
The Delhi High Court, in an intra-court appeal, upheld a single judge’s order granting post-retirement medical benefits to a former CRIS employee, holding that the amendment deleting the word “resignation” from Rule 8.4 of the Medical Attendance Rules, 2009 was not validly effected and therefore does not preclude entitlement.
Background & Facts
The Dispute
The appellant, the Registrar of the Centre for Railway Information Systems (CRIS), denied post-retirement medical benefits to the respondent, Priya Srivastava, after she ceased service. The respondent contended that she was entitled to the benefits under the Medical Attendance Rules, 2009, despite having resigned.
Key Facts
- The respondent served the appellant for approximately 28 years.
- 21 Feb 2024: Respondent filed an application for voluntary retirement, also seeking waiver of the three-month notice period and inclusion of post-retirement medical coverage.
- 12 Mar 2024: Appellant replied, citing bye-law clause 3.3.3.1, stating the request was impermissible.
- 16 Mar 2024: Respondent sent a letter requesting waiver of the notice period and reconsideration of her medical benefit claim, invoking Office Memorandum No. 21/2009.
- 28 Mar 2024: Manager, Personnel of the appellant accepted the respondent’s “resignation”, waiving notice, and stated that voluntary retirement was not provided for in the CRIS bye-laws; post-retirement medical facilities were unavailable to resigning employees.
- 30 Mar 2024: Respondent accepted the discontinuation of services effective 21 Feb 2024, but reserved the right to claim post-retirement medical benefits.
- W.P.(C.) 15338/2024: Respondent filed a writ petition challenging the denial of benefits and the interpretation of Rule 8 of the Medical Attendance Rules, 2009.
- 08 May 2026: Single Judge allowed the writ petition, granting the respondent post-retirement medical benefits and directing the appellant to process claims.
- 08 Jul 2026: The appellant’s review petition was dismissed.
- 12 Aug 2026: The present intra-court appeal was decided.
- 26 Nov 2010: Office Memorandum removed the word “resignation” from Rule 8.4 of the Medical Rules, 2009, approved solely by the Managing Director.
- 13 Jan 2025: 31st Governing Council meeting decided that employees retiring on superannuation would continue to receive benefits, but did not extend the same to resigning employees.
- 14 Jul 2025: Appellant’s reply to a legal notice reiterated that the 26 Nov 2010 amendment lacked requisite approval of the Executive Committee and Governing Council.
Procedural History
- 21 Feb 2024: Application for voluntary retirement filed by respondent.
- 12 Mar 2024: Appellant’s communication rejecting the request.
- 16 Mar 2024: Respondent’s letter seeking waiver.
- 28 Mar 2024: Appellant’s acceptance of resignation.
- 30 Mar 2024: Respondent’s acceptance of service discontinuation.
- W.P.(C.) 15338/2024: Writ petition filed.
- 08 May 2026: Single Judge order granting benefits.
- 08 Jul 2026: Review petition dismissed.
- 12 Aug 2026: Intra-court appeal decided.
The Parties' Positions
- Appellant: Argues that the amendment deleting “resignation” from Rule 8.4 was valid and that benefits are only for employees who retire on superannuation; a resigning employee forfeits such benefits.
- Respondent: Contends that the amendment was ultra vires, lacking Governing Council approval, and that Rule 8.1 together with Rule 8.4 makes the word “resignation” redundant, thus entitling her to benefits.
Relief Sought
- Respondent sought declaration of entitlement to post-retirement medical facility for herself and her spouse, and direction to the appellant to process and reimburse admissible claims.
- Appellant sought reversal of the single judge’s order and validation of the amendment to Rule 8.4.
The Legal Issue
What is the correct interpretation of Rule 8.4 of the Medical Attendance Rules, 2009 with respect to employees who resign, and is the deletion of the word “resignation” from that rule, effected solely by the Managing Director on 26 Nov 2010, legally valid?
Arguments Presented
For the Appellant
- The amendment to Rule 8.4 was a legitimate exercise of the Managing Director’s discretion under Rule 11 of the Medical Rules, 2009, which permits the Managing Director to decide in exceptional situations.
- Post-retirement medical benefits are intended only for employees who retire on superannuation; a resignation terminates the service relationship and forfeits the benefit.
- The appellant relied on the bye-law provision that requires a three-month notice or salary in lieu, which was waived, thereby treating the respondent’s departure as a resignation.
For the Respondent
- The amendment deleting “resignation” was not approved by the Governing Council or the Executive Committee as required by the appellant’s own bye-laws (Rule 12), rendering it ultra vires.
- Reading Rule 8.1 together with Rule 8.4 shows that the word “resignation” is redundant; the benefit is available to any employee who ceases service after completing 25 years, irrespective of the mode of termination.
- The resignation was accepted on 28 Mar 2024, prior to the Governing Council’s decision on 13 Jan 2025, and therefore the respondent is entitled to the benefit.
The Court's Analysis
The Court first examined the hierarchy of rule-making authority within CRIS. It noted that while the Managing Director may approve amendments in “exceptional situations” under Rule 11, any amendment to the bye-laws must be sanctioned by the Governing Council pursuant to Rule 12. The Court found that the 26 Nov 2010 Office Memorandum, which removed the word “resignation” from Rule 8.4, was approved solely by the Managing Director and did not receive the requisite Governing Council or Executive Committee endorsement.
"In our opinion, the plea taken by the appellant regarding deletion/omission of the word ‘resignation’ from Rule 8.4 vide Office Memorandum dated 26 Nov 2010 is not tenable for the reason that such amendment amounting to deletion of the word ‘resignation’ was done only with the approval of the Managing Director and not by the Governing Council or the Executive Committee of the appellant."
The Court then turned to the substantive interpretation of Rules 8.1 and 8.4. It held that Rule 8.1 confers entitlement to post-retirement medical facility on any employee who has completed a minimum of 25 years of service and superannuates. Rule 8.4, read in conjunction, merely specifies the payment of a sum equivalent to one month’s basic pay at the time of superannuation or resignation. The Court observed that the inclusion of “resignation” in Rule 8.4 is otiose because the benefit is already anchored to the completion of 25 years of service, irrespective of the manner of termination.
Furthermore, the Court considered the chronological sequence of events. The respondent’s resignation was accepted on 28 Mar 2024, well before the Governing Council’s 31st meeting on 13 Jan 2025, where it decided to retain the existing scheme for superannuation retirees only. Consequently, the respondent’s entitlement was not affected by that later decision.
The Court also rejected the appellant’s reliance on the notion that resignation automatically forfeits post-retirement benefits, emphasizing that the statutory scheme, not common service jurisprudence, governs the right. It concluded that the single judge’s finding that the respondent is entitled to the benefit was sound and that the appeal fails.
The Verdict
The appeal is dismissed. The respondent is affirmed as entitled to post-retirement medical benefits for herself and her spouse under the Medical Attendance Rules, 2009. No order as to costs is made.
What This Means For Similar Cases
Validity of Bye-law Amendments
- Amendments to internal rules must follow the procedure laid down in the organization’s own bye-laws; unilateral changes by a Managing Director are ultra vires.
- Practitioners should verify that any rule change has been approved by the competent authority (e.g., Governing Council) before relying on it.
Entitlement of Resigned Employees
- Where a rule links a benefit to a period of service rather than the mode of termination, the benefit may extend to resigning employees who meet the service threshold.
- Lawyers must examine the interplay of related provisions (e.g., Rule 8.1 and 8.4) to determine whether a term like “resignation” is substantive or redundant.
Timing of Governing Council Decisions
-
Benefits claimed before a Governing Council’s policy clarification are governed by the rules in force at the time of resignation.
-
Counsel should advise clients to file claims promptly and preserve evidence of the date of resignation relative to any subsequent policy changes.
-
Verify procedural compliance of rule amendments.
-
Analyze the substantive language of benefit provisions.
-
Consider the effect of timing on entitlement.






