
The Supreme Court has decisively affirmed that casual labourers conferred temporary status and who render over a decade of continuous service are entitled to pensionary benefits under statutory rules, even in the absence of formal regularisation. This landmark ruling reinforces the constitutional principle that long-serving employees cannot be denied earned social security on technical grounds of administrative inaction.
Background & Facts
The Dispute
The Appellants in these Civil Appeals are either former casual labourers or their legal representatives who served as Night Guards in the Department of Posts for decades. They were engaged as daily-wage casual labourers but were later granted temporary status under the Department’s 1991 Scheme, following the Supreme Court’s directive in Jagrit Mazdoor Union v. Mahanagar Telephone Nigam Ltd. Despite performing duties identical to regular Group ‘D’ employees and receiving parity in pay, leave, GPF, and other benefits, they were never formally regularised. Upon retirement, their claims for pension and family pension were rejected solely on the ground of non-regularisation.
Key Facts
- Late Suraj Sah was appointed as a casual labourer (Night Guard) on 12.02.1972 at Rajnagar Post Office, Madhubani, Bihar.
- Bahuru Sahu was appointed on 10.10.1971.
- Pitamber Jha was appointed on 20.06.1981.
- All three were conferred temporary status under the Department’s Casual Labourers (Grant of Temporary Status and Regularisation) Scheme, 1991, effective from 29.11.1989.
- On 30.11.1992, the Department issued a circular directing that after three years of continuous service in temporary status, these employees be treated at par with temporary Group ‘D’ employees for all service benefits, including leave, holidays, GPF, medical aid, LTC, and pension.
- Late Suraj Sah retired on 31.12.2008 after 36 years of service.
- Bahuru Sahu retired on 30.04.2008 after 37 years of service.
- Pitamber Jha retired on 31.10.2015 after 34 years of service.
- None of the Appellants were formally regularised as Group ‘D’ employees during their service tenure.
- Late Suraj Sah passed away on 10.04.2015. His widow, Bhikhani Devi, applied for family pension.
- Representations for pension were made by Bhikhani Devi (2016), Bahuru Sahu (2016), and Pitamber Jha (2017), all of which were rejected.
Procedural History
- 27.03.2018: Central Administrative Tribunal (CAT), Patna, allowed Bhikhani Devi’s OA No. 050/00372/2017, directing consideration of her claim.
- 30.07.2018: CAT allowed Bahuru Sahu’s OA No. 050/00081/2018.
- 03.08.2018: CAT allowed Pitamber Jha’s OA No. 050/00609/2017.
- 14.10.2019: High Court of Judicature at Patna allowed the Union’s writ petitions, setting aside the CAT orders on grounds of delay and lack of regularisation.
- 28802-28804/2019: Special Leave Petitions filed before the Supreme Court on 28.12.2019.
- 01.06.2026: Judgment delivered by the Supreme Court.
The Parties' Positions
For the Appellants: Argued that the Scheme and the 30.11.1992 circular extended all benefits admissible to temporary Group ‘D’ employees, including pension under Rule 10(1-B) of the CCS (Temporary Service) Rules, 1965. Relied on Jagrit Mazdoor Union, Vinod Kumar, Jaggo, and Yashwant Hari Katakkar to assert that long, continuous service entitles one to pension irrespective of nomenclature. Contended that Clause 6 of the Scheme merely provides for counting 50% of service upon regularisation, not as a precondition for entitlement.
For the Respondent (Union of India): Contended that only formally regularised Group ‘D’ employees are eligible for pension. Relied on Clause 6 and Clause 7 of the 1991 Scheme to argue that pensionary benefits are contingent upon regularisation. Asserted that Appellants were paid out of contingencies and thus excluded from CCS (Temporary Service) Rules, 1965. Invoked Indian Council of Agricultural Research v. Santosh to argue that absence of regularisation negates pensionary rights. Claimed financial burden as a justification.
Relief Sought
The Appellants sought:
- Recognition of their service from the date of conferment of temporary status as qualifying service for pension.
- Grant of superannuation pension and family pension under CCS (Pension) Rules, 1972.
- Payment of arrears of pension with interest.
- Setting aside of the High Court’s impugned judgments.
The Legal Issue
The central question was whether a casual labourer conferred temporary status under the Department of Posts’ 1991 Scheme, who has rendered over ten years of continuous service after attaining parity with temporary Group ‘D’ employees, is entitled to pensionary benefits under Rule 10(1-B) of the CCS (Temporary Service) Rules, 1965, even in the absence of formal regularisation.
Arguments Presented
For the Appellant
The Appellants relied on Jagrit Mazdoor Union to establish that temporary status entitles employees to all benefits of Group ‘D’ employees. They argued that the 30.11.1992 circular’s use of the phrase “such as” rendered the listed benefits illustrative, not exhaustive, thereby including pension. They cited Vinod Kumar and Jaggo to assert that functional parity overrides nomenclature. They further invoked Rule 10(1-B) of the CCS (Temporary Service) Rules, 1965, which explicitly grants pension to temporary government servants with ten years of service. The Appellants contended that the State’s failure to regularise them cannot defeat a statutory and constitutional right.
For the Respondent
The Union contended that Clause 6 of the Scheme explicitly ties pension entitlement to formal regularisation. It argued that the Appellants remained “temporary status casual labourers,” distinct from “temporary government servants” governed by the CCS (Temporary Service) Rules, 1965. It relied on Rule 1(4)(d) and (e) of those Rules to claim exclusion of employees paid from contingencies. The Union also invoked Indian Council of Agricultural Research v. Santosh to argue that absence of regularisation bars pension claims. Financial constraints were cited as a policy justification for denying benefits.
The Court's Analysis
The Court undertook a holistic interpretation of the 1991 Scheme and the 30.11.1992 circular, rejecting a narrow, literal reading. It held that the Scheme was conceived as a progressive, beneficial framework to assimilate long-serving casual labourers into the regular service structure. The Court observed that the Scheme’s intent, as affirmed in Jagrit Mazdoor Union, was to extend all benefits admissible to Group ‘D’ employees upon completion of three years of temporary status.
"The expression ‘such as’ clearly indicates that the benefits enumerated therein are illustrative and neither restrictive nor exhaustive."
The Court distinguished between service status and service benefits. While the Appellants retained the nomenclature of “temporary status casual labourers,” their entitlements after 30.11.1992 were functionally identical to those of temporary Group ‘D’ employees. The Court held that once parity in benefits is extended, the statutory framework governing temporary government servants - specifically Rule 10(1-B) of the CCS (Temporary Service) Rules, 1965 - becomes applicable.
The Court rejected the Union’s argument that the Appellants were paid from contingencies and thus excluded from the Rules. It noted that the exclusion under Rule 1(4)(d) applies only at the stage of initial engagement as a casual labourer, not after the transformative benefits under the Scheme are conferred. The Court held that the State cannot selectively accept benefits (pay parity, GPF, leave) while denying pension.
The Court further held that Clause 6 of the Scheme - which provides for counting 50% of service rendered under temporary status upon regularisation - does not create the entitlement to pension but merely adds an additional benefit. The entitlement flows independently from Rule 10(1-B) upon completion of ten years of service in the status of a temporary Group ‘D’ employee.
The Court also dismissed the plea of delay and laches, holding that pension is a continuing cause of action. However, it limited arrears to three years and two months preceding the filing of the Original Applications before the Tribunal, consistent with service jurisprudence.
The Verdict
The Appellants succeeded. The Supreme Court set aside the High Court’s impugned judgments dated 14.10.2019. It held that temporary status casual labourers who have rendered over ten years of continuous service after attaining parity with temporary Group ‘D’ employees are entitled to pensionary benefits under Rule 10(1-B) of the CCS (Temporary Service) Rules, 1965, irrespective of formal regularisation. The Union is directed to compute and release pensionary and retiral benefits to Bhikhani Devi, Bahuru Sahu, and Pitamber Jha within three months. In case of default, interest at 6% per annum shall be payable from the date of accrual until disbursement. Arrears of pension shall be confined to the period of three years and two months preceding the filing of the Original Applications before the Tribunal.
What This Means For Similar Cases
Pension Entitlement Is Not Dependent on Regularisation
- Practitioners must now argue that where a casual labourer has been granted temporary status and extended benefits equivalent to temporary government employees for over ten years, pension under Rule 10(1-B) of the CCS (Temporary Service) Rules, 1965 accrues automatically.
- Administrative inaction or delay in regularisation cannot be used to deny a statutory right.
- The burden shifts to the employer to prove that the employee was never extended such parity.
Functional Parity Overrides Nomenclature
- The label “casual labourer” or “temporary status employee” is legally irrelevant if the service conditions, pay, leave, GPF, and benefits mirror those of temporary government servants.
- Courts will look at the substance of employment, not the form.
- Any policy or circular that distinguishes benefits based on nomenclature alone is vulnerable to challenge under Articles 14 and 300A.
Scheme Interpretation Must Be Beneficial and Harmonious
- Beneficial administrative schemes must be interpreted in their spirit, not their narrow wording.
- Phrases like “such as” in benefit lists are to be read expansively unless explicitly restricted.
- Clause 6 of the 1991 Scheme does not create a condition precedent for pension - it merely adds a multiplier for service counting upon regularisation.
Financial Burden Is Not a Valid Defence
- Pension is a constitutional right in the nature of property under Article 300A.
- Claims based on fiscal constraints or budgetary limitations are legally unsustainable.
- The State, as a model employer, is constitutionally obligated to honour long-term service commitments.
Arrears Are Limited, But Entitlement Is Absolute
- While the right to pension is retrospective, arrears are capped at three years and two months prior to the filing of the claim.
- This does not negate the right to future pension - only the back payment period is restricted.
- Practitioners must file claims promptly to preserve full arrears.






