
The West Bengal State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission affirmed that an insurer cannot invoke unwritten security requirements to repudiate a claim, confirming the complainant’s consumer status and ordering indemnity of Rs.44,53,950 with 9% interest and costs.
Background & Facts
The Dispute
The complainant, Poonawalla Fincorp Limited, held a Money Insurance Policy No. 311500/48/2015/4528 issued by Oriental Insurance Co. Ltd. and Magma Housing Finance Ltd. for the period 11 July 2014 to 10 July 2015, with a premium of Rs.33,73,721. The policy covered cash in transit up to Rs.3,000 crore and cash in safe up to Rs.80 crore. On 1 June 2015, five or six armed miscreants entered the complainant’s branch at about 1.20 p.m. and stole Rs.48.26 lakh that was being processed for remittance.
Key Facts
- Policy period: 11 July 2014 - 10 July 2015
- Premium paid: Rs.33,73,721/-
- Cover: Rs.3,000 crore (cash in transit), Rs.80 crore (cash in safe)
- Loss incurred: Rs.48.26 lakh on 1 June 2015
- Repudiation date: 17 July 2017, invoking Special Condition 1, General Conditions 3 & 4(c) and Exclusion 10
- Claim sought: Rs.48.26 lakh plus 12% interest from repudiation, Rs.10 lakh compensation for deficiency in service, Rs.5 lakh litigation costs
- Surveyor’s first assessment: Rs.44,53,950/-
- Police recovery: Rs.1.45 lakh (charge-sheet dated 31 August 2018)
- FIR: lodged under IPC section 395 on 1 June 2015
Procedural History
- 15 Nov 2018: Complaint instituted before the Commission
- 7 Dec 2018: Dismissed as not maintainable (pecuniary jurisdiction issue)
- 17 Feb 2020: NCDRC set aside dismissal and remitted for merits
- 9 Feb 2022: IA/76/2022 allowed insurer’s request to file written version beyond prescribed period
- 28 Feb 2022: IA/109/2022 allowed substitution of corporate name to Poonawalla Fincorp Ltd.
- 4 Aug 2022: Proceeding directed ex parte against pro forma parties Nos. 3 and 4
- 13 June 2022: Affidavit evidence affirmed by authorised signatory Mr. Sohail Alam
- 6 Apr 2023: IA/243/2023 allowed present authorised signatory Mr. Sabyasachi Sinha to adopt the affidavit evidence
- 29 July 2026: Matter heard and decided
The Parties' Positions
- Complainant: Argues that the policy must be construed as written; no express requirement for guard, CCTV or strong room; loss is covered; interest warranted; compensation for deficiency in service should be denied as duplicative.
- Insurer (Opposite Parties Nos. 1 & 2): Claims breach of reasonable care under General Condition 3; reliance on Exclusion 10 for negligence; seeks total repudiation of claim.
Relief Sought
- Reimbursement of Rs.48.26 lakh with 12% interest from repudiation date
- Compensation of Rs.10 lakh for deficiency in service and unfair trade practice
- Litigation costs of Rs.5 lakh
The Legal Issue
The central question was whether the insurer could lawfully repudiate the claim on the basis of Special Condition 1, General Conditions 3 & 4(c) and Exclusion 10, and, if not, what quantum of loss and consequential relief should be awarded.
Arguments Presented
For the Complainant
The complainant relied on the principle that an insurance contract must be interpreted according to its express terms, citing Suraj Mal Ram Niwas Oil Mills (P) Ltd. v. United India Insurance Co. Ltd. and the Supreme Court’s decision in National Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Harsolia Motors that the insured qualifies as a consumer under the Consumer Protection Act, 1986. It contended that no clause imposed a mandatory guard or CCTV, that the loss was proved on a preponderance of evidence, and that interest at a commercial rate was appropriate.
For the Insurer
The insurer argued that the complainant failed to take reasonable care as required by General Condition 3, that the absence of security safeguards triggered Exclusion 10, and that the irregular cash-book entry rendered the loss unsubstantiated. It sought total denial of the claim and reliance on the surveyor’s later recommendation to repudiate.
The Court's Analysis
The Commission first affirmed the complainant’s status as a consumer, relying on National Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Harsolia Motors (2023) 8 SCC 362, which extends consumer protection to insurance services. It rejected the insurer’s jurisdictional objection, noting that the pecuniary jurisdiction issue had been resolved by the NCDRC remand.
"The principle explained by the Supreme Court in National Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Harsolia Motors, (2023) 8 SCC 362, therefore supports the complainant's status as a consumer under the Consumer Protection Act, 1986."
The Court held that the armed dacoity, FIR, police recovery and the surveyor’s assessment established the occurrence and loss on the balance of probabilities. It applied the Suraj Mal Ram Niwas rule that policy terms are to be given their plain meaning and cannot be expanded to create unwritten warranties. Consequently, the insurer could not rely on the absence of a guard, CCTV or a strong room as a basis for exclusion.
Regarding Special Condition 1, the Court acknowledged the irregular practice of dating cash receipts but found that it did not invalidate the documented loss. The surveyor’s reconciliation of Rs.44,53,950 was accepted, while the unreconciled component of Rs.3,72,050 was excluded.
The Court examined General Condition 4(c) and found that the complainant had supplied all primary documents; the insurer failed to point to any missing evidence that would render the loss unprovable. The reliance on Exclusion 10 was dismissed because the clause required a causal link between negligence and loss, which the insurer did not establish.
On interest, the Commission deemed 9% per annum from the repudiation date to be a fair commercial rate, avoiding punitive excess. It declined a separate compensation award, noting that interest already covered the loss of use of money.
Finally, the Court addressed the police-recovered amount, holding that deduction is permissible only if the insurer can prove actual restoration to the complainant. In the absence of such proof, the full reconciled loss stands.
The Verdict
The Commission allowed the complaint in part against Oriental Insurance Co. Ltd. and Magma Housing Finance Ltd. It ordered the insurers to pay Rs.44,53,950, subject to deduction of any portion of the Rs.1.45 lakh police recovery that is proven to have been actually restored. The amount shall attract simple interest at 9% per annum from 17 July 2017 until payment. The insurers were also directed to pay Rs.1,00,000 as costs. Payment must be made within forty-five days of the order. No relief was granted against the pro forma parties.
What This Means For Similar Cases
Policy Terms Are Controlling
- Courts will interpret insurance contracts strictly according to their express wording.
- Unwritten security measures such as guards or CCTV cannot be read into the policy to create exclusions.
Exclusions Require Causal Link
- An exclusion clause based on negligence must be supported by clear evidence that the insured’s omission caused the loss.
- Mere irregularities in bookkeeping do not automatically trigger exclusion provisions.
Interest on Delayed Indemnity
- When an insurer unjustifiably delays payment, simple interest at a commercial rate (e.g., 9% p.a.) from the date of repudiation is appropriate.
- Separate compensation for deficiency in service is declined if interest already compensates the loss of use.
Practical Takeaways
- Draft policy conditions with explicit language if security measures are intended as conditions precedent.
- Preserve all primary documents; insurers must point out specific missing evidence to rely on exclusions.
- Calculate interest from the repudiation date, not from the date of loss, when awarding delayed indemnity.






