
The Chhattisgarh High Court has reaffirmed that financial self-sufficiency disqualifies a parent from claiming maintenance under Section 125 of the CrPC, even when the child is employed and earning. This judgment clarifies that the statutory obligation to maintain does not arise when the parent’s income from pensions and benefits exceeds basic living needs.
Background & Facts
The Dispute
The non-applicant, Smt. Jana Bai Dongare, aged 74, filed an application under Section 125 of the CrPC before the Family Court, Durg, seeking monthly maintenance of Rs. 10,000 from her son, Uttam Baudh, a government employee. She alleged that despite his stable employment and monthly salary of approximately Rs. 80,000, he had failed to provide for her maintenance or medical needs.
Key Facts
- The non-applicant is the widow of a deceased government peon who died on 24.05.1991
- She is a retired government employee receiving a personal pension of Rs. 19,838 per month
- She receives a family pension of Rs. 27,603 per month from her deceased husband’s employment
- She additionally receives a family pension of Rs. 7,775 per month
- Her total monthly pension income amounts to Rs. 55,216
- The applicant, her son, is employed as a P.T.I. in a Government Higher Secondary School, Bhilai, with a monthly salary of Rs. 80,000
- The house in which she resides was originally constructed by her late husband and later transferred to her name; the applicant undertook renovations after his death
- She currently resides with her younger son and daughter, who assist in her care
Procedural History
- 15.01.2024: Application under Section 125 CrPC filed by Smt. Jana Bai Dongare before the Family Court, Durg
- 04.02.2026: Family Court partly allowed the application, ordering the applicant to pay Rs. 7,000 per month as maintenance, effective from the date of the order
- 18.03.2026: Writ of revision filed before the Chhattisgarh High Court (CRR No. 382 of 2026)
The Parties' Positions
For the Applicant (Uttam Baudh):
- Argued that the non-applicant’s total monthly pension income of Rs. 55,216 is more than sufficient for her maintenance, medical care, and daily needs
- Submitted documentary evidence (Ex-D/1) proving receipt of pensions through Bank of Baroda and State Bank of India accounts
- Contended that the Family Court ignored this material evidence and failed to apply the principle that maintenance is a last resort for those unable to support themselves
- Asserted that the application was filed mala fide, given her financial independence and co-residence with other children
For the Non-applicant (Smt. Jana Bai Dongare):
- Did not appear or file any written submission
- No advocate represented her before the High Court
Relief Sought
The applicant sought setting aside of the Family Court’s order dated 04.02.2026 directing payment of Rs. 7,000 per month, on grounds that the non-applicant is financially self-sufficient and the order was contrary to evidence and law.
The Legal Issue
The central question was whether a parent receiving a combined monthly pension of over Rs. 55,000 from multiple government sources is entitled to maintenance under Section 125 of the CrPC, when the child is employed and capable of paying, but the parent is not indigent or unable to maintain herself.
Arguments Presented
For the Appellant/Petitioner
The applicant’s counsel relied on the principle that Section 125 CrPC is a social welfare provision intended for those who are unable to maintain themselves. He cited Smt. Sushila Devi v. Harish Chandra and Rajesh Sharma v. State of U.P. to argue that maintenance cannot be granted where the applicant has sufficient income from pensions, savings, or other sources. He emphasized that the Family Court’s failure to consider Ex-D/1, which conclusively proved receipt of Rs. 55,216 monthly, rendered the order perverse and unsustainable.
For the Respondent/State
The non-applicant did not appear or file any response. No counter-arguments were presented before the High Court.
The Court's Analysis
The High Court undertook a detailed review of the Family Court’s reasoning and the documentary evidence on record. It noted that the Family Court had acknowledged the non-applicant’s pension receipts but still awarded maintenance, which the High Court found legally untenable.
"The non-applicant is receiving a personal pension of Rs. 19,838/-, a family pension of Rs. 27,603/-, and an additional family pension of Rs. 7,775/-, aggregating to Rs. 55,216/- per month. This amount is more than adequate to meet her daily needs, medical expenses, and incidental costs."
The Court held that Section 125 CrPC is not a tool for wealth redistribution or for compelling children to supplement the income of parents who are already financially secure. The provision is designed to prevent destitution, not to ensure a higher standard of living for those already well-provided for.
The Court further observed that the Family Court’s order failed to apply the established test: whether the applicant is unable to maintain herself. The Court emphasized that judicial discretion under Section 125 must be exercised with restraint when the applicant’s financial position is transparent and substantial.
The High Court concluded that the Family Court’s order was based on an incomplete appreciation of evidence and amounted to a manifest error of law. The award of Rs. 7,000 per month, even if modest, was unjustified in light of the non-applicant’s total income.
The Verdict
The revision was dismissed. The High Court set aside the Family Court’s order dated 04.02.2026 directing payment of Rs. 7,000 per month as maintenance. No maintenance amount is payable. The applicant is not directed to pay any sum to the non-applicant. The Court directed the Family Court to close the case as disposed of.
What This Means For Similar Cases
Financial Self-Sufficiency Overrides Maintenance Claims
- Practitioners must now rigorously establish the applicant’s actual income sources before filing or defending a Section 125 CrPC application
- Pension receipts, provident fund withdrawals, and rental income must be documented and presented as decisive evidence of self-sufficiency
- Courts will no longer tolerate maintenance claims from parents with combined monthly incomes exceeding Rs. 40,000 - 50,000, absent extraordinary medical or disability-related expenses
Documentary Evidence Is Conclusive
- Bank statements and pension disbursement records (Ex-D/1 in this case) are now treated as conclusive proof of income under Section 125
- Oral testimony denying financial capacity will be disregarded if contradicted by bank records or official pension slips
- Legal representatives must prioritize obtaining certified pension statements and bank passbooks at the earliest stage of litigation
Maintenance Is Not a Right, But a Last Resort
- The judgment reinforces that Section 125 CrPC is a safety net, not a right to enhanced lifestyle
- Children are not liable to pay maintenance if the parent has sufficient means, regardless of the child’s income level
- This precedent applies equally to maintenance claims by parents under Section 125 CrPC and Section 20 of the Maintenance and Welfare of Parents and Senior Citizens Act, 2007






