Case Law Analysis

Contempt Jurisdiction | Pension Eligibility Must Be Established Despite Prior Judgment : Bombay HC

Bombay HC dismisses contempt petition against insurer for non-payment of pension, ruling that employees must independently prove eligibility under the pension scheme even after a favorable judgment. The ruling clarifies that contempt jurisdiction cannot be invoked solely for non-compliance with prior orders without establishing entitlement.

Cassie News NetworkCassie News Network
Jul 27, 2026, 7:33 PM(Updated: Nov 3, 2026)
•7 min read
Be the first to share in your circle
Contempt Jurisdiction | Pension Eligibility Must Be Established Despite Prior Judgment : Bombay HC

The Bombay High Court has dismissed a contempt petition filed against The New India Assurance Co. Ltd. for alleged non-compliance with its earlier judgment directing payment of pensionary benefits. The Court held that the petitioner failed to establish eligibility for pension under the General Insurance Employees Pension Scheme, 1995, as he had not exercised the required option in writing within the stipulated period. The judgment clarifies that the earlier order did not confer an independent right to pension without compliance with scheme conditions.

Background & Facts

The Genesis of the Dispute

The petitioner, Jitendra Shankar Nijasure, joined the employment of The New India Assurance Co. Ltd. (Respondent No.1) as a Development Officer (Class II) on 16th April 1977. He was promoted to Assistant Administrative Officer (Development) as a Class I Officer in 1990. On 13th January 2004, the petitioner applied under the General Insurance Officer's Special Voluntary Retirement Scheme, 2004 (2004 Scheme) for voluntary retirement.

Key Facts

  • The 2004 Scheme was available to officers who had attained the age of 40 years and completed 10 years of qualifying service as on 1st January 2004.
  • The petitioner's application under the 2004 Scheme was rejected by Respondent No.1 vide communication dated 25th May 2006.
  • The petitioner filed Writ Petition No.1391 of 2006 challenging the rejection of his application.
  • The application form under the 2004 Scheme (Annexure to Appendix A) at Item 10 recorded the petitioner's response to the query "whether opted for pension" as "Yes".
  • The petitioner's date of retirement was to be considered as 24th July 2007.

Procedural History

  • 25th May 2006: Respondent No.1 rejected the petitioner's application under the 2004 Scheme.
  • 8th March 2019: The Bombay High Court allowed Writ Petition No.1391 of 2006 and directed Respondent No.1 to pay all monetary, pensionary, and other terminal benefits under the 2004 Scheme within two months from the date of the order. The operative part of the judgment included:
    • Clause (c): Payment of ex-gratia under SVRS as per court order.
    • Clause (e): Entitlement to pension as admissible under the General Insurance (Employees) Pension Scheme, 1995 (Pension Scheme 1995) and the 2004 Scheme with effect from 25th July 2007.
    • Clause (f): Continuation of pension like similarly situated officers who retired under the 2004 Scheme.
  • 15th July 2019: Respondent No.1 made payments totaling Rs. 53,73,110, including Rs. 30,80,539 towards provident fund.
  • 23rd July 2019: The petitioner addressed a communication to Respondent No.1 seeking payment of pension pursuant to the judgment.
  • 6th August 2019: Respondent No.1 disputed its obligation to pay pension and served a Notice of Motion (No.327 of 2019) seeking modification of the order dated 8th March 2019.
  • 28th April 2020: The petitioner offered to refund the provident fund amount of Rs. 30,80,539 to be paid pensionary benefits.
  • 12th February 2025: The Court rejected the Notice of Motion filed by Respondent No.1, holding that the judgment dated 8th March 2019 was self-elquent and required no clarification.
  • 20th August 2025: The present contempt petition was filed by the petitioner alleging deliberate and wilful disobedience of the orders dated 8th March 2019 and 12th February 2025.

The Parties' Positions

For the Petitioner

  • The petitioner contended that the judgment dated 8th March 2019 explicitly directed payment of pension and that Respondent No.1 had wilfully disobeyed the order by not paying pension.
  • The petitioner relied on his response in the application form under the 2004 Scheme indicating his choice for pension.
  • The petitioner offered to refund the provident fund amount to secure payment of pension.

For the Respondent

  • Respondent No.1 argued that the petitioner had not opted for the Pension Scheme 1995 in writing within the stipulated period, as required under Paragraph 3 of Chapter II of the scheme.
  • The respondent highlighted that the petitioner had three opportunities to opt for the pension scheme (1995, 1997, and 2019) but failed to do so.
  • The respondent contended that the judgment dated 8th March 2019 did not confer an independent right to pension without compliance with the scheme's eligibility conditions.
  • The respondent relied on the dismissal of its Notice of Motion as confirmation that the earlier judgment required no clarification and did not mandate pension payment.

Relief Sought

The petitioner sought a declaration that Respondent No.1 had committed contempt of the judgment and order dated 8th March 2019 and 12th February 2025 by not complying with the conditions stipulated in paragraph 40 of the said judgment.

The central question was whether the failure to pay pension to the petitioner amounted to contempt of the judgment and order dated 8th March 2019, given that the petitioner had not established eligibility under the Pension Scheme 1995 by exercising the required option in writing.

Arguments Presented

For the Petitioner

The petitioner argued that the judgment dated 8th March 2019 explicitly directed payment of pension and that Respondent No.1 had wilfully disobeyed the order. The petitioner relied on his response in the application form under the 2004 Scheme indicating his choice for pension. He also contended that the dismissal of Respondent No.1's Notice of Motion on 12th February 2025 confirmed his entitlement to pension.

For the Respondent

The respondent argued that the petitioner had not opted for the Pension Scheme 1995 in writing within the stipulated period, as required under Paragraph 3 of Chapter II of the scheme. The respondent highlighted that the petitioner had three opportunities to opt for the pension scheme but failed to do so. The respondent contended that the judgment dated 8th March 2019 did not confer an independent right to pension without compliance with the scheme's eligibility conditions. The respondent relied on the dismissal of its Notice of Motion as confirmation that the earlier judgment required no clarification and did not mandate pension payment.

The Court's Analysis

The Court examined the operative part of the judgment dated 8th March 2019, particularly paragraph 40(e), which stated that the petitioner shall be entitled to pension "as admissible" under the Pension Scheme 1995 and the 2004 Scheme. The Court held that the phrase "as admissible" required the petitioner to establish eligibility under the Pension Scheme 1995, which included exercising the option in writing within 120 days from the notified date.

"The said Judgment and Order dated 8th March 2019 does not confer upon the Petitioner any independent, enforceable legal right of Pension in the absence of exercising the option for the Pension Scheme."

The Court noted that the petitioner had not produced any document establishing that he had opted for the Pension Scheme 1995, despite having three opportunities to do so. The Court distinguished the petitioner's response in the application form under the 2004 Scheme as insufficient to establish eligibility without accompanying documentary proof.

The Court also rejected the petitioner's argument that the dismissal of Respondent No.1's Notice of Motion conclusively established his entitlement to pension. The Court held that the dismissal was on the ground that the judgment was self-elquent and required no clarification, not on the merits of the petitioner's entitlement.

The Court relied on the Supreme Court's decision in Bharat Petroleum Corporation Ltd. and Anr. v. N.R. Vairamani and Anr. to emphasize that court observations must be read in context and not out of context.

The Verdict

The contempt petition was dismissed with no order as to costs. The Court held that Respondent No.1 had not committed contempt as the petitioner had failed to establish eligibility for pension under the Pension Scheme 1995. The Court reiterated that the judgment dated 8th March 2019 did not confer an independent right to pension without compliance with the scheme's eligibility conditions.

What This Means For Similar Cases

Contempt Requires Clear Disobedience of a Specific Direction

  • Contempt jurisdiction is not a substitute for enforcement of substantive rights.
  • A party seeking contempt must establish that the alleged contemnor wilfully disobeyed a specific direction of the court.
  • General observations in a judgment do not amount to enforceable directions.

Eligibility for Pension Depends on Compliance with Scheme Conditions

  • Pensionary benefits under the General Insurance Employees Pension Scheme 1995 are contingent on the employee opting for the scheme in writing within the stipulated period.
  • A mere assertion in an application form is insufficient without documentary proof of compliance.
  • Employers are not obligated to pay pension without the employee's compliance with the scheme's conditions.

Clarification Proceedings Are Not a Means to Reopen Substantive Rights

  • A party cannot use clarification proceedings to reopen the merits of a judgment.
  • The dismissal of a clarification petition on the ground of self-eluquence does not confer new rights or entitlements.
  • Parties must comply with the eligibility conditions stipulated in the scheme to avail benefits.

Case Details

Jitendra Shankar Nijasure vs The New India Assurance Co. Ltd. & Ors.

Judgment
Court
High Court of Judicature at Bombay
Date
23 July 2026
Case Number
Contempt Petition No.15 of 2026 in Writ Petition No.1391 of 2006
Bench
R.I. Chagla, Farhan P. Dubash
Counsel
Pet: Mr. Rohan Sathaye, Mr. Rihal Kazi, Ms. Ankita Sharma
Res: Mr. V.Y. Sanglikar, Ms. Archana D. Gaware, Mr. Guru Shanmugam, Ms. Zainab Tinwalla

Frequently Asked Questions

The phrase 'as admissible' in the judgment dated 8th March 2019 means that the petitioner's entitlement to pension was contingent on his eligibility under the General Insurance Employees Pension Scheme 1995, which required him to opt for the scheme in writing within 120 days from the notified date.
Under the General Insurance Employees Pension Scheme 1995, an employee must opt for the pension scheme in writing within 120 days from the notified date to be eligible for pension.
No, a mere assertion in an application form is insufficient to establish eligibility for pension. Documentary proof of compliance with the scheme's conditions is required.
0

Disclaimer

This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. The views expressed are based on the judgment analysis and should not be taken as professional counsel. Please consult with a qualified attorney for advice specific to your situation.