Case Law Analysis

Motor Insurance Claim Denial | Failure to Dispute Repair Estimate or Provide Contrary Evidence Constitutes Deficiency in Service : NCDRC

The NCDRC ruled that an insurer’s refusal to settle a motor insurance claim without challenging the repair estimate or submitting opposing evidence amounts to deficiency in service under the Consumer Protection Act. This sets a clear precedent: insurers must actively justify denials, not remain passive, protecting policyholders from arbitrary claim rejections.

Cassie News NetworkCassie News Network
Apr 27, 2026, 7:40 PM(Updated: Nov 3, 2026)
•6 min read
Be the first to share in your circle
Motor Insurance Claim Denial | Failure to Dispute Repair Estimate or Provide Contrary Evidence Constitutes Deficiency in Service : NCDRC

The National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission has clarified that an insurer’s failure to challenge a repair estimate or provide credible contrary evidence constitutes deficiency in service under the Consumer Protection Act. This judgment reinforces the insurer’s duty to act diligently and transparently when assessing claims, particularly where the insured has cooperated fully.

Background & Facts

The Dispute

The complainant, M/s Raja Rajeshwari Minerals Private Limited, held a motor insurance policy with Universal Sompo General Insurance Company Limited for an Ashok Leyland lorry bearing registration No. AP 29 TA 8609, valid from 09.06.2012 to 08.06.2013. On 04.10.2012, the vehicle was involved in a collision with another truck, resulting in extensive damage. The complainant immediately intimated the insurer and the vehicle was taken to Gudivada Vari Garage - Shri Laxmi Vigneshwara Body Building Works, Hyderabad, for assessment.

Key Facts

  • The accident occurred on 04.10.2012 within the policy period.
  • The insurer appointed a surveyor who visited the accident site on 23.10.2012 and recorded the driver’s name as Shri Nagaraju, matching the driving licence submitted by the complainant.
  • The garage submitted a repair estimate of Rs. 8,10,200/- on 02.04.2013.
  • On 18.03.2013, the insurer requested the driver’s licence and other documents, which the complainant furnished on 02.04.2013.
  • The insurer’s surveyor later reduced the estimated loss to Rs. 2,82,999/- in a report dated 30.11.2012, without providing any basis for the reduction.
  • The insurer neither accepted nor repudiated the claim, leading the complainant to file a consumer complaint.
  • An FIR No. 134/2012 was registered on 05.10.2012 concerning the death of Bathula Adinarayana, a cleaner in the vehicle, but no evidence linked him to driving the insured lorry.

Procedural History

  • 04.10.2012: Accident occurred.
  • 23.10.2012: Surveyor’s initial report filed, naming Nagaraju as driver.
  • 30.11.2012: Surveyor’s revised estimate of Rs. 2,82,999/- issued without justification.
  • 02.04.2013: Complainant submitted documents as requested.
  • 20.02.2018: State Consumer Commission dismissed the insurer’s appeal and upheld the District Forum’s order.
  • 12.06.2017: Complaint filed before District Forum-III, Hyderabad.
  • 15.01.2018: District Forum ordered payment of Rs. 8,10,200/- + Rs. 1 lakh compensation + Rs. 2,000/- cost.
  • 20.02.2018: State Commission dismissed appeal (FA No. 473 of 2017).
  • 14.11.2018: Revision Petition No. 1459 of 2018 filed before NCDRC.
  • 23.04.2026: NCDRC delivered judgment.

The Parties' Positions

Complainant: Argued that the insurer failed to dispute the repair estimate, did not share survey reports, and raised unsubstantiated allegations about the driver’s identity. The claim was fully documented and the insurer’s inaction amounted to deficiency in service.

Insurer (Petitioner): Contended that the driver at the time of accident was Bathula Adinarayana (the deceased cleaner), not Nagaraju, and that the repair estimate was inflated. Also claimed the complaint was premature as no formal repudiation had been issued. Relied on multiple precedents to argue for claim rejection.

Relief Sought

The complainant sought payment of Rs. 8,10,200/- for repair costs, Rs. 1,00,000/- as compensation for loss of earnings, Rs. 2,000/- as costs, and 9% interest from 01.01.2016 until realization. The insurer sought dismissal of the claim entirely.

The central question was whether an insurer’s failure to dispute a repair estimate submitted by the insured, coupled with the absence of credible evidence to rebut the claim, constitutes deficiency in service under the Consumer Protection Act.

Arguments Presented

For the Appellant/Petitioner

The insurer’s counsel argued that the complainant failed to produce original repair bills, submitted a false driving licence (claiming Nagaraju was driving when Adinarayana was), and that the surveyor’s reduced estimate of Rs. 2,82,999/- should have been accepted. Reliance was placed on Oriental Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Sony Cheriyan, United India Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Harchand Rai Chandan Lal, and Khatema Fibres Ltd. v. New India Assurance Co. Ltd. to assert that claims must be substantiated with original documents and that suspicion of fraud justifies denial.

For the Respondent/State

The complainant’s counsel countered that the insurer never disputed the estimate in writing, never inspected the garage’s records, and never shared its survey reports with the complainant. The allegation that the cleaner was driving was speculative, unsupported by police investigation, and contradicted by the surveyor’s own initial report. The insurer’s inaction amounted to unfair trade practice and deficiency in service.

The Court's Analysis

The NCDRC examined the insurer’s conduct under the principle that deficiency in service arises when a service provider fails to meet the standard expected under the contract or applicable norms. The Court noted that the insurer had ample opportunity to investigate the claim but chose not to.

"There is absolutely no evidence on record led by the Insurance Company/OP to infer that the insured vehicle was driven by the said deceased Cleaner (Bathula Adinarayana) at the time of the accident. The suspicion cast by the Surveyor appointed by the opposite party merely remains an assumption on record."

The Court emphasized that the insurer’s revised estimate of Rs. 2,82,999/- was arbitrary and unsupported by any breakdown or justification. The complainant’s estimate from a recognized garage remained unchallenged. The insurer’s failure to produce the survey report prior to litigation further weakened its position.

The Court distinguished the cited precedents, noting they involved clear fraud, forged documents, or non-disclosure of material facts - none of which were established here. The insurer’s reliance on DLF Homes Panchkula Pvt. Ltd. v. D.S. Dhanda was accepted only to the extent that multiple compensations for a single deficiency are impermissible.

The Court held that the concurrent findings of the District Forum and State Commission on liability were well-reasoned and based on uncontroverted evidence. The insurer’s silence and inaction, despite having the means to verify the claim, amounted to a clear deficiency in service.

The Verdict

The revision petition was partially allowed. The NCDRC set aside the award of Rs. 1,00,000/- as compensation for loss of earnings, holding it unjustified under DLF Homes. The insurer is directed to pay Rs. 8,10,200/- as claim amount, Rs. 2,000/- as costs, and 9% interest from 01.01.2016 until realization. No further costs are awarded. The order is effective immediately, with compliance expected within 30 days.

What This Means For Similar Cases

Insurer’s Burden to Dispute Estimates Is Non-Negotiable

  • Practitioners must argue that insurers cannot remain passive - silence after receiving a claim and estimate constitutes deficiency.
  • Insurers must issue written repudiation with specific grounds and supporting evidence within a reasonable time.
  • Failure to share survey reports with the insured before litigation is a procedural flaw that weakens the insurer’s case.

Suspicion Alone Cannot Justify Claim Denial

  • Allegations of driver substitution must be backed by police reports, forensic evidence, or credible witness testimony.
  • Mere internal surveyor suspicions, without corroboration, are legally insufficient to repudiate claims.
  • Courts will not permit insurers to use speculative theories to avoid liability when the insured has complied with all documentation requirements.

Repair Estimates from Recognized Garages Are Presumptively Reliable

  • In the absence of contrary evidence from the insurer, estimates from established repair workshops are admissible and credible.
  • Insurers must either accept the estimate or provide a detailed, itemized counter-estimate from a qualified assessor.
  • Arbitrarily reducing estimates without justification invites liability under consumer law.

Case Details

Universal Sompo General Insurance Company Limited v. M/s Raja Rajeshwari Minerals Private Limited

Judgment
Court
National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission
Date
23 April 2026
Case Number
Revision Petition No. 1459 of 2018
Bench
AVM J. Rajendra, AVSM VSM (Retd.), Justice Anoop Kumar Mendiratta
Counsel
Pet: Mr. D. Vardarajan, Mr. Rajat Khattry
Res: Mr. Kande Venkatesh Gupta

Frequently Asked Questions

No. The NCDRC held that mere suspicion by a surveyor, without police investigation or corroborative evidence, is insufficient to repudiate a claim. The burden lies on the insurer to prove fraud or misrepresentation.
Not necessarily. The NCDRC found that a detailed estimate from a recognized garage, supported by photographs and documentation, is sufficient where the insurer fails to dispute it or provide a counter-estimate.
Deficiency arises when an insurer fails to investigate, delays unreasonably, ignores submitted documents, or refuses to settle without valid grounds. Silence and inaction after receiving a claim and estimate qualify as deficiency.
0

Disclaimer

This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. The views expressed are based on the judgment analysis and should not be taken as professional counsel. Please consult with a qualified attorney for advice specific to your situation.