
The Punjab and Haryana High Court has reaffirmed that deliberate non-disclosure of pre-existing critical illness vitiates a life insurance contract, and acceptance of an ex gratia payment as full and final settlement operates as a conclusive bar to future claims. This ruling reinforces foundational principles of insurance law and the doctrine of estoppel.
Background & Facts
The Dispute
The appellant, Pargan Singh, challenged the dismissal of his suit for declaration seeking enforcement of a life insurance policy taken by his wife, Simarjeet Kaur, from the Life Insurance Corporation of India (LIC). The policy was issued on 14.08.1989. Simarjeet Kaur died on 30.01.1991. LIC repudiated the claim on 30.03.1992, alleging that she had concealed material health information at the time of policy issuance.
Key Facts
- Simarjeet Kaur was diagnosed with Hodgkin’s Lymphoma and suffered from chronic fever prior to policy issuance.
- Medical records from Civil Hospital, Jalandhar, show she was admitted from 08.12.1989 to 21.12.1989, with a two-year history of chronic fever.
- Records from C.M.C., Ludhiana, confirm multiple admissions in 1990 and diagnosis of Hodgkin’s Lymphoma, with fever present for at least one year prior.
- In the proposal form dated 14.08.1989, the insured declared herself to be in good health and denied any prior illness or treatment.
- LIC repudiated the claim on 30.03.1992, citing material suppression.
- On 02.06.1992, the appellant wrote to LIC requesting refund of premiums on an ex gratia basis.
- LIC paid Rs. 15,434/- on 15.06.1992, which the appellant accepted via receipt Ex.D12, acknowledging it as "full and final settlement, satisfaction, and discharge of all claims."
- The appellant signed both the request letter (Ex.D11) and the receipt (Ex.D12), admitting their authenticity during cross-examination.
- The appellant filed a suit for declaration on 07.06.1993, seeking enforcement of the policy and payment of the sum assured.
Procedural History
- 14.08.1989: Life insurance policy issued by LIC to Simarjeet Kaur.
- 08.12.1989 to 21.12.1989: Insured admitted at Civil Hospital, Jalandhar, with chronic fever.
- 1990: Multiple hospitalizations at C.M.C., Ludhiana; diagnosed with Hodgkin’s Lymphoma.
- 30.01.1991: Death of the insured.
- 30.03.1992: LIC repudiated the claim on grounds of material suppression.
- 02.06.1992: Appellant requested ex gratia refund of premiums.
- 15.06.1992: LIC paid Rs. 15,434/-; appellant accepted via signed receipt Ex.D12.
- 20.03.1993: Appellant issued legal notice challenging repudiation.
- 07.06.1993: Suit for declaration filed before Civil Judge (Junior Division), Jalandhar.
- 18.01.1999: Trial Court dismissed the suit.
- 09.08.2000: First Appellate Court dismissed the appeal, affirming the trial court’s order.
- 2001: Regular Second Appeal filed before the Punjab and Haryana High Court.
- 16.03.2026: Judgment reserved.
- 24.03.2026: Judgment pronounced dismissing the appeal.
The Parties' Positions
Appellant’s Position: The insured was unaware of the severity of her condition; no fraudulent intent existed. Acceptance of Rs. 15,434/- was humanitarian and did not constitute a waiver of legal rights. Suit for declaration was maintainable.
Respondent’s Position: The insured knowingly concealed material facts about her health, violating the principle of uberrima fides. The ex gratia payment was accepted voluntarily with full knowledge, constituting accord and satisfaction, thereby extinguishing all claims.
Relief Sought
The appellant sought a declaration that the repudiation was illegal, enforcement of the insurance policy, and payment of the sum assured with interest. No specific monetary amount was claimed in the prayer, but the policy sum was implied.
The Legal Issue
The central question was whether the suppression of pre-existing material health conditions vitiates a life insurance contract, and whether acceptance of an ex gratia payment marked as "full and final settlement" operates as an estoppel barring subsequent legal claims.
Arguments Presented
For the Appellant
Counsel relied on LIC of India v. Smt. G.M. Channabasemma, Manmohan Nanda v. United India Assurance Co. Ltd., and Girdharilal Ratnalal Barker v. Palaniappa Mudali to argue that mere non-disclosure does not automatically void a policy unless it is shown to be fraudulent or material. He contended that the insured lacked knowledge of her illness, and the ex gratia payment was not a voluntary waiver but a coerced compromise under financial distress. He further argued that a suit for declaration is maintainable under Section 34 of the Specific Relief Act even without claiming recovery, as the legal right to claim under the policy remained in dispute.
For the Respondent
Counsel relied on Satwant Kaur Sandhu v. New India Assurance Co. Ltd., New India Assurance Co. Ltd. v. Genus Power Infrastructure Ltd., and United India Assurance Co. Ltd. v. PEPSU Road Transport Corporation to assert that insurance contracts are governed by uberrima fides. Any concealment of material facts, especially of a life-threatening illness, renders the contract voidable. The appellant’s voluntary acceptance of the ex gratia payment, documented in a signed receipt stating "full and final settlement," constituted accord and satisfaction, extinguishing the cause of action. The suit for declaration without consequential relief was also argued to be non-maintainable under Section 34 of the Specific Relief Act.
The Court's Analysis
The Court examined the nature of insurance contracts and the legal consequences of non-disclosure. It held that the principle of uberrima fides imposes a strict duty on the proposer to disclose all material facts. The Court found that Hodgkin’s Lymphoma and chronic fever, both documented in hospital records prior to policy issuance, were clearly material to the risk assessment by LIC.
"The insured, in the proposal form, falsely declared herself to be in good health and denied any prior illness or treatment. These incorrect statements and non-disclosures constitute clear suppression of material facts, which go to the root of the contract of insurance and vitiate the very foundation of the policy."
The Court further emphasized that the appellant’s conduct after repudiation was decisive. He initiated the request for refund on an ex gratia basis, accepted the payment, and signed a receipt explicitly stating it was "in full and final settlement, satisfaction, and discharge of all claims." His admission during cross-examination that he signed both documents rendered his later claim legally untenable.
"The appellant, having voluntarily accepted the said amount without any protest, coercion, or undue influence, is estopped from raising the present claim. The conduct of the appellant clearly establishes accord and satisfaction, thereby extinguishing any surviving cause of action."
The Court rejected the argument that the payment was merely humanitarian, noting that the appellant himself initiated the request and accepted the terms. The doctrine of estoppel by conduct applied squarely, preventing the appellant from approbating and reprobating. The findings of the Courts below were upheld as based on proper appreciation of evidence and correct application of law.
The Verdict
The appeal was dismissed. The High Court upheld the judgments and decrees of the trial court and first appellate court. The appellant’s claim for declaration and enforcement of the policy was rejected. The acceptance of Rs. 15,434/- as full and final settlement operated as a conclusive bar to any further claim under the policy. No monetary relief was granted beyond the amount already paid. The miscellaneous applications were disposed of.
What This Means For Similar Cases
Ex Gratia Payments Can Be Binding Settlements
- Practitioners must advise clients that accepting any payment marked as "full and final settlement," even if labeled "ex gratia," may extinguish legal rights if signed voluntarily.
- The label "ex gratia" does not automatically negate legal effect; the context of acceptance and language of the receipt are decisive.
- In insurance disputes, clients should never sign discharge receipts without legal advice.
Material Suppression Voiding Policies Is Well-Established
- Insurers may repudiate claims where pre-existing conditions are concealed, even if the insured claims ignorance, if medical records confirm prior diagnosis.
- Courts will rely on contemporaneous medical records over oral testimony of the insured or family members.
- The burden shifts to the proposer to prove non-suppression; silence on material facts is not protected.
Declaration Suits Without Consequential Relief Are Risky
- While Section 34 of the Specific Relief Act permits suits for declaration, this judgment reinforces that courts will scrutinize whether the declaration serves a practical purpose.
- Where a claim has been extinguished by conduct (e.g., acceptance of settlement), a declaration suit will be dismissed as infructuous.
- Practitioners should avoid filing declaration suits alone in insurance disputes unless the legal right remains genuinely contested and unsettled.






