
The National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission has clarified that insurers cannot repudiate claims based on speculative assertions of pre-existing conditions without concrete medical documentation. This judgment reinforces the principle that exclusion clauses in insurance policies must be strictly construed and that the burden of proof lies squarely on the insurer.
Background & Facts
The Dispute
The complainants, Navneet Sureka (Complainant No. 1) and Price Waterhouse Coopers Service Delivery Center (Kolkata) Private Limited (Complainant No. 2), filed a complaint against Bajaj Allianz General Insurance Company Ltd (Opposite Party) for repudiating a valid insurance claim under an Overseas Travel Policy-Corporate. The complainant, employed by PwC and deputed to Dallas, USA, was hospitalized for 55 days in July - September 2017 with acute pancreatitis, diabetic ketoacidosis, and multi-organ complications. The insurer denied the claim on the ground that the condition arose from a pre-existing diabetes mellitus, despite the absence of any prior medical records confirming such a diagnosis.
Key Facts
- The employer, PwC SDC Kolkata, obtained a Master Policy (No. OG-17-2401-9911-00000002) from Bajaj Allianz on 06.10.2016, valid from 15.10.2016 to 14.10.2017
- An individual Insurance Schedule (No. OG-18-2401-7001-00000186) was issued to Navneet Sureka on 05.07.2017, valid from 10.07.2017 to 13.10.2017 (or return to India)
- The policy provided medical coverage up to USD 500,000 and hospitalization allowance of USD 25 per day (maximum USD 150)
- Navneet Sureka traveled to Dallas on 10.07.2017 and was admitted to Baylor University Medical Centre on 14.07.2017
- He remained hospitalized for 55 days (14.07.2017 to 06.09.2017), including intensive care
- Total hospital bills amounted to USD 328,038
- Bajaj Allianz was notified within 24 hours of hospitalization and initially acknowledged the claim via emails dated 28.07.2017 and 01.08.2017
- On 17.08.2017, the insurer repudiated the claim citing pre-existing diabetes mellitus
- PwC paid USD 4,11,333.31 to International SOS Assistance Inc. on 15.01.2018 to settle the medical bills
- The discharge summary from Baylor University Medical Centre dated 23.08.2017 explicitly stated: "No previous history of diabetes"
- The medical report dated 31.07.2017, obtained by Bajaj Allianz itself, also recorded "No prior history of diabetes" under Past Medical History
- Bajaj Allianz relied on an HbA1c level of 13.9 to infer long-standing hyperglycemia, but produced no prior prescriptions, diagnostic reports, or treatment records
- The complainant had previously received a claim settlement under the same policy in 2015 for unrelated medical treatment, with no mention of diabetes
Procedural History
- 10.07.2017: Complainant No. 1 departs for Dallas, USA
- 14.07.2017: Hospitalized at Baylor University Medical Centre
- 27.07.2017: PwC requests cashless facility from Bajaj Allianz
- 28.07.2017: Bajaj Allianz acknowledges claim and activates file
- 01.08.2017: Bajaj Allianz sends medical report (MGCC North America) to PwC
- 16.08.2017: Bajaj Allianz assures PwC of next steps
- 17.08.2017: Bajaj Allianz repudiates claim via email
- 18.09.2017: PwC sends medical evidence refuting pre-existing diabetes
- 15.01.2018: PwC pays USD 4,11,333.31 to International SOS
- 12.06.2018: Consumer Complaint No. 1167 of 2018 filed before NCDRC
- 17.02.2026: Judgment reserved
- 27.05.2026: Judgment pronounced
Relief Sought
The complainants sought:
- Reimbursement of USD 4,21,111.63 (medical expenses + service charges)
- Hospitalization allowance of USD 8,250 (USD 150/day for 55 days)
- Compensation of INR 50,00,000 for mental agony and harassment
- Punitive damages
- Interest at 18% per annum compounded annually from 17.08.2017 or alternatively 15.01.2018
- Costs of proceedings
The Legal Issue
The central question was whether an insurer can repudiate a claim under an overseas travel policy by relying solely on elevated HbA1c levels to infer a pre-existing condition, in the absence of any prior diagnosis, treatment records, or evidence that the insured was aware of the condition before policy issuance.
Arguments Presented
For the Petitioner
The complainants argued that the insurer failed to discharge the burden of proving a pre-existing condition. They relied on the discharge summary from Baylor University and the insurer’s own medical report dated 31.07.2017, both of which explicitly stated "no previous history of diabetes." They contended that HbA1c levels of 13.9 could result from acute pancreatitis-induced metabolic disturbances and do not conclusively prove prior disease. Expert medical opinion supported that diabetic ketoacidosis was a new presentation. They emphasized that the insurer had previously honored a claim under the same policy in 2015, negating any claim of concealment. The repudiation, they argued, was arbitrary and constituted deficiency in service under the Consumer Protection Act, 1986.
For the Respondent
Bajaj Allianz contended that the complainant lacked locus standi as the policy was issued to the employer, not the individual. It argued that since PwC paid the medical bills, the complainant suffered no loss, and insurance being a contract of indemnity, no claim could lie. On merits, it relied on HbA1c levels of 13.9 to infer uncontrolled diabetes over 120 days, asserting that the condition predated the policy. It cited Ravneet Singh Bagga v. KLM Royal Dutch Airlines to argue that a bona fide dispute does not amount to deficiency in service. It also invoked the principle of uberrima fides, alleging suppression of material facts.
The Court's Analysis
The Commission rejected the insurer’s preliminary objections, holding that the individual Insurance Schedule issued to the complainant created a direct contractual relationship, making him a consumer under the Act. The payment of medical expenses by the employer did not extinguish the insured’s right to claim under the policy, as the insurer’s refusal to provide cashless assistance forced the employer’s intervention.
"The burden to establish the applicability of exclusion clause, however, squarely rests upon the OP, which has not been discharged. No prior prescription, diagnostic report, hospitalization record or evidence of diabetes treatment prior to commencement of the policy has been placed on record by OP."
The Court emphasized that exclusion clauses in insurance contracts are to be strictly construed. Mere elevated HbA1c levels, without corroborating medical history or proof of the insured’s awareness, cannot establish a pre-existing condition. The insurer’s own medical report contradicted its repudiation, and its failure to produce any prior treatment records rendered its claim speculative.
The Court further held that the insurer’s conduct - initially acknowledging the claim, requesting records, and then abruptly repudiating without new evidence - demonstrated arbitrariness and lack of bona fides. The timing of hospitalization (four days after policy inception) could not, by itself, prove pre-existence. The Court noted that the insurer’s reliance on Ravneet Singh Bagga was misplaced, as that case involved a genuine medical dispute, whereas here, the insurer’s basis for repudiation was unsupported by evidence.
The Commission concluded that the insurer’s failure to honor its contractual obligations during a life-threatening emergency abroad amounted to deficiency in service under Section 2(1)(g) of the Consumer Protection Act, 1986.
The Verdict
The complainants succeeded. The NCDRC directed Bajaj Allianz to pay the Rupees equivalent of USD 3,28,188 (USD 328,038 medical expenses + USD 150 hospitalization allowance) as on 15.01.2018, the date PwC paid the bills. The insurer must pay simple interest at 7% per annum from 15.01.2018 until actual payment, increasing to 10% in case of delay beyond 30 days. Additionally, the insurer was directed to pay INR 50,000 as litigation costs. The claim for service charges, punitive damages, and higher hospitalization allowance was rejected.
What This Means For Similar Cases
Pre-Existing Condition Claims Require Documentary Proof
- Practitioners must insist that insurers produce prior medical records, prescriptions, or diagnostic reports to invoke exclusion clauses
- HbA1c levels alone are insufficient to prove pre-existing diabetes; metabolic stress from acute illness can elevate levels
- Insurers cannot rely on retrospective inferences without contemporaneous evidence
Burden of Proof Lies with the Insurer
- The insurer bears the burden to prove both the existence and the insured’s awareness of a pre-existing condition
- Failure to produce any prior treatment history invalidates repudiation, even if the condition is medically plausible
- Courts will not accept speculative medical opinions without supporting documentation
Repudiation During Emergency = Deficiency in Service
- Delay or refusal to provide cashless facilities during overseas medical emergencies constitutes deficiency in service
- Employers’ payments to cover insurer’s default do not extinguish the insured’s claim
- Arbitrariness in claim processing, even if followed by expert review, can amount to unfair trade practice






