Case Law Analysis

PMSBY Premium Deduction Failure | Bank Liable for Insurance Lapse Despite Sufficient Balance : Uttarakhand SCDRC

Uttarakhand State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission holds banks strictly liable for failing to auto-debit PMSBY premiums, even with adequate account balance. The ruling establishes a duty of care in automated welfare schemes, entitling policyholders to insurance payouts for bank negligence.

Cassie News NetworkCassie News Network
May 20, 2026, 8:42 PM(Updated: Nov 3, 2026)
•7 min read
Be the first to share in your circle
PMSBY Premium Deduction Failure | Bank Liable for Insurance Lapse Despite Sufficient Balance : Uttarakhand SCDRC

The Uttarakhand State Consumer Commission has affirmed that banks acting as intermediaries under the Pradhan Mantri Suraksha Bima Yojana (PMSBY) bear a legal obligation to ensure automatic premium deduction when sufficient funds are available. This ruling clarifies the scope of service liability under the Consumer Protection Act, 1986, and sets a precedent for accountability in government-backed insurance schemes facilitated through banking channels.

Background & Facts

The Dispute

The dispute arose from the failure of State Bank of India to deduct the annual premium of Rs. 12/- under the Pradhan Mantri Suraksha Bima Yojana (PMSBY) for the policy year 2017-18, despite the deceased account holder, late Kavita Devi, having sufficient funds in her savings account. The failure resulted in the lapse of accidental insurance coverage of Rs. 2,00,000/-, which would have been payable upon her death due to injuries sustained in an accident.

Key Facts

  • Late Kavita Devi, wife of respondent No. 1, Sh. Govind Singh Rana, opened a savings account (No. 34681322533) with State Bank of India, Uttarkashi branch on 29.05.2015
  • She enrolled in PMSBY on 29.05.2015, with annual premium of Rs. 12/- automatically debited from her account
  • Premium for 2015-16 was deducted on 29.05.2015
  • Premium for 2016-17 was deducted on 28.05.2016
  • For 2017-18, no premium was deducted on 27.05.2017, despite a closing balance of Rs. 3,367/- as of 01.04.2017
  • On 17.02.2018, while mowing in a forest, Kavita Devi slipped and sustained grievous injuries
  • She was admitted to AIIMS, Rishikesh on 17.02.2018 at 5:20 p.m.
  • She expired on 08.03.2018
  • On 11.07.2018, she submitted an application to the bank seeking clarification on the non-deduction of premium
  • The complainant, her husband, notified the bank and insurance company of her death and claimed the sum insured
  • On 31.12.2018, the claim was denied by the bank
  • Legal notice dated 01.01.2019 was issued by the complainant’s counsel
  • No payment was made
  • Consumer complaint was filed before District Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, Uttarkashi on 12.03.2019

Procedural History

  • 12.03.2019: Consumer complaint filed before District Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, Uttarkashi (Complaint No. 06 of 2019)
  • 25.04.2022: District Commission allowed the complaint, directing payment of Rs. 2,00,000/- with 6% interest from 12.03.2019 and Rs. 5,000/- as litigation expenses
  • 01.08.2022: Appeal admitted before State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, Uttarakhand (SC/5/A/139/2022)
  • 08.05.2026: Final hearing concluded
  • 19.05.2026: Appeal dismissed by State Commission

The Parties' Positions

For the Bank (Appellant):

  • Argued that no premium was deducted because the account had become dormant/inoperative
  • Claimed that without fresh consent and KYC compliance, no debit could be made
  • Asserted that the bank had no duty to deduct premium without explicit mandate
  • Denied any deficiency in service

For the Complainant (Respondent No. 1):

  • Contended that the bank had a statutory and contractual obligation to deduct premium automatically
  • Highlighted that sufficient balance existed on 27.05.2017
  • Cited the application dated 11.07.2018 as proof of proactive engagement
  • Argued that the bank’s internal note (handwritten, unsigned, undated) could not override its duty

Relief Sought

The complainant sought payment of the sum insured of Rs. 2,00,000/-, interest at 6% per annum from the date of filing the complaint (12.03.2019), and litigation expenses of Rs. 5,000/-. The District Commission granted this relief, which the bank now challenged.

The central question was whether a bank, acting as an agent for the PMSBY scheme, commits deficiency in service by failing to deduct the annual premium of Rs. 12/- from a savings account with sufficient balance, thereby causing the lapse of accidental insurance coverage.

Arguments Presented

For the Appellant

The bank relied on its internal policy that premium deduction requires an active mandate and fresh KYC if the account becomes dormant. It cited the handwritten note on the account statement claiming the account was inoperative and that no debit could be processed without customer re-authorization. It argued that the Consumer Protection Act does not impose an absolute duty on banks to act beyond their operational protocols, especially where no explicit instruction was given after the second year of enrollment. It further contended that the insurance company was not at fault since no premium was received.

For the Respondent

The complainant argued that PMSBY is a government scheme designed for automatic, seamless enrollment and renewal. He emphasized that the bank had successfully deducted premiums for two consecutive years, establishing a pattern of conduct. The existence of sufficient funds on 27.05.2017, coupled with the absence of any communication from the bank regarding dormancy or KYC requirements, constituted a clear failure in service. The application dated 11.07.2018, though submitted after the lapse, demonstrated the deceased’s intent to remain covered, which the bank ignored.

The Court's Analysis

The State Commission conducted a meticulous review of the account statement (Paper No. 39), which showed a consistent history of premium deductions and a healthy closing balance of Rs. 3,367/- as of 01.04.2017. The court noted that the bank’s handwritten note, purporting to explain the non-deduction, was unsigned, undated, and unverified. It held that such an internal annotation, devoid of any formal communication to the customer, could not absolve the bank of its duty.

"There is nothing on record to show, nor there is any pleading from the side of the bank, that any letter was issued by the bank to the deceased, indicating the above fact, asking her to visit the bank and submit proper KYC, but she failed to do the needful."

The court emphasized that under the Consumer Protection Act, 1986, service includes any benefit provided under a contract, and the bank’s role as a facilitator of PMSBY was not merely administrative but fiduciary. The failure to deduct the premium, despite the availability of funds and prior conduct, amounted to a clear deficiency in service. The court further observed that the bank’s reliance on dormancy rules was misplaced, as the account had been active for two years with regular transactions, and no notice of dormancy had been issued.

The court also rejected the bank’s argument that the insurance company was not liable due to non-receipt of premium, noting that the bank’s failure to remit the premium was the root cause of the loss. The insurance company’s liability was contingent on the bank’s performance, and the bank could not shift blame to the insurer for its own omission.

The Verdict

The appeal was dismissed. The State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission upheld the District Commission’s order dated 25.04.2022, directing the State Bank of India to pay the sum insured of Rs. 2,00,000/- with interest at 6% per annum from 12.03.2019 until realization, and litigation expenses of Rs. 5,000/-. No costs were awarded on the appeal. The order was to be uploaded on the Commission’s website and sent to the District Commission for record.

What This Means For Similar Cases

Bank as Agent in Government Insurance Schemes Bears Primary Liability

  • Practitioners must now treat banks as primary service providers under PMSBY, not mere conduits
  • Failure to deduct premium despite sufficient balance constitutes deficiency in service under Section 2(1)(g) of the Consumer Protection Act, 1986
  • Banks cannot rely on internal operational notes or uncommunicated dormancy policies to avoid liability

Automatic Deduction Implies Ongoing Duty, Not One-Time Action

  • A pattern of successful deductions over multiple years creates an implied contractual obligation to continue
  • Customers are entitled to expect continuity unless explicitly notified of changes
  • The burden shifts to the bank to prove it communicated any requirement for re-authorization

Documentation Must Be Proactive, Not Reactive

  • Internal annotations on statements without customer acknowledgment are legally insufficient
  • Any change in service terms (e.g., dormancy, KYC renewal) must be communicated via registered post or SMS/email with proof of delivery
  • Failure to document communication negates defenses based on customer non-compliance

Case Details

State Bank of India v. Sh. Govind Singh Rana and another

Judgment
Court
State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, Uttarakhand
Date
19 May 2026
Case Number
SC/5/A/139/2022
Bench
Ms. Kumkum Rani, Mr. B.S. Manral
Counsel
Pet: Sh. Alok Ghildiyal
Res: Sh. William Akbar Chand, Sh. Suresh Gautam

Frequently Asked Questions

No. The court held that mere internal classification of an account as dormant, without prior notice or communication to the customer, does not absolve the bank of its duty to deduct the premium when sufficient funds are available.
No. The insurance company’s liability is contingent on receipt of premium. The bank, as the agent responsible for collection and remittance, bears primary liability for non-deduction.
Yes. The court found that the bank’s repeated successful deductions over two years established a pattern of service, creating an implied obligation to continue the same, absent explicit customer consent to discontinue.
0

Disclaimer

This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. The views expressed are based on the judgment analysis and should not be taken as professional counsel. Please consult with a qualified attorney for advice specific to your situation.