Case Law Analysis

Free-Look Cancellation | Voluntary Continuation After Withdrawal Bars Misrepresentation Claim Under Consumer Protection : Uttarakhand SCDRC

Uttarakhand SCDRC rules that a policyholder who voluntarily continues an insurance policy after withdrawing a free-look cancellation request cannot later claim misrepresentation or unfair trade practices. The Commission held that reliance on assurances post-withdrawal negates deficiency in service claims, setting a precedent for similar disputes.

Cassie News NetworkCassie News Network
May 9, 2026, 8:03 PM(Updated: Nov 3, 2026)
•6 min read
Be the first to share in your circle
Free-Look Cancellation | Voluntary Continuation After Withdrawal Bars Misrepresentation Claim Under Consumer Protection : Uttarakhand SCDRC

The Uttarakhand State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission dismissed an appeal challenging the dismissal of a complaint alleging misrepresentation and unfair trade practice in the sale of three insurance policies. The Commission held that the appellant's voluntary continuation of policies after withdrawing her free-look cancellation request, with full knowledge of terms, defeated her claim of deficiency in service.

Background & Facts

The Dispute

The appellant, Smt. Ragni Mittal, purchased three insurance policies (Nos. 51433229, 51433237, 51433242) on 10.01.2014 from Reliance Life Insurance Company through its Sales Manager, Sh. Sanjay Gupta. The annual premiums for the policies were Rs. 14,994.44, Rs. 14,994.44, and Rs. 14,998.56 respectively, aggregating approximately Rs. 45,000. The appellant alleged that the policies were sold without assessing her financial capacity to pay future premiums and that she was induced to purchase them under false assurances.

Key Facts

  • 10.01.2014: Appellant purchased three insurance policies from the respondents
  • Premium Amounts: Rs. 14,994.44, Rs. 14,994.44, and Rs. 14,998.56 (total ~Rs. 45,000)
  • 27.01.2014: Appellant sent a letter requesting withdrawal of policies during the free-look period
  • Subsequent Events: Branch Manager and Sales Manager visited the appellant, persuaded her to withdraw the cancellation request, and assured her of a refund after five years with 8% simple interest
  • Security: Respondent No. 2 handed over an undated cheque of Rs. 30,000 as security
  • Withdrawal of Cancellation: Appellant withdrew her cancellation request relying on these assurances
  • Continuation: Appellant continued paying premiums, and the policies remain active

Procedural History

  • Complaint No. 51 of 2019: Filed before the District Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, Haridwar, alleging deficiency in service and unfair trade practice
  • 25.09.2020: District Commission dismissed the complaint
  • Appeal: Appellant filed an appeal before the State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, Uttarakhand (SC/5/A/162/2020)
  • 28.04.2026: Final hearing conducted
  • 07.05.2026: State Commission dismissed the appeal and affirmed the District Commission's order

The Parties' Positions

Appellant's Contentions:

  • The policies were procured through misrepresentation and inducement by the respondents
  • The respondents assured a refund of the premium amount with interest and issued a cheque as security
  • The financial capacity of the appellant was not assessed before selling the policies
  • The District Commission failed to consider crucial evidence and misapplied settled principles relating to mis-selling of insurance products

Respondents' Contentions:

  • The policies were sold in accordance with the appellant's requirements
  • All material facts relating to the policies were duly explained to the appellant
  • The appellant voluntarily withdrew her free-look cancellation request
  • The complaint is devoid of merit and based on incorrect facts

Relief Sought

The appellant sought:

  • Setting aside of the District Commission's order dated 25.09.2020
  • A finding of deficiency in service and unfair trade practice against the respondents
  • Appropriate compensation for the alleged misrepresentation and financial loss

The central question was whether the appellant's voluntary continuation of insurance policies after withdrawing her free-look cancellation request, with full knowledge of the terms and conditions, constitutes a valid defense against allegations of misrepresentation, unfair trade practice, and deficiency in service under the Consumer Protection Act, 1986/2019.

Arguments Presented

For the Appellant

The appellant argued that:

  • The respondents induced her to purchase the policies without assessing her financial capacity, amounting to misrepresentation and unfair trade practice
  • The respondents assured her of a refund after five years with 8% simple interest and provided a cheque as security, which prima facie establishes inducement
  • The District Commission failed to apply settled principles relating to mis-selling of insurance products and erred in dismissing the complaint

For the Respondents

The respondents contended that:

  • The policies were sold in accordance with the appellant's requirements, and all material facts were explained to her
  • The appellant voluntarily withdrew her free-look cancellation request and continued paying premiums, indicating her acceptance of the policy terms
  • The complaint was devoid of merit and based on incorrect facts

The Court's Analysis

The Commission examined the admissions and evidence on record, particularly the appellant's letter dated 27.01.2014 (Paper No. 59), wherein she stated that she had fully understood the terms and conditions of the policies and voluntarily requested withdrawal of the free-look cancellation application. The Commission noted that:

  • The appellant admitted to purchasing the policies and sending a withdrawal request during the free-look period
  • The appellant subsequently withdrew her cancellation request and continued paying premiums, with the policies remaining active
  • Both parties confirmed during arguments that the appellant intended to continue the policies

The Commission observed that the appellant's voluntary continuation of the policies, with full knowledge of their terms, undermined her claim of deficiency in service or unfair trade practice. The Commission relied on the principle that free and informed consent is a critical factor in determining whether a service deficiency exists. Since the appellant consciously elected to continue the policies after being aware of their terms, the Commission held that the respondents did not commit any deficiency in service.

"In view of the aforesaid admissions and letter dated 27.01.2014 (paper No. 59) placed on record, it is evident that the appellant had consciously elected to continue the polices in question after being aware all the terms and conditions of the policies. Hence, the finding recorded by the District Commission in the impugned judgment and order is well-reasoned, based on proper appreciation of the facts available on record and do not suffer from any illegality and material irregularity and warranting interference by this Commission."

The Verdict

The appeal was dismissed. The State Commission affirmed the District Commission's order dated 25.09.2020, holding that the appellant's voluntary continuation of the policies after withdrawing her free-look cancellation request defeated her claim of deficiency in service. No costs were awarded.

What This Means For Similar Cases

Voluntary Continuation Defeats Deficiency Claims

  • Free and Informed Consent: Practitioners must emphasize whether the complainant had full knowledge of the terms and conditions of the service or product at the time of continuation. Voluntary continuation after such knowledge can defeat claims of deficiency in service or unfair trade practice
  • Burden of Proof: The complainant bears the burden of proving that their consent was vitiated by misrepresentation, undue influence, or coercion. Mere allegations without concrete evidence may not suffice

Importance of Documentary Evidence

  • Written Correspondence: Courts place significant weight on written communications, such as the appellant's letter dated 27.01.2014, which demonstrated her understanding of the policy terms
  • Assurances and Promises: Verbal assurances, even if made, must be corroborated by documentary evidence. In this case, the undated cheque provided as security was insufficient to establish inducement without further proof

Misrepresentation and Unfair Trade Practice

  • Financial Capacity Assessment: Insurers and service providers must assess the financial capacity of consumers before selling high-premium policies. Failure to do so may expose them to claims of misrepresentation
  • Consumer Awareness: Consumers should be vigilant about understanding policy terms during the free-look period. Withdrawing a cancellation request without full comprehension of the implications can weaken subsequent legal claims

Case Details

Smt. Ragni Mittal Vs. Branch Manager, Reliance Life Insurance Co. & Ors.

Judgment
Court
State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, Uttarakhand, Dehradun
Date
07 May 2026
Case Number
SC/5/A/162/2020
Bench
Ms. Kumkum Rani, President, Mr. C.M. Singh, Member
Counsel
Pet: Sh. Tushar Sharma, Advocate
Res: Sh. Abhishek Bhatnagar, Advocate

Frequently Asked Questions

The free-look cancellation period is a provision under insurance regulations that allows a policyholder to review the terms and conditions of an insurance policy and cancel it within a specified period (usually 15-30 days) without incurring penalties. During this period, the policyholder can withdraw from the policy and receive a refund of the premium paid, subject to certain deductions.
Deficiency in service under the Consumer Protection Act, 1986/2019 refers to any fault, imperfection, shortcoming, or inadequacy in the quality, nature, and manner of performance of a service. This includes misrepresentation, unfair trade practices, failure to fulfill promises, or any act that causes financial or other harm to the consumer. The complainant must prove that the service provider failed to meet the expected standard of care or contractual obligations.
No. As held in this judgment, if a consumer voluntarily continues a policy after withdrawing a cancellation request with full knowledge of its terms and conditions, their claim of deficiency in service may be defeated. The Commission emphasized that free and informed consent is critical, and voluntary continuation undermines allegations of misrepresentation or unfair trade practice.
To prove misrepresentation in insurance sales, the complainant must provide concrete evidence such as: - Written assurances or promises made by the insurer or agent - Documentary proof of inducement (e.g., emails, letters, or recorded communications) - Evidence demonstrating that the consumer's financial capacity was not assessed - Proof that the consumer was misled about policy terms or benefits In this case, the undated cheque provided as security was insufficient to establish misrepresentation without further corroborating evidence.
0

Disclaimer

This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. The views expressed are based on the judgment analysis and should not be taken as professional counsel. Please consult with a qualified attorney for advice specific to your situation.