Case Law Analysis

Entitlement Rules 2008 lack legal validity; same as 1982 Rules | Burden on employer remains : SC

The Supreme Court held the Entitlement Rules 2008 invalid, same as the 1982 Rules, leaving presumption of attributability intact and burden of proof on employer for disability pension claims within 15 years, affecting armed forces and government.

Cassie News NetworkCassie News Network
Sep 16, 2026, 10:12 PM(Updated: Nov 3, 2026)
•11 min read
Be the first to share in your circle
Entitlement Rules 2008 lack legal validity; same as 1982 Rules | Burden on employer remains : SC

The Supreme Court dismissed appeals challenging denial of disability pension to ex-servicemen, holding that the Entitlement Rules for Casualty Pensionary Awards, 2008 lack legal validity due to improper promulgation, and even if presumed valid, do not substantively alter the claimant-friendly framework of the 1982 Rules. The Court affirmed that principles from Dharamvir Singh v. Union of India continue to govern entitlement determinations, emphasizing that Medical Board opinions deserve due weight and cannot be substituted by courts absent clear defect.

Background & Facts

The Dispute

The appeals arise from denial of disability pension element to ex-servicemen whose Release Medical Boards (RMBs) opined their disabilities were 'Neither Attributable Nor Aggravated' (NANA) by military service. The ex-servicemen approached Armed Forces Tribunals (AFTs) or High Courts, which granted disability pension based on the presumption of attributability under Entitlement Rules 1982. The Union of India appealed these orders, contesting the applicability of Dharamvir Singh v. Union of India (2013) 7 SCC 316 to cases governed by the allegedly revised Entitlement Rules 2008.

Key Facts

  • The respondent, Col. NC Isaac (Retd.), and similarly situated ex-servicemen were discharged from service with disabilities assessed at 20% or more, but RMBs classified these as NANA.
  • Under Entitlement Rules 1982, Rule 5 created a presumption that a service member entered service in sound physical and mental health, with any subsequent deterioration deemed due to service absent evidence to the contrary.
  • Rule 9 of Entitlement Rules 1982 placed the burden of proof on the employer to disprove attributability, granting claimants the benefit of reasonable doubt.
  • Dharamvir Singh upheld disability pension where no disease was noted at enrolment, holding that deterioration in health post-enrolment is presumed attributable to service.
  • Ld. Attorney General asserted that Entitlement Rules 2008 were issued via Ministry of Defence letter dated 18.01.2010, effective 01.01.2008, superseding the 1982 Rules.
  • The Raksha Mantri Report 2015 concluded that Entitlement Rules 2008 and Pension Regulations 2008 'have no sanctity of law' due to lack of Cabinet approval, stakeholder consultation, and substantive regressive changes.
  • Ministry of Defence letter dated 07.09.2018 (MoD ID No. 4(5)/D(CMU)/2018) referenced the Raksha Mantri Report’s recommendation to withdraw pending NANA cases.

Procedural History

  • 22.11.1983: Entitlement Rules for Casualty Pensionary Awards, 1982 notified (effective 01.01.1982).
  • 18.01.2010: Ld. AG claims Entitlement Rules 2008 issued via MoD letter (effective 01.01.2008).
  • 2013: Dharamvir Singh v. Union of India decided (7 SCC 316).
  • 2015: Raksha Mantri Report published.
  • 07.09.2018: Ministry of Defence letter dt. 07.09.2018 (MoD ID No. 4(5)/D(CMU)/2018) issued.
  • Various dates: AFT and High Court orders granting disability pension to ex-servicemen (specific dates not detailed in judgment but referenced as precedents).
  • 2025-2026: Special Leave Petitions and Civil Appeals filed challenging denial of disability pension (including SLPs Nos. 3680, 9467, 5180, 7489, 4252, 3589, 5199, 7505, 5171, 5135 of 2026; and Civil Appeal Nos. 3557, 3558, 3712, 3713, 3716, 3717, 3711, 7451 of 2025).
  • 15.09.2026: Judgment pronounced.

Relief Sought

The Union sought to set aside AFT and High Court orders granting disability pension, arguing that Entitlement Rules 2008 required affirmative proof of causal connection and removed the presumption of attributability, thereby justifying NANA classifications. The respondents sought upholding of the lower court orders granting disability pension and associated arrears.

The central questions were: (1) Whether the Entitlement Rules for Casualty Pensionary Awards, 2008 were validly promulgated under the Allocation of Business Rules, 1961; and (2) Assuming validity, whether the 2008 Rules made a substantive departure from the Entitlement Rules 1982 regarding the presumption of attributability at entry, burden of proof, causal connection requirement, and treatment of aggravation, such that the principles in Dharamvir Singh v. Union of India could not be mechanically applied to claims under the 2008 regime.

Arguments Presented

For the Appellant (Union of India)

The Ld. Attorney General argued that the Entitlement Rules 2008 lack legal validity as they were not issued by the competent authority (Department of Pension and Pensioners' Welfare) under the Allocation of Business Rules, 1961, but merely compiled by the Department of Ex-Servicemen Welfare without Cabinet or DoPPW approval. Even if presumed valid, the 2008 Rules materially altered the framework by removing the presumption of attributability under Rule 5, requiring affirmative proof of causal connection for diseases manifesting during service. The AG contended that Dharamvir Singh, decided under the 1982 Rules, cannot be applied mechanically to the 2008 regime, as mere manifestation of a disease during service does not establish attributability. Diseases like hypertension, diabetes, and ischaemic heart disease require disease-specific assessment under the 2008 Rules, and belated NANA determinations must be approached with caution due to potential loss of service documents over time. The AG emphasized that Medical Board opinions, as expert determinations, deserve due weight and cannot be substituted by courts absent clear defect such as lack of reasons or failure to consider germane material.

For the Respondent (Ex-servicemen)

Learned counsel for the ex-servicemen contended that the Entitlement Rules 2008 introduced only cosmetic changes in form, not substance, preserving the core beneficial structure of the 1982 Rules. They relied on the Raksha Mantri Report’s own documentation showing that the Department of Ex-Servicemen Welfare had authority to administer the Entitlement Rules, and that policy changes were made with approval of competent authorities including the Cabinet Secretary. Rule 7 of the 2008 Rules, they argued, broadly carries forward Rule 9 of the 1982 Rules, placing the burden of proof on the employer except for claims filed after 15 years when service documents may be destroyed. Regulation 423(a) of the Regulations for Medical Services of the Armed Forces, 2010, they noted, explicitly directs that the benefit of reasonable doubt must be given to the individual and that it is immaterial whether the disability arose in field or peace areas if a causal connection with service conditions exists. Counsel asserted that Dharamvir Singh, Rajbir Singh, and Angad Singh Titaria remain good law, and that the present appeals are belated and barred by limitation, with over 2,800 similar claims previously rejected on limitation grounds.

The Court's Analysis

The Court first addressed the threshold question of legal validity of the Entitlement Rules 2008. It found that the Union failed to demonstrate proper promulgation under the Allocation of Business Rules, 1961, which allocates pensionary policy formulation to the Department of Pension and Pensioners' Welfare (DoPPW), not the Department of Ex-Servicemen Welfare (DESW). The Ld. AG’s assertion that the Rules were issued via MoD letter dated 18.01.2010 was insufficient to establish legal validity, as no evidence showed Cabinet or DoPPW approval, stakeholder consultation, or adherence to procedural requirements. The Court noted the Raksha Mantri Report 2015’s conclusion that the 2008 Rules 'have no sanctity of law' due to lack of democratic process, unrecorded amendments, and substantive regressive changes carried out by stealth.

Assuming arguendo the validity of the Entitlement Rules 2008, the Court conducted a comparative analysis with the 1982 Rules. On presumption at entry, it observed that while Rule 5 of the 1982 Rules presumed sound health at enrolment, Rule 5 of the 2008 Rules removed this presumption by stating that the 'mere fact that a disease has manifested during military service does not per se establish attributability.' However, the Court held that this change was offset by the retention of a causal connection requirement, meaning that if a disease arose during service and was caused by service conditions, attributability would still be conceded.

Regarding causal connection, the Court found Rule 8 of the 1982 Rules ('Attributability/aggravation shall be conceded if causal connection between death/disablement and military service is certified by appropriate medical authority') and Rule 6 of the 2008 Rules ('Causal Connection - For award of disability pension/special family pension, a causal connection between disability or death and military service has to be established by appropriate authorities') to be substantively identical, both requiring affirmative establishment of a causal nexus by competent authorities.

On burden of proof, the Court determined that Rule 9 of the 1982 Rules ('The claimant shall not be called upon to prove the condition of entitlements. He/she will receive the benefit of any reasonable doubt') is broadly carried forward by Rule 7 of the 2008 Rules ('Ordinarily, the claimant will not be called upon to prove the condition of entitlement. However, where the claim is preferred after 15 years of discharge/retirement/invalidment/release... the onus to prove the entitlement would lie on the claimant'). The Court agreed with High Court judgments in Bhaskaran, Anil Madso, and Col. Balbir Singh that Rule 7 does not exonerate the establishment from the burden of proof for claims filed within 15 years, preserving the employer’s primary responsibility to disprove attributability.

For aggravation, the Court noted that Rule 20 of the 1982 Rules and Rule 11 of the 2008 Rules are identical in substance, both conceding aggravation unless specifically disproved, with the 2008 Rule adding clarification that aggravation exists if the onset is hastened or subsequent course worsened by specific service conditions.

Where the cause of disease is unknown, Rule 20(a) of the 1982 Rules and Rule 10(b)(iii) of the 2008 Rules parallel each other, both conceding attributability if the presumption of entitlement is not rebutted by authorities, with the 2008 Rule specifying that attributability is based on clinical picture and current scientific medical application.

The Court concluded that the Entitlement Rules 2008, even if valid, do not dismantle the claimant-protective structure of the 1982 Rules. The beneficial provisions - presumption of attributability for claims within 15 years, burden on employer to disprove, benefit of reasonable doubt, and rules for unknown causation - largely remain intact. The only material change is the 15-year proviso in Rule 7 shifting burden to the claimant for belated claims. The Court emphasized that principles from Dharamvir Singh, including the presumption of sound health at enrolment absent contrary evidence and the requirement for Medical Boards to state reasons for opinions, continue to apply, particularly as the Raksha Mantri Report affirmed that disabilities arising in service or authorized leave are attributable or aggravated by military service in all democracies.

The Verdict

The appeals were dismissed on the grounds of delay as well as on merits. The Court held that no case for interference was made out in the present Special Leave Petitions and Civil Appeals. Specifically, it affirmed that the Entitlement Rules 2008 lack legal validity due to improper promulgation, and even if presumed valid, they do not substantively alter the entitlement framework such that Dharamvir Singh v. Union of India (2013) 7 SCC 316 cannot be applied. The Court expressly declined to award costs. Notably, it highlighted that out of around 271 Civil Appeals and Special Leave Petitions of this nature, most are barred by limitation, with only a small number surviving; before the First Appellate Authority, 2,855 of 2,997 claims were rejected on limitation grounds, and before the Second Appellate Authority, 439 of 456 appeals were rejected for the same reason.

What This Means For Similar Cases

Presumption of Attributability Remains Intact for Timely Claims

For disability pension claims filed within 15 years of discharge or retirement, the employer bears the burden of disproving attributability to military service. The presumption that a service member entered service in sound physical and mental health (absent noted disabilities) continues to operate, meaning any deterioration in health post-enrolment is presumed attributable to service unless the employer affirmitively proves otherwise. Medical Board opinions must be given due weight, and courts cannot substitute their own medical conclusions absent clear defect such as lack of reasons or failure to consider germane material.

Belated Claims Trigger Burden Shift After 15 Years

If a disability pension claim is preferred more than 15 years after discharge, retirement, invalidment, or release, the onus shifts to the claimant to prove the conditions of entitlement, including attributability, aggravation, and the 20% disability threshold. This reflects the practical reality that service documents are typically destroyed after the prescribed retention period, making it impossible for the employer to rebut the presumption of attributability. Practitioners must advise clients to file claims promptly to avoid this burden shift.

Medical Board Opinions Require Reasoned Conclusions

The judgment reinforces that a mere NANA classification by a Medical Board without supporting reasons is unsustainable in law. Boards must articulate the basis for their opinion, particularly addressing whether the disease could have been detected prior to enrolment and why it is not deemed to have arisen during service. Where no disability was noted at enrolment, the Board must explain why the condition will not be deemed to have arisen in service, referencing etiology, service conditions, and other relevant particulars. This requirement ensures that denials of disability pension are based on reasoned medical judgment rather than mechanical application of rules.

Case Details

UNION OF INDIA vs NC ISAAC (RETD.)

2026 INSC 993
PDF
Court
Supreme Court of India
Date
2026-09-15
Case Number
C.A. No.-012885-012885 - 2026
Bench
HON'BLE MR. JUSTICE PAMIDIGHANTAM SRI NARASIMHA, HON'BLE MR. JUSTICE ALOK ARADHE
Counsel
Pet: Learned Attorney General
Res: Mr. Sudhanshu Pandey, Mr. M.V. Mukunda, Brig. Shrivastava, Mr. U.S. Maurya, Col. Naresh Ghai, Mr. Siddharth Agarwal, Mr. Girish Kumar, Mr. Ajit Kakkar, Mr. Praveen Kumar, Mr. Aditya Puar, Col. I.S. Singh, Mr. Baldev Singh, Mr. Maheravesh Rein, Mr. Vivekbhai Patel, Ms. Kanti

Frequently Asked Questions

Ordinarily, the claimant is not called upon to prove entitlement; the burden lies on the employer to disprove attributability, with the claimant receiving the benefit of reasonable doubt. This shifts to the claimant only if the claim is filed after 15 years of discharge when service documents may be destroyed.
No. Mere manifestation of a disease during service does not per se establish attributability or aggravation by military service. Attributability requires a causal connection between the disease and service conditions, which must be affirmatively established by appropriate authorities.
The Medical Board must state reasons for its opinion, including explaining why the disease could not have been detected prior to enrolment and why it is not deemed to have arisen during service, referencing etiology, service conditions, and other relevant particulars. A mere conclusion without reasons is unsustainable in law.
0

Disclaimer

This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. The views expressed are based on the judgment analysis and should not be taken as professional counsel. Please consult with a qualified attorney for advice specific to your situation.