
The National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission overturned earlier consumer commission awards, holding that the group personal accident policy issued by Bajaj Allianz to Road Safety Club had terminated in August 2008, that no premium was paid thereafter, and consequently no insurable contract existed at the time of the 2010 accident.
Background & Facts
The Dispute
The petitioner, Bajaj Allianz General Insurance Company Limited, issued a master group personal accidental policy to Road Safety Club Private Limited (the Club) for the benefit of its members. The policy was intended to run for eight years from 25 October 2003. The Club later terminated the arrangement in September 2008, a fact communicated to the insurer on 26 February 2011. The dispute arose over whether the policy continued after that date and whether any premium was paid for the period covering the accidental death of K. Subba Rao on 12 June 2010.
Key Facts
- Master policy effective from 25 October 2003 for an eight-year term.
- Arrangement terminated since September 2008; insurer notified by a letter dated 26 February 2011.
- Club sent notice to its members on 14 July 2008 stating that the complimentary insurance cover would cease from 1 August 2008.
- Accident leading to claim occurred on 12 June 2010.
- Claim rejected by the Insurance Ombudsman on 8 June 2011, which held that no policy existed after 2008.
- District Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, Rajahmundry, allowed the claim and directed payment of Rs 3,00,000 on 19 August 2014.
- State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, Andhra Pradesh, upheld the District Commission order on 16 July 2021.
- The insurer filed a Revision Petition before the NCDRC in 2022 (Revision Petition No. 684 of 2022).
Procedural History
- 25 Oct 2003: Master group personal accidental policy issued.
- 14 July 2008: Club’s notice to members announcing termination effective 1 Aug 2008.
- Sept 2008: Arrangement between insurer and Club ceased.
- 12 June 2010: Accidental death of K. Subba Rao.
- 8 June 2011: Insurance Ombudsman order rejecting claim.
- 26 Feb 2011: Insurer’s letter confirming termination of arrangement.
- 19 Aug 2014: District Consumer Commission order directing Rs 3,00,000 payment to claimants.
- 16 July 2021: State Consumer Commission order upholding District Commission’s award.
- 2022: Revision Petition No. 684 of 2022 filed before NCDRC.
- 31 August 2026: NCDRC judgment pronounced.
Relief Sought
The petitioner sought (i) setting aside of the District and State Commission orders, (ii) declaration that no insurance contract existed after August 2008, and (iii) refund of any amount already deposited with the consumer fora.
The Legal Issue
Whether, under Section 64VB of the Insurance Act, 1938, the insurer was liable for a claim arising from an accident that occurred after the termination of the group policy and in the absence of any premium payment, and whether the lack of privity of contract between the insurer and the individual members barred the claim.
Arguments Presented
For the Petitioner
- Asserted that the master policy was contingent upon the continued arrangement with the Club; the arrangement ended in September 2008.
- Submitted the Club’s notice of termination dated 14 July 2008 as conclusive evidence that no insurance cover existed after 1 August 2008.
- Emphasised that no premium was paid for the period 25 January 2010 to 24 January 2011, and that the insurer had not received any such payment.
- Relied on Section 64VB of the Insurance Act, 1938, which prohibits insurers from issuing or continuing coverage unless the premium is paid.
- Highlighted the absence of privity of contract between the insurer and the individual members, making any claim by them legally untenable.
For the Respondents
- Contended that the policy remained in force beyond August 2008 and that premiums for the year 2010-11 had been paid, albeit not evidenced in the insurer’s records.
- Argued that the beneficiaries were entitled to claim under the group policy as per the terms and conditions of membership.
- Relied on the District and State Commission findings that the arrangement continued and that the claim was therefore payable.
The Court's Analysis
The Commission examined the contractual nexus between the insurer and the Club. It observed that the master policy was a group personal accidental policy whose benefits were extended to members only through the Club’s continued arrangement. The termination letter dated 26 February 2011 and the Club’s own notice of 14 July 2008 unequivocally demonstrated that the arrangement ceased in September 2008, and that the insurer had been instructed to stop issuing certificates of insurance thereafter.
"The insurance was dependent upon the continuance of the arrangement with the Club. This arrangement was withdrawn by the Road Safety Club itself as is evident from the letters extracted above..."
The Commission noted that Section 64VB of the Insurance Act, 1938 expressly obliges insurers not to issue or continue coverage unless the premium is paid. No documentary evidence was produced to substantiate the claim that a premium for 25 January 2010-24 January 2011 had been remitted. Consequently, the insurer could not be said to have a contractual liability for the accident that occurred on 12 June 2010.
Furthermore, the Commission reiterated the principle of privity of contract: the insurer’s contract was with the Club, not with the individual members. Without a direct contractual relationship, the members could not enforce the policy. The earlier consumer commission orders were found to be based on an erroneous factual premise that the policy continued beyond September 2008.
In light of these findings, the Commission concluded that the District and State Commission decisions were contrary to the record and the statutory framework, and therefore could not be sustained.
The Verdict
The NCDRC set aside the District Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission order of 19 August 2014 directing Rs 3,00,000 to the claimants and the State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission order of 16 July 2021. It held that no insurance contract existed at the time of the 2010 accident, and ordered that any amount already deposited by the insurer with the lower fora be refunded to the insurer. No monetary award was made to the claimants.
What This Means For Similar Cases
Termination of Group Policies Is Controlling
- Insurers must obtain clear, documented confirmation of termination from the group organizer.
- Beneficiaries cannot claim benefits after the termination date unless a new contract is executed.
Premium Payment Must Be Proven
- Parties asserting that a premium was paid after a termination must produce contemporaneous evidence such as receipts or bank statements.
- Absence of such proof will lead courts to apply Section 64VB and deny liability.
Privity Remains a Barrier
- Individual members of a group policy do not enjoy direct contractual rights against the insurer.
- Claims must be pursued against the group organizer, who is the contractual party.






