
A significant precedent has been set by the State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, Chandigarh, affirming that a consumer’s signed authorization for an insurance product linked to a loan transaction constitutes valid consent, irrespective of subsequent claims of non-receipt of policy documents. This ruling clarifies the threshold for proving deficiency in service under the Consumer Protection Act, 2019, and reinforces the legal weight of documentary evidence over unsubstantiated allegations.
Background & Facts
The Dispute
The appellant, Sandhya Jain, filed a consumer complaint against Punjab National Bank (PNB) and PNB MetLife India Insurance Company Limited, alleging that she was coerced into purchasing a life insurance policy without her knowledge or consent during the process of obtaining a home loan. She claimed that an amount of ₹82,608 was deducted from her loan account on 23.06.2020 towards the premium of a policy she never applied for, never received documents for, and never authorized.
Key Facts
- The appellant applied for a home loan of ₹15,32,610 from Punjab National Bank on 22.06.2020
- On 23.06.2020, she signed a document labeled Annexure R-1, which contained a request to secure the loan through a life insurance policy with PNB MetLife
- On the same date, 23.06.2020, ₹82,608 was debited from her loan account towards the insurance premium
- The appellant discovered the deduction on 23.07.2020 during a financial audit by her Chartered Accountant
- She wrote to the bank on 26.05.2021 seeking cancellation and refund, receiving no response
- She issued a legal notice on 18.08.2021; the bank responded on 25.08.2021, asserting that the policy was issued at her request and delivered on 05.09.2020
- The appellant claimed she never received any policy document, schedule, or terms and conditions
- She alleged that she was made to sign approximately fifteen blank Special Transfer Vouchers (STVs) which were later misused for unauthorized deductions
- PNB MetLife admitted in its written statement that it could not retrieve policy records because the appellant had not provided the policy number or details
- On 01.04.2026, the Commission directed PNB MetLife to produce proof of delivery; on 26.05.2026, the insurer submitted an application citing a Speed Post tracking number EA402832784IN, with dispatch date 21.07.2020 and delivery status marked as delivered on 05.09.2020, supported by an affidavit from its Legal Manager
Procedural History
- 22.06.2020: Loan agreement executed; Annexure R-1 signed
- 23.06.2020: Premium of ₹82,608 deducted from loan account
- 23.07.2020: Appellant discovers unauthorized deduction
- 26.05.2021: First written complaint to bank seeking cancellation and refund
- 18.08.2021: Legal notice issued by appellant
- 25.08.2021: Bank’s reply asserting consent and delivery
- 2023: Consumer Complaint No.539 of 2023 filed before District Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission-I, Chandigarh
- 28.03.2025: District Commission dismisses complaint, holding consent established via Annexure R-1
- 26.06.2025: Appeal filed before State Consumer Commission
- 03.04.2025: Certified copy of District Commission’s order received by appellant
- 16.06.2026: State Commission delivers judgment dismissing appeal
The Parties' Positions
For the Appellant
- Asserted that she never applied for, understood, or consented to the insurance policy
- Claimed signatures on blank STVs were misused to deduct the premium
- Argued that non-supply of policy documents constitutes deficiency in service under Section 2(1)(g) of the Consumer Protection Act, 2019
- Relied on M/s Modern Insulators Ltd. v. Oriental Insurance Co. Ltd. and New India Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Jagtar Singh to argue that failure to supply policy terms invalidates coverage
- Cited Deepak Agnihotri & Anr. v. State Bank of India & Anr. to support claim of forced insurance
For the Respondents
- PNB contended that Annexure R-1 was duly signed by the appellant and constituted clear authorization
- PNB MetLife admitted inability to retrieve records due to lack of policy details from the appellant
- Both respondents denied any unfair trade practice or coercion
- Argued that the deduction coincided with the date of consent and was not unauthorized
- Submitted that delivery of policy documents, while relevant, is not a precondition for the validity of the insurance contract
Relief Sought
The appellant sought:
- Declaration that the insurance policy was procured without consent
- Refund of ₹82,608 with interest
- Compensation for mental agony and harassment
- Direction to the respondents to cease such practices
The Legal Issue
The central question was whether the non-supply of insurance policy documents constitutes deficiency in service under the Consumer Protection Act, 2019, when the consumer has signed a clear, written authorization for the policy’s issuance.
Arguments Presented
For the Appellant
The appellant’s counsel argued that the absence of policy documents - schedule, terms, conditions, or acknowledgment of receipt - renders the service defective under Section 2(1)(g). Reliance was placed on M/s Modern Insulators Ltd. and New India Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Jagtar Singh, where failure to supply policy terms was held to be deficiency. It was further contended that the bank’s use of blank STVs and failure to disclose the nature of documents signed amounted to unfair trade practice under Section 2(1)(r). The appellant emphasized that mere signature on a form does not imply understanding, especially when documents are presented in bulk without explanation.
For the Respondent
The respondents’ counsel countered that the signed Annexure R-1 was a standalone, unambiguous consent form authorizing the insurance linkage. They argued that the Supreme Court’s principle in S. R. Batliboi v. S. R. Batliboi - that a person signing a document is bound by its contents - applies here. They further submitted that the burden of proving fraud, coercion, or misrepresentation lies on the complainant, which was not discharged. The inability to produce policy records was attributed to the appellant’s failure to provide policy details, not to any omission by the insurer.
The Court's Analysis
The Commission undertook a meticulous review of the documentary evidence, particularly Annexure R-1, which bore the appellant’s signature dated 23.06.2020 and explicitly requested that the loan be secured through a MetLife insurance policy. The Court emphasized that the dispute was not about claim repudiation or policy interpretation, but about the very origin of the policy - whether it was procured with consent.
"A careful examination of the record reveals that the dispute in the present case does not relate to repudiation of any insurance claim on the basis of an exclusion clause or any term and condition of the policy. Rather, the core issue was whether the subject policy was obtained by the respondents without the consent and authorization of the appellant/complainant."
The Commission held that once a consumer signs a document authorizing a transaction, they cannot later evade its consequences merely by claiming ignorance or non-reading. The Court distinguished the precedents cited by the appellant, noting that those cases involved disputes over policy exclusions or claim denials, not the initial procurement of coverage. In this case, the policy was not imposed; it was requested.
The Court further rejected the claim of misuse of blank STVs as speculative and unsupported by evidence. The deduction occurred on the same day as the signed consent, and no contemporaneous protest was recorded. The insurer’s inability to produce policy records was explained by the appellant’s failure to provide policy details, and the subsequent submission of Speed Post delivery confirmation, though not conclusive, corroborated the bank’s claim of delivery.
"Mere non-production of proof regarding delivery of the policy document would not, by itself, invalidate a policy admittedly issued on the basis of a signed request form nor would it entitle the complainant to seek refund of the premium amount after having consciously availed the insurance cover."
The Commission concluded that the District Commission had correctly appreciated the evidence and that the appellant had failed to establish fraud, coercion, or misrepresentation. The burden of proof under consumer law does not shift to the service provider to disprove allegations unsupported by material evidence.
The Verdict
The appeal was dismissed. The State Consumer Commission upheld the District Commission’s order dated 28.03.2025, holding that the appellant’s signed consent form (Annexure R-1) established valid authorization for the insurance policy and the deduction of ₹82,608. No refund, compensation, or costs were awarded. The Commission found no deficiency in service or unfair trade practice. The complaint stands dismissed in its entirety.
What This Means For Similar Cases
Signed Consent Trumps Alleged Non-Delivery
- Practitioners must now treat a signed, unambiguous consent form as conclusive proof of authorization in insurance-linked loan transactions
- Absence of policy documents alone cannot establish deficiency in service if consent is documented
- Consumers must prove fraud, coercion, or misrepresentation to challenge such transactions
Burden of Proof Remains on Complainant
- Allegations of blank document misuse or hidden clauses require independent corroboration
- Vague assertions without supporting evidence will not override documentary proof
- Service providers are not obligated to prove delivery if the complainant fails to provide identifying details
Precedents on Non-Supply Are Context-Specific
- Cases like Modern Insulators and Jagtar Singh apply only where policy terms are invoked to deny claims
- They do not extend to cases where the issue is the initial procurement of coverage
- Lawyers must carefully distinguish between denial of benefits and denial of consent






