
The Gujarat State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission allowed the appeal of National Insurance Co. Ltd., setting aside the District Forum’s order that had directed reimbursement of medical expenses under an enhanced mediclaim policy. The Commission held that the exclusion clause for pre-existing diseases and the clause enhancing the sum insured were applicable because the illness commenced before the policy enhancement, thereby limiting the insurer’s liability to the original sum insured.
Background & Facts
The Dispute
The dispute arose from a mediclaim policy held by Himanshu Balkrushna Vaidhya (the respondent) and his family members. The policy was initially issued with a sum insured of Rs. 3,00,000/- for the period 2012 to 2016. In March 2016 the sum insured was enhanced to Rs. 10,00,000/- for the period 10/03/2016 to 09/03/2017. During the enhanced policy period, the respondent’s wife was hospitalised for a urinary infection from 17/05/2016 to 23/05/2016, resulting in medical expenses of Rs. 6,15,964/-. The insurer paid only Rs. 2,10,000/- on the basis of the original sum insured, invoking the exclusion clause for pre-existing diseases and the enhancement clause. The respondent filed a complaint before the District Consumer Disputes Redressal Forum, Navsari, which partly allowed the claim and directed payment of Rs. 2,55,364/- with 9% interest. The insurer appealed to the Gujarat State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission.
Key Facts
- Initial mediclaim policy: sum insured Rs. 3,00,000/- for 2012-2016.
- Enhancement of sum insured to Rs. 10,00,000/- effective from 10/03/2016 to 09/03/2017.
- Hospitalisation of respondent’s wife: admission 17/05/2016, discharge 23/05/2016 at Muljibhai Patel Urological Hospital, Nadiyad for urinary infection/right pelvi-ureteric junction obstruction.
- Medical expenses incurred: Rs. 6,15,964/-.
- Insurer’s payment: Rs. 2,10,000/- based on original sum insured, citing exclusion clause 4.1 (pre-existing disease waiting period 48 months) and clause 5.15 (enhancement of sum insured).
- Complaint filed before District Forum after hospitalization (exact date not specified).
- District Forum order dated 21/11/2019: allowed claim partly, directed payment of Rs. 2,55,364/- with 9% interest and costs.
- Appeal filed: 03/01/2020 (Appeal No. 68/2020) before Gujarat State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission.
- Judgment pronounced: 08/10/2026.
Procedural History
- Date of initial policy: 2012 (exact date not specified) to 2016.
- Date of enhancement: 10/03/2016 to 09/03/2017.
- Date of hospitalisation: 17/05/2016 - 23/05/2016.
- Date of District Forum order: 21/11/2019.
- Date of appeal filing: 03/01/2020 (Appeal No. 68/2020).
- Date of judgment: 08/10/2026.
Relief Sought
The appellant sought to have the District Forum’s order dated 21/11/2019 quashed and set aside, contending that the insurer’s liability was limited to the original sum insured of Rs. 3,00,000/- and that the payment of Rs. 2,10,000/- made by the third-party administrator was correct. No specific monetary relief was claimed in the appeal; the appellant sought only the reversal of the Forum’s direction and, consequentially, that no further payment be made to the respondent.
The Legal Issue
The central question was whether, under the mediclaim policy, the exclusion clause for pre-existing diseases (requiring 48 months of continuous coverage) and the clause relating to enhancement of the sum insured could be invoked to limit the insurer’s liability when the insured’s illness arose prior to the policy enhancement.
Arguments Presented
For the Appellant/Petitioner
The appellant, National Insurance Co. Ltd., relied on the decision of the National Commission in Rakesh Kumar v. Oriental Bank of Commerce & Ors to argue that when the sum insured is enhanced subsequent to the inception of the policy, the exclusions for pre-existing diseases (clause 4.1) and for enhancement (clause 5.15) apply afresh to the enhanced portion. It contended that the respondent’s wife had been suffering from the illness since February 2016, i.e., before the enhancement in March 2016, thereby triggering the 48-month waiting period under clause 4.1 and rendering clause 5.15 applicable. Consequently, the insurer was liable only for the original sum insured of Rs. 3,00,000/- and had correctly settled the claim for Rs. 2,10,000/- through its TPA.
For the Respondent/State
The respondent, Himanshu Balkrushna Vaidhya, relied on the Gujarat State Commission’s decision in Max Bupa Health Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Ishwarbhai K. Padhiyar (Appeal No. 368 of 2020) to argue that once an enhanced sum insured policy is availed, the exclusion clause for pre-existing diseases does not apply to the enhanced portion. He asserted that the enhanced policy was obtained pursuant to the insurer’s letter dated 28/08/2015 introducing the National Parivar Mediclaim Policy, and that the insurer had provided the relevant terms and conditions. The respondent maintained that he was entitled to the full reimbursement of Rs. 6,15,964/- incurred for his wife’s treatment and that the District Forum’s order correctly awarded that amount with interest.
The Court's Analysis
The Commission began by noting the undisputed timeline: the basic mediclaim policy ran from 2012 to 2016 with a sum insured of Rs. 3,00,000/-; the enhancement to Rs. 10,00,000/- took effect from 10/03/2016 to 09/03/2017; and the respondent’s wife was hospitalised from 17/05/2016 to 23/05/2016 for a urinary infection, with medical expenses amounting to Rs. 6,15,964/-. The insurer had paid only Rs. 2,10,000/- on the basis of the original sum insured, invoking exclusion clause 4.1 (pre-existing disease) and clause 5.15 (enhancement of sum insured).
The Commission examined the policy documents and the letter dated 28/08/2015 whereby the insurer introduced the National Parivar Mediclaim Policy. It found that the insurer had provided the terms and conditions of the policy along with the schedule and had explained them to the insured. The respondent had not lodged any written complaint alleging non-receipt of those terms and conditions. Accordingly, the Commission held that the contention of non-receipt could not be legally accepted.
Turning to the applicability of the exclusion clauses, the Commission observed that the illness had commenced in February 2016, as evidenced by the discharge summary and medical certificate, which showed that the respondent’s wife had been suffering from the condition since the last three months prior to hospitalisation. The enhancement of the sum insured occurred in March 2016. Therefore, the illness pre-dated the enhancement.
Relying on the National Commission’s ruling in Rakesh Kumar v. Oriental Bank of Commerce & Ors, the Commission held that when the sum insured is enhanced subsequent to the inception of the policy, the exclusions for pre-existing diseases (clause 4.1) and for enhancement (clause 5.15) apply afresh to the enhanced portion. Consequently, the waiting period of 48 months under clause 4.1 was triggered because the illness had existed before the enhancement, and clause 5.15 was also applicable.
The Commission further noted that the Gujarat State Commission’s decision in Max Bupa Health Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Ishwarbhai K. Padhiyar did not address the merits of the applicability of the exclusion clause to an enhanced sum insured policy; it merely reduced the rate of interest in that case and therefore could not be relied upon to support the respondent’s position.
Having considered the material on record, the Commission concluded that the District Forum had erred in not applying the exclusion clauses and had consequently allowed the claim in an erroneous and perverse manner. The impugned order was therefore unsustainable in law.
"according to our considered opinion, when the complainant and his family members obtained the enhanced sum insured policy of Rs. 10,00,000/- in the month of March, 2016 and the complainant’s wife was suffering from so-called illness in the month of February, 2016, then, the waiting period of 48 months as per the exclusion clause 4.1 of the policy would be applicable and clause 5.15 enhancement of sum insured would also be applicable."
The Verdict
The appellant, National Insurance Co. Ltd., succeeded in its appeal. The Commission set aside the District Forum’s order dated 21/11/2019 and held that the insurer’s liability was limited to the original sum insured of Rs. 3,00,000/-. It affirmed that the payment of Rs. 2,10,000/- made by the third-party administrator was correct and that no further amount was payable to the respondent. No costs were awarded. The Commission directed its office to verify any deposit made by the appellant in Appeal No. 68/2020 or CMA No. 11/2020 and, if found, to refund the same with accrued interest to the appellant. It also instructed the registry to send a copy of the judgment to the District Forum for necessary action and to forward a certified copy of the judgment to the parties free of charge.
What This Means For Similar Cases
Pre-Existing Disease Exclusion Applies When Illness Pre-Dates Policy Enhancement
- If an illness manifests before the enhancement of a mediclaim policy’s sum insured, the waiting period under the pre-existing disease exclusion clause (typically 48 months) is triggered for the enhanced portion.
- The insurer may limit its liability to the original sum insured, provided the enhancement occurred after the onset of the illness.
- Medical records establishing the pre-existence of the condition are crucial for invoking the exclusion.
Insurer’s Duty to Provide Terms and Conditions Is Satisfied Absent Written Complaint
- An insurer that supplies the policy schedule, terms and conditions, and explains them to the insured fulfils its disclosure obligation.
- The absence of a written complaint alleging non-receipt of those documents precludes the insured from later claiming lack of awareness.
- Courts will not accept a claim of non-receipt when the insured has not objected in writing at the time of issuance.
Deference to Policy-Specific Waiting Periods in Enhanced Sum Insured Scenarios
- When a policy’s sum insured is increased mid-term, any waiting periods linked to exclusions (such as for pre-existing diseases) commence afresh from the date of enhancement for the additional coverage.
- The enhanced sum insured is subject to the same contractual conditions as the original policy, including exclusions and waiting periods.
- Insureds seeking coverage for conditions that pre-date the enhancement must rely on the original sum insured, unless the policy expressly waives the waiting period for the enhanced portion.






