees' Compensation Act, 1923, accrues from the date of the accident, not after a one-month grace period. This ruling reinforces the remedial purpose of the Act and removes a common barrier to timely redress for injured workers.

Background & Facts

The Dispute

The respondent, Rajkumar Brijlal Singh Gond, sustained multiple injuries in a workplace accident on 17 February 2015 while employed by Bombay Rayon Fashion Ltd. He suffered a head injury and fractures to ribs 2 through 5 and 7. He claimed 100% functional disability and sought compensation under the Employees' Compensation Act, 1923. The Commissioner for Workmen Compensation awarded him 50% permanent partial disability compensation and directed interest to accrue from the date of the accident.

Procedural History

  • 17 February 2015: Workplace accident resulting in multiple injuries
  • 2017: Commissioner for Workmen Compensation awarded 50% disability compensation and interest from date of accident
  • 2020: Appellants filed First Appeal under Section 30 of the EC Act challenging the order
  • 23 February 2026: Bombay High Court dismissed the appeal

Relief Sought

The appellants sought to overturn the Commissioner’s award of interest from the date of accident, arguing it should commence only after one month. They also challenged the 50% disability assessment and the sufficiency of evidence.

The central question was whether interest under Section 4A(3) of the Employees' Compensation Act begins to accrue from the date of the accident or only after the expiry of one month from the date the compensation became due.

Arguments Presented

For the Appellant

The appellants contended that Section 4A(3) permits interest only if payment is defaulted after one month from the date it fell due. They argued that the Commissioner erred by awarding interest from the date of accident, as this ignored the statutory grace period. They relied on a literal reading of the provision and cited general principles of statutory interpretation to argue that interest cannot be imposed before the statutory window for payment expires.

For the Respondent

The respondent did not appear. The Commissioner’s order, which was upheld, relied on the plain language of Section 4A(3) and the remedial nature of the Act. The Commissioner held that the one-month period is a threshold for triggering the power to impose interest, not a deferral of its commencement.

The Court's Analysis

The Court undertook a purposive interpretation of Section 4A(3), emphasizing that the Act is a welfare statute designed to provide swift relief to injured workers. The Court observed that the provision empowers the Commissioner to direct interest if payment is defaulted after one month, but does not state that interest begins only after that period. The one-month window is a condition precedent to the exercise of power, not a deferral of the accrual date.

"The period of one month is specified to empower the Commissioner to direct the employer to pay interest if the employer does not pay the amount within one month. Therefore, there is no case made out to contend that the period of interest would start after the expiry of one month from the date of the accident."

The Court rejected the appellants’ argument that interest should be calculated from the end of the grace period, noting that such an interpretation would undermine the Act’s objective of ensuring prompt compensation. The Court affirmed that the Commissioner had correctly applied the law by treating the date of accident as the starting point for interest, since compensation becomes due immediately upon the occurrence of the accident under Section 3 of the Act. The Court also upheld the 50% disability assessment, finding it based on a comprehensive review of medical evidence and not perverse.

The Verdict

The appeal was dismissed. The Court held that interest under Section 4A(3) of the EC Act accrues from the date of the accident, not after one month. The Commissioner’s order was upheld in full, and the appellants were directed to release the deposited compensation within eight weeks.

What This Means For Similar Cases

Interest Begins from Date of Accident

  • Practitioners must now argue that interest under Section 4A(3) runs from the date of injury, not from the end of the one-month grace period
  • Employers cannot delay payment under the pretext of a grace period to avoid interest liability
  • Claims for interest must be calculated from the accident date, even if formal payment demand is made later

Disability Assessment Is Fact-Intensive and Deferential

  • Appellate courts will not interfere with disability percentages unless findings are perverse or unsupported by evidence
  • Medical reports and functional limitations, not return-to-work timelines, are decisive
  • A worker’s return to work within three months does not negate permanent disability if medical evidence shows ongoing impairment

Procedural Compliance Is Non-Negotiable

  • Appeals under Section 30 require a substantial question of law; mere factual disputes are insufficient
  • Commissioner’s findings on evidence are binding unless legally flawed
  • Appellants must clearly articulate legal errors, not reargue facts

Case Details

Bombay Rayon Fashion Ltd. v. Rajkumar Brijlal Singh Gond

2026:BHC-AS:9124
Judgment
Court
High Court of Judicature at Bombay
Date
23 February 2026
Case Number
First Appeal No. 277 of 2020
Bench
Jitendra Jain
Counsel
Pet: Dr. D. S. Hatle, Mr. Deepak P. Jamsandekar
Res:

Frequently Asked Questions

Interest begins to accrue from the date of the accident, not after the expiry of one month. The one-month period is a threshold for triggering the Commissioner’s power to impose interest, not a deferral of its commencement.
No. Payment must be made within one month of the date the compensation became due, which is the date of the accident. If payment is delayed beyond that, interest accrues from the date of accident, regardless of when the claim was filed or adjudicated.
No. A worker’s return to work within three months does not automatically negate a claim for permanent partial disability. The assessment must be based on medical evidence of functional impairment, not merely on the timing of return to duty.
0

Disclaimer

This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. The views expressed are based on the judgment analysis and should not be taken as professional counsel. Please consult with a qualified attorney for advice specific to your situation.