Case Law Analysis

Medical Opinion Must Assess Functional Capacity, Not Mere Employability | Rule 54(6) CCS Pension Rules - Disability Family Pension : CAT Allahabad

The tribunal ruled that denying disability family pension based on a conclusory medical opinion of employability violates Rule 54(6); authorities must evaluate the claimant's actual functional capacity to earn a livelihood. This safeguards disabled dependents from arbitrary termination of pension benefits.

Cassie News NetworkCassie News Network
Sep 8, 2026, 9:38 PM(Updated: Nov 3, 2026)
•8 min read
Be the first to share in your circle
Medical Opinion Must Assess Functional Capacity, Not Mere Employability | Rule 54(6) CCS Pension Rules - Disability Family Pension : CAT Allahabad

The Central Administrative Tribunal, Allahabad Bench, has held that a medical opinion concluding a disabled person can earn a livelihood in the "disabled category" without any specific assessment of functional or vocational capacity is insufficient to deny family pension under Rule 54(6) of the CCS (Pension) Rules, 1972. The Tribunal quashed the impugned order and directed a fresh, reasoned reconsideration with a proper medical evaluation.

Background & Facts

The Dispute

The applicant, Vasim Khan, aged 28 years, son of Late Sakbar Khan, sought restoration of disability family pension that was stopped in October 2017 upon his attaining the age of 25 years. The applicant suffers from bilateral profound hearing loss and muteness with 70% disability. The respondents rejected his claim vide order dated 22.08.2024 on the ground that he was capable of earning his livelihood despite his disability, relying on a medical examination report.

Key Facts

  • The applicant's father, Sakbar Khan, was working as a Gangman in the Railway Department at Faridabad and died in harness in 2002, leaving behind his wife Imaman Khatun, the applicant, and a daughter Gulaksha.
  • The applicant's mother was appointed on compassionate grounds under the Dying in Harness Rules but died in harness on 01.03.2005.
  • The applicant's sister, Gulaksha, was appointed in place of their mother under the said Rules in 2017.
  • The applicant, being a person with disability, was granted disability family pension up to the age of 25 years, which was stopped in October 2017.
  • The applicant submitted representations dated 17.11.2022 and 12.08.2024 seeking restoration of disability family pension under Rule 54(6) of the CCS (Pension) Rules, 1972.
  • The applicant possesses a disability registration certificate dated 09.02.2024 issued by the competent authority under the Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment, Government of India.
  • Pursuant to Railway Board policy dated 24.08.2021, the applicant was medically examined by the Chief Medical Officer, Jhansi.
  • The medical board opinion recorded: "He is not able to earn his livelihood in General category, but he is able to earn his livelihood in disable category."
  • The impugned order dated 22.08.2024 merely relied on this medical opinion without furnishing or annexing the disability/medical examination report.

Procedural History

  • 17.11.2022: Applicant submitted first representation seeking restoration of disability family pension.
  • 12.08.2024: Applicant submitted second representation.
  • 22.08.2024: Impugned order passed by Respondent No. 3 (Divisional Railway Manager (Personnel), North Central Railway, Jhansi) rejecting the applicant's claim.
  • 2024: Original Application No. 1088 of 2024 filed before the Central Administrative Tribunal, Allahabad Bench.
  • 03.09.2026: Matter reserved for judgment.
  • 07.09.2026: Judgment pronounced.

Relief Sought

The applicant sought: (A) setting aside the impugned order dated 22.08.2024; (B) direction to grant family pension to the applicant; (C) any other order or direction deemed fit; (D) costs of the application.

Whether the impugned order dated 22.08.2024 denying disability family pension under Rule 54(6) of the CCS (Pension) Rules, 1972 is sustainable when it relies solely on a medical opinion that concludes the applicant can earn a livelihood in the "disabled category" without any specific assessment of his actual functional or vocational capacity, nature of work he can undertake, or the manner in which he can earn a livelihood given the nature and extent of his disability.

Arguments Presented

For the Applicant

Learned counsel Shri M.R. Gupta submitted that the applicant, being a person with disability, is entitled to continuation of family pension beyond the age of 25 years in terms of Rule 54(6) of the CCS (Pension) Rules, 1972, which contemplates lifelong family pension to a disabled son or daughter who is unable to earn a livelihood due to the disability. Counsel further submitted that the respondents rejected the claim on the basis of a medical opinion without furnishing or annexing the disability/medical examination report with the impugned order, thereby denying the applicant an opportunity to effectively contest the basis of the rejection and violating the principles of natural justice. The applicant's disability registration certificate dated 09.02.2024 issued by the competent authority under the Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment was also placed on record.

For the Respondents

Learned counsel Ms. Seema Srivastava submitted that the applicant's claim for continuation of family pension beyond the age of 25 years has been duly considered in accordance with the applicable rules and Railway Board policy. Pursuant to the applicant's request, he was medically examined by the Chief Medical Officer, Jhansi, and on the basis of the medical examination report, he was found capable of earning his livelihood despite his disability and therefore not entitled to family pension. The applicant was duly informed of the decision and his subsequent representations were considered and replied to. Thus, there is no illegality or infirmity in the impugned order dated 22.08.2024.

The Court's Analysis

The Tribunal examined the medical opinion which recorded that the applicant suffers from bilateral profound hearing loss and muteness with 70% disability. The opinion stated he is "not able to earn his livelihood in General category, but he is able to earn his livelihood in disable category."

The Tribunal held that this opinion "does not disclose any assessment of his actual functional or vocational capacity, the nature of work he is capable of undertaking, or the manner in which he can earn his livelihood despite the nature and extent of his disability." The Tribunal observed:

"Merely recording such a conclusion, without any specific assessment, cannot be treated as sufficient consideration of the applicant's claim under Rule 54(6) of the CCS (Pension) Rules, 1972. The impugned order dated 22.08.2024 merely relies upon the aforesaid medical opinion and does not contain any independent or reasoned consideration of the applicant's claim, particularly in the light of his disability certificate dated 09.02.2024."

The Tribunal found that the applicant's claim had not been considered in its proper perspective and the impugned order could not be sustained. The Tribunal emphasized that Rule 54(6) requires a proper evaluation of whether the disabled child is unable to earn a livelihood due to the disability, which necessitates a specific functional and vocational assessment rather than a generic conclusion.

The Verdict

The Original Application was allowed. The impugned order dated 22.08.2024 was quashed and set aside. The respondents are directed to reconsider the applicant's claim for grant/continuation of family pension afresh in accordance with Rule 54(6) of the CCS (Pension) Rules, 1972 and the observations made by the Tribunal. For such reconsideration, the respondents shall obtain a fresh and specific medical assessment, if considered necessary, regarding the applicant's actual functional and vocational capacity to earn his livelihood, keeping in view the nature and extent of his disability, and thereafter pass a reasoned and speaking order within a period of three months from the date of receipt of a certified copy of this order. In case the applicant is found entitled to family pension, the same shall be released to him, along with consequential benefits admissible under rules, within a further period of two months. There shall be no order as to costs.

What This Means For Similar Cases

Conclusory Medical Opinions Are Insufficient

A medical opinion that merely concludes a disabled person can earn a livelihood in the "disabled category" without specifying the functional capacity, nature of work, or manner of earning is legally inadequate to deny benefits under Rule 54(6). Practitioners must insist on detailed vocational assessments that address the specific disability.

  • Medical boards must provide reasoned findings on actual functional limitations and vocational possibilities.
  • Orders relying on such opinions without independent analysis are vulnerable to challenge.

Natural Justice Requires Disclosure of Medical Reports

The failure to furnish the medical examination report to the applicant before rejecting the claim violates principles of natural justice. The affected party must have an opportunity to contest the medical basis of the decision.

  • Authorities must annex or supply the medical report with the speaking order.
  • Applicants should demand copies of all medical reports before the final order.

Rule 54(6) Mandates Individualized Assessment

The entitlement to lifelong family pension for a disabled child depends on an individualized determination of inability to earn a livelihood due to disability. Generic categorizations ("general category" vs "disabled category") cannot substitute for this inquiry.

  • Each case requires assessment of the specific disability's impact on employability.
  • The 70% disability certificate from a competent authority carries significant evidentiary weight.

Timelines for Compliance Are Enforceable

The Tribunal's direction for a reasoned order within three months and payment within a further two months sets a clear compliance framework. Practitioners can seek contempt or mandamus if these timelines are breached.

  • Calendar the three-month and two-month deadlines from receipt of the certified copy.
  • File execution or contempt proceedings for non-compliance within the stipulated periods.

Case Details

Vasim Khan vs North Central Railway

Judgment
Court
Central Administrative Tribunal
Date
2026-09-07
Case Number
Original Application No. 1088 of 2024
Counsel
Pet: Shri M.R. Gupta
Res: Ms. Seema Srivastava

Frequently Asked Questions

Rule 54(6) provides for lifelong family pension to a disabled son or daughter who is unable to earn a livelihood due to the disability, beyond the age of 25 years.
No. The Tribunal held that such a conclusory opinion without specific assessment of functional or vocational capacity, nature of work, or manner of earning livelihood is insufficient under Rule 54(6).
The judgment directs compliance within three months for a reasoned order and a further two months for payment if entitled. Non-compliance would render the authority liable to contempt or mandamus proceedings.
Yes. The Tribunal found that rejecting the claim without furnishing the medical report denies the applicant an opportunity to contest the basis of rejection, violating natural justice.
0

Disclaimer

This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. The views expressed are based on the judgment analysis and should not be taken as professional counsel. Please consult with a qualified attorney for advice specific to your situation.